Find companies:
Central Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Central Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a lot of freedom
Kulhavi Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMay 30, 2013
Working in the same place as you are living is difficult at times, however the management supported my well-being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to live and grow
Residence Hall Director (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMay 24, 2013
Great place to work, lots of opportunities to grow professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Human Resources Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMay 22, 2013
• Performed human resources activities such as training documentation, employee updates and reviews, product cost analyses, work-load tracking, employee concern reporting, and various tasks.
• Performed outreach activities for the department including presentations, events, and media work.
• Head Coordinator for CMU’s participation in the Recycle Mania – more... competition against 600 schools.
• Wrote and gathered all documents for a nation-wide Green Cleaning Award, which CMU won.
• Responsible for tracking employee training hours in SAP and tracking department expenditures.
• Performed an employee efficiency analysis to secure two additional full time employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for students
Student (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIApril 24, 2013
Learned hard work and great place for students to start out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIApril 23, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: travel when needed.
Doing research is a great way to expand my knowledge and gain experience in the field and I loved every task I was given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staff
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIApril 22, 2013
I started a website designed to help connect current and past MSA students. I learned how to start a website from scratch and research classroom topics for higher education learning. My supervisors are very helpful and went above and beyond to help me get a clear understanding of my duties. The hardest part of my job was finding websites databases to – more... use, but overall I enjoyed working with my staff and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a teaching assistant.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIApril 10, 2013
I was just a student taking credit as a teaching assistant, so I did not get paid. I like the psychology department because it is diverse and you are pretty much guaranteed to find someone you will like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Biotechnology/Bioinformatics Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 13, 2013
They work well around your schedule as a student and allow you to get experience in areas you will make a career out of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Uni.
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), MichiganMarch 6, 2013
Good experience with study. I used to teach students at the University. Overall the uni. was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and worthwhile work, but limited security
Composition Lecturer (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 5, 2013
Always enjoyed the work there, but there was limited opportunity for advancement and absolutely no long-term security. =
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Co-Camp Director (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: providing a great product that promotes central michigan university
Cons: very demanding and time consuming
Typical day consists of a early morning session monitoring camp employees and campers in attendance. Logging camper hours. Organizing and preparing for lunch. Then a mid day session again logging workers hours and monitoring camper activities. Running a coaches corner where there is personal interaction between myself and the high-school coaches in – more... attendance. An afternoon session where I monitor the camp employees and campers and log employee hours. Then a coaches social that night where I entertain coaches and ensure that they have a good time while bringing there athletes to our camps.
I learned how to manage people and time.
My co-workers are good hard working people.
The hardest part of the job is staying organized and working long hrs.
The most enjoyable part of the job is providing a great product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campus Employment
Residence Life Moving Crew (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIJanuary 23, 2013
This job was flexible and I was able to develop great time management skills, while maintaining a steady job and heavy course load throughout my time at Central Michigan University. I was able to work in a productive and comfortable work environment with other fellow students. This job provided me the opportunity to build upon my people skills in a – more... team structured environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant
Head Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIJanuary 21, 2013
It's great earning money while studying. It's five hours a week and doesn't take away significantly from study time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Involvement
Desk Associate (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIDecember 17, 2012
This job is very helpful for someone is lives in the dorms. It helps for the individual to meet new people and make friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIDecember 7, 2012
Pros: outdoors
Cons: worked for family
Great job while I was in school balanced well with school hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Horticultural Technician (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 31, 2012
Pros: the money
Cons: working in the cold
Loved working here wish I could of stayed. The hardest part was leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Lab Consultant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 21, 2012
I have learned about Coordination and Consulting with students on lab locations and printing locations. I have also learning about updating each lab every hour with new supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Custodial Maintenance (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 21, 2012
Pros: medical accidents on job covered, flexibility of hours
Cons: no benefits or perks, seasonal work
A typical day of cleaning a unit was making sure kitchen appliances looked new after cleaning, making sure all window were clean and sills were free of any and all debris, cleaning all light fixtures, banisters, carpets, and bathroom fixtures. All floors had to be stripped, waxed and buffed at the end of the cleaning process. Each unit took approximately – more... 16 hours with the drying of the floors included. You worked alone on this job which was nice, but the hardest part of the job was cleaning up after someone totally destroyed the place and left garbage all over to be picked up. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you cleaned when your schedule permitted availability. Management was very good and supplied with all materials and body gear needed to complete job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Custodial Maintenance (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 21, 2012
Pros: medical accidents on job covered, flexibility of hours
Cons: no benefits or perks
A typical day of cleaning a unit was making sure kitchen appliances looked new after cleaning, making sure all window were clean and sills were free of any and all debris, cleaning all light fixtures, banisters, carpets, and bathroom fixtures. All floors had to be stripped, waxed and buffed at the end of the cleaning process. Each unit took approximately – more... 16 hours with the drying of the floors included. You worked alone on this job which was nice, but the hardest part of the job was cleaning up after someone totally destroyed the place and left garbage all over to be picked up. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you cleaned when your schedule permitted availability. Management was very good and supplied with all materials and body gear needed to complete job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than average pay
Adjuct Professor (Current Employee), Michigan troy campusOctober 6, 2012
I enjoy almost everything about teaching at this school. I believe that raises in adjunct pay occur, based upon time in the program.

About Central Michigan University

Academic advancement is central at Central Michigan University (CMU). It offers undergraduate, graduate, and professional coursework – Read more

Central Michigan University Photos