Find companies:
Centra Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Centra Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for! ***REAL REVIEW***
Customer Service (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, employees.
Cons: incompetent managers, old systems that never work, no communication, no training, hostile working environment, retaliation, favoritism, unethical business practices, etc etc.
Typical Day- Come in, take inbound and make out bound calls all day. You have to be on the dial-er for 7 hours a day and work 100 accounts and meet call quality standards. You are not entitled to your breaks. If you take too long to update an account or add insurance to accounts, etc, then you will get an Instant Message from your Lead telling you are – more... taking too much time.

What I learned? I learned that Centra is all about making $$ and not caring about the community or patients. I learned that hiring is all about favoritism. My manager hired a mom and daughter for the same dept, which should be against policy. My manager got the manager job (with no college experience) just because she best friends with the director. I learned there is no official training...they just sit you with people and they show you the job. I learned that Managers don't like to be questioned or offered suggestions, even if its in the best interest of Centra. I learned that Centra LOVES to keep expanding their dominion over Lynchburg, and other areas in Virginia and taking over other facilities, but not supporting and helping existing offices. Due to this, every dept is understaffed and creates turn over. Another example is where in 2013, they laid off over 100 nurses, well in 2014 they bought out Bedford Memorial and expanded to include the Gretna facility...so you fire people saying you don't have the money, but then all of a sudden you have money to expand your business...lol...classic!! I learned that Centra is not committed to fixing system issues that bother employees on a daily basis and upgrading systems. They use old systems that are very slow and always go down. Ultimately Centra is a Monopoly that just wants money and I'm SO glad I no longer work there. Also Centra engages in illegal activity by breaking the Fair Debt Practice Act and bills Patients when charges are not to be billed to patients, but written off.I learned that Centra posting Dept would apply payments to wrong accounts. I learned that there are thousands of credit balances that Centra never gives the money back to the patient. I learned there are so many billing issues and system issues, like I have never seen in my life. I learned that I no longer wanted to work for a corrupt and unethical company so I quit and left.

Management- OMG...where do I begin? I have one word...HORRIBLE!!!! They are rude, disrespectful and talk down to you. They don't like to be questioned and want 100% complete obedience. They don't care how things affect employees and don't want any input or suggestions. The last two employee surveys were a Bomb shell for management. They were required to come up with an action plan to improve things which they really didn't even share with the dept. Then when it was finally shared after we kept asking, nothing was implemented. Example, better communication. We were suppose to have monthly meetings, well that never happened. Suggestions taken more seriously was another improvement that was suppose to happen. That never happened. Any suggestions were blow off or simply ignored. My manager would literally go to meetings every day of the month with the director and go on 2+ hour lunches. My manager was never there to do her job, so she would delegate all her responsibilities to the lead on our team. I have never in my life worked for a company that is so unprofessional and incompetent

Co-Workers- I loved my co-workers! We were a team and had each others back.

Hardest part of the job- Working for a manager who didn't like me. Working for a company who didn't really didn't care about their employees. Working with systems that were freeze, go down all the time. Not having an IT person on site. Working in a hostile working environment and worried about retaliation if you spoke out. Just the overall experience was so poisonous!

The best part of my job- The pay, period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always room for advancement in the company.
Gift Shop Volunteer (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 11, 2014
This was a volunteer position, but it taught me some skills I can use in any workplace. I ran the cash register and assisted customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Certified Nursing Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 9, 2014
Good place for doing CNA Internship. People are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring enviroment with little opportunities for advancement.
Coordinator of Central Services (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 3, 2014
Pros: benefits, job satisfaction, learning and training opportunities, co-workers.
Cons: lack of advancement possibilites, low salary rages with little monetary increases.
My day involves working along side my staff cleaning, sterilizing and preparing operating room equipment. This is a fast pace enviroment that rarely slows down. The amount of knowledge required in this position is always increasing. New medical equipment and procedures become available daily. This is a very physical job and I would say the hardest part – more... of the job. The enjoyment comes from being part of a team that is providing medical care and helping others. My co-workers fuction as a team and assist each other when needed. The staff works very hard to maintain quality in their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work.
RN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: staffing
I began working at Centra in 1984 on Adult Psychiatry and stayed in that position for 5 yrs. Moved to Roanoke, VA where I was the Manager of the Adult Unit at Lewis Gale Psychiatric Center. Returned to Lynchburg after 5 yrs. and again worked at Centra, first as a Staff Educator, then Patient Advocate, and finally finished working fulltime again on the – more... Adult Psyc Unit as the Charge Nurse on the Evening shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, but good co-workers.
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee), Lynchburg,VAMay 19, 2014
Very busy and fast paced place. Hard work each and every night. I learned teamwork and how people act and react to life's situations.The hardest part was some of the things we had to deal with and see on a nightlybasis, and being on your feet 8-12 hours at a time. The best part was the people that I worked with there. Many nights the co-workorkers made – more... life and work bearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 24, 2014
I completed an internship here. I learned a lot of skill sets that helped me in my career and was able to obtain valuable work experience prior to graduating my Master's program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to a good place to work but not anymore
RN (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: decent salary but lower than other hospitals, most coworkers and ancillary staff pleasant to work with.
Cons: no respect for seasoned nurses with excellent skills, favoritism, poor communication, horrible leadership
Centra used to be a great place to work with employee satisfaction being important. Had excellent managers who cared about staff. I moved to another unit because of incompetent leadership in my unit and a couple of back stabbing coworkers and unit manager who played staff against each other. Her only concern is with new staff members, picking her favorites – more... to give special privileges i.e. not working holidays, weekends off, choice of schedule, allowing new nurses to move from night shift to day shift despite the fact there were nurses with more seniority who wanted a day shift position and choosing her favorite nurses to serve on unit committees that she headed up and encouraged them to do all the work and then she took all the credit. Paid for new nurses to attend conferences while senior nurses had to pay for conference, travel and hotels. Included in her poor leadership skills is her inability to separate personal feelings and professional feelings, giving hard working employees poor evaluations while given those who were less knowledgeable and minimal experience but were her chosen staff exceptional evaluations. Even with poor surveys directed at the the unit manager and complaints from numerous staff for several years, no effort was made to correct problem resulting in the loss of many hardworking, excellent nurses, nursing assistants and health unit coordinators. Complaints against this unit manager also came from ancillary staff, but upper management continued to support her. All of this resulted in low morale, friction between staff, and decrease in work performance. No cohesiveness within the unit making it difficult to care for 3 critically ill patients with no nursing assistants and staff pushed to the max with little time to help each other with those who were willing to help coworkers. Unit manager unprofessional as were some of nurses who were more interested in flirtatious behavior and impressing physicians. Some nurses were told by the unit manager they disliked and hated by other staff who were refusing to work with then and then forced them to sign agreement that if that information was shared it would result in termination. I now work in a unit where the unit manager is fair and cares about her staff. I used to be proud to say I worked at Centra but not anymore. Even though I now work in a much more pleasant work environment with a manager with good leadership skills I will never forget the way I and some of my coworkers were treated in my old unit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just wished there were more school locations
Administer the Peer Partner Program (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: morale good; training pertinent
Cons: staff numbers too low
Loved the system . The Changing of classes was critical to competiveness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: managment
Had many opportunities to talk to patients and provide them with nutritional information to make their lives easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A new challenge.
Certified Nursing Attendant (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 2, 2013
Enjoy working with the patients.

