Central City Concern Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless possibilites
Treatment Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 5, 2017
Great place to work!
a big melting pot of new people and new places :) If you looking for a typical place of employment CC Concern is a place to build your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and many opportunities to succeed
On-call Front Desk/Custodian (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 20, 2017
I absolutely love working for Central City Concern. As an On-Call Front Desk/Custodian, a typical day looks pretty relaxed. Maintaining building upkeep and regulating the front desk at one of their properties is the job. I believe whole-heartedly in Central City Concerns mission. I love my coworkers there, they love and care for the residents who are some of the most vulnerable population. We deal with mental illness and substance abuse, but we treat our residents as worthy human beings and strive to help them make their lives successful. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult people. the most enjoyable part is when a resident comes in completely hopeless and you watch them turn their lives around.
Pros
Free coffee and a very enjoyable workplace
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to get a new start
Community Building Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 5, 2016
Central City Concern gave me the oppurtunities to begin a new start after I went to treatment. There is a very good possibility for a person to gain advancement and gain a steady full time position. The way the staff and other employees treated me were extremely positive and healthy in all ways.
Pros
Great benefits package, Room for advancement
Cons
Some of the buildings are not safe to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Health Assistant (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 14, 2016
I LOVE my job, the people I work with, the population we serve, and the organization's altruism and mission. Management is well balanced, I've learned so much, and my days are very busy, exciting, challenging at times in all the best ways, and I'm kept on my toes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Lead Community Building Asst (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 26, 2016
a typical day would be coming to the building i would assigned what need to be done Then have a meeting with my coworkers and assign work as need
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Technician
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 5, 2016
Proficient and organized. The staff is dedicated to helping patients fulfill their needs according to a doctor's prescription. Advanced technology in organizing and filing medications. Staff is friendly and hard-working. Truly enjoyed working with the public.
Pros
Free coffee every day
Cons
Label machine jams
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Work Place
Janitor Trainee (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 25, 2016
Stay Close Go Far: Go Portland OR
Flexible Hours With Accessible Transportation...
Centrally Located With Plenty Of Options...
Pros
Organized
Cons
Rains Alot
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The overall company is great company to work for
Benefit Entitlement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Portland ORSeptember 3, 2015
I enjoy working for CCC. I love serving the community and making a difference in peoples lives. CCC takes pride in being nothing short of amazing in peoples lives by making sure they can meet each individual's needs the best they can!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company to work for
Medical Records, Lead (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 20, 2015
Central City is a company where one can really learn about diversity and what it is like working with so many diverse people who may be going through the same situation but in many different ways which is all educational and very helpful.
Pros
meeting a diverse community
Cons
sometimes working with the supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent and empowering place to be.
intern, providing integrated approach (Current Employee) –  Portland ORSeptember 30, 2014
The work is busy, the population is great and the team is strong!
Pros
Yoga
Cons
Bad parking
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Pharm Tech Extern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 1, 2014
great staff, awesome place to learn all the in & outs of a Pharmacy
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
On-Site-Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 2, 2014
I loved working for Central City Concern, it was the best job I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionals providing a truly needed service - Housing for the Homeless
Adminstrative Assistant - Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 6, 2013
Very nice employees

Many programs that serve many types of people in the homeless population
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could use a little more campassion
Community Building Assitant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 12, 2013
very intresting people. Love to see when something good happens
Pros
great recovery place
Cons
to much drama
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employers are very supportive and understanding
janitor (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 19, 2012
typical day go to the office and clock in. then head to your building to work days usually go smoothly
Pros
good benifits
Cons
limited social life
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
CMA (Former Employee) –  downtown portlandNovember 15, 2012
Most of the MA's are not certified and the MA staff are rude to each other and are always arguing. The manager hovers and rides you. The pay is not great. Staff gets mad if other employees ask for help.
The work load is huge and the pay is just to little to put up with the headache of dealing with the rude staff...my advise steer clear of this place....im just glad the doctors were very nice and im glad i could help them and the patients for the the time i was there.
Pros
always cake, doughnuts, & goodies
Cons
the medical assistant staff are extreamly rude and unprofesinal
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assists other employees in a spirit of teamwork
Acupuncture assistant. (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OROctober 22, 2012
I was flexible in meeting clients' need,My work was productively and efficiently, I utilizes time well and I enjoy to help the clients and i work well under pressure.
Pros
free treatment
Cons
not break
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced. Amazing Co-Workers.
Health Assistant/Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland OregonSeptember 18, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with an amazing group of talented people.
Pros
non-profit
Cons
no comment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic place could have been more organized
Indexer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 29, 2012
I enjoyed the people I worked with, but the work to worker ratio was crazy. Too much work for any one person. I am lucky I was able to help for a bit.
Pros
free pastries, cakes, donuts.
Cons
too hectic, manager hovers too much
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Central City Concern. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Central City Concern Reviews by Location