The work was challenging.
Got along well with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment with insurance and opportunity for professional growth.
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 18, 2013
Good Insurance with PCHP.
Team work environment.
Opportunity for growth.
Large exposure to community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there when I started but had to leave when things changed.
Nutritional Service Aide (Former Employee), VirginiaJune 14, 2013
Pros: free lunch, insurance, casual day.
Cons: short breaks, short staff, management.
A typical day at work for me was go in and see if we were going to be short all day if someone called out. I then would serve lunch because we were short and then would serve dinner later. I learned a lot from my job when I was there. I enjoyed my co-workers who I got along with and who I consider my friends. The hardest part of my job was always working – more... short every day. The most enjoyable part of my job was being with the residents. When things changed recently in the kitchen, I had to leave my job. There is no room to grow in this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging place to work. People are great.
Cook I (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 12, 2013
Pros: salary and health benefits make it worthwhile.
Cons: physically demanding and career advancement limited in that department.
Physically demanding job, but not a lot of room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard working staff
Cook 1 (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short staffd and over workd
some days were light and sum days were heavy depending on the menue for the day and prep work. co workers were great just the management was bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for job stability but the quaility isn't there, just not meeting my plans for where i want to excel in my culinary career
Nutrition Services Aide I (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VADecember 30, 2012
Pros: discount lunches, gift cards for going the extra mile, free thanksgiving turkeys, birthday specials, medical, dental and eye insurance, ira, and christmas parties
A day's start is typically feeding patients and cleaning afterwards and its starts again, a daily cycle. I've learned endurance and learned how and what people like to eat. My co-workers are great they're like family. What frustrates me are the supervisors that lack good work ethics, other than that i know and love what i do, i feel its my calling to – more... serve people from a culinary stand point. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work especially on night shift!
Registered respiratory therapist (Current Employee), Lynchburg VirginiaOctober 5, 2012
Pros: good teamwork on night shift.
Cons: poor management, bad pay, and no autonomy for respiratory therapist
I have worked for Centra Health for six years. I have worked here for the convenience of being close to home. The management here does not communicate very well with their staff. Management does not support or stand behind their staff either. The people that works on night shift looks out for one another. In five years of working here as a respiratory – more... therapist I have only increased my salary by 2.5 dollars. The company claims that they keep up with the average in the area with pay and compensation. In all actuality they cannot because Centra Health is a monopoly and they will not pay you what you deserve. If you are not a nurse at Centra Health you are not considered to be anything to management. Basically you are considered to be a neb jockey and a knob turner when it comes to your patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short shifts during week long shifts on weekend
Nutrition Aide I (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 27, 2012
Pros: free $5 meals, good insurance
Cons: short breaks, 12 hour shifts on weekend
Overall I enjoy working for Centra Health it has bad days and good days but I feel if there was more team work then the days would be less stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EVERYONE HELP OUT
LPN (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 10, 2012
Pros: team work
Cons: fast pace, patient need more time with us
LIKABLE TEAM WE WORK TOGETHER GREAT.EVERYONE KNOW THERE JOB. TALKING AMONG OURSELF WAS A PROBLEM GOSSIPPING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent healthcare
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 22, 2012
typical day of assisting residents in their daily lives, learned to give without expecting anything in return and just be there instead of just looking for a paycheck

About Centra Health

Centra Health is a constellation of hospitals, medical practices, outpatient facilities, and other services targeting the health – Read more

Centra Health Photos