Central National Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Full-Time/Head Teller (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSApril 26, 2017
I have the best boss. She is approachable and gives great constructive criticism. I have the best coworkers. Sometimes we will disagree or an issue will arise, but we communicate and fix our problems. Customers are the hardest part of my job. Customer service can be difficult, but they are coming to us because they need help. We, them employee, are there to help the customer and to fix their problem. I've realized that I need to put myself in their shoes and just listen when they're angry. Sometimes you have to let customers get their anger out, and then you can help them fix their issue. I've loved working at the bank because no day is the same, I learn something new everyday.
Pros
Benefits, management, community programs
Cons
high turn over rate in tellers because of college students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviornment
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Junction City, KSApril 4, 2017
I genuinely enjoy working for this company. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The pay is way better than than the previous financial institution i worked for. Much happier here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJanuary 6, 2017
they are a great place to work for, amazing management, amazing pay and great hours. my coworkers are amazing and they work with your schedule very well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Junction City, KSOctober 28, 2016
Preform transactions for customers and help them in anyways they needed help involving accounts
Learned how to become a bank teller
Good management
Good environment for co-workers to get along
Loved going to work everyday and enjoying my time at work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSJanuary 16, 2016
High Promotions and attention to detail, high quality customer service , creative and be able to multi task in a team environment
I was head of marketing was training employees to join in activities that they were not used to and at the end were very well trained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly, and Professional work environment.
Bank Courier/ File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Junction City, KSSeptember 15, 2015
The group of people strive to get the job done and care for each other in a team like manner. Very pleasant work environment.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits, great coworkers.
Cons
none I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced Paced, Great customers
Part Time Teller (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSJune 24, 2015
• Processed cash withdrawals.
• Ensured customer's deposits were made into correct accounts as well as transfers between accounts.
• Proceeded loan payments.
• Examined checks for identification and endorsement.
• Maintained confidentiality of bank records and client information.
• Directed specific questions to appropriate branch personnel.
• Delivered prompt, accurate and excellent customer service.
• Supplied tellers with coin and currency as needed.
• Researched and resolved customer issues on personal savings, checking and lines of credit accounts.
• Adhered to the security and audit procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Branch Manager II (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 22, 2015
Great support from management. Every employee feels like they have a voice and can be heard. Pay is competitive with similar size banks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and nice people
Teller (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJune 16, 2015
Great place to work they really focus on building relationships with our guest. We work hard to make sure our customer needs are met all while providing great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Financial Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Great Bend, KSApril 15, 2015
Its a little on the too structured side in the fact that you have to follow a structured set of rules. The owning family rules all and can override any rule.

Great place to work though!
Pros
great environment
Cons
getting yelled at on the phone by your boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First experience working for a bank
Financial Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSFebruary 2, 2015
A typical day at work would be about the same thing everyday
learned consumer loan training and basic banking skills
I wouldnt say that Management was the best
I loved my Co workers
Pros
pay benifits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking with a Smile
Proof Operator (Current Employee) –  Junction City, KSAugust 28, 2014
Central National Bank was my first job and I appreciate the company for taking a chance on a high school kid. I have enjoyed becoming part of the Proof Department. Everyday we balance tellers and process images. I was in charge of scanning the bank documents using a Canon CR180.

I have learned how to make professional phone calls by calling tellers, gained ten key skills, basic banking procedures, and how to balance credits and debits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsiblities and Duties as Commercial Lender / Branch Manaer
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Gypsum, KSAugust 27, 2014
I oversaw a loan portfolio of $7million which consisted on Consumer, Residential and Commercial loans.

Assisted consumers with any depository needs that they might have .

Assisted with the daily processing of the transactional items.

Assisted in running the monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual bank statements, 1099 and 1098's

Balance the various General Ledgers

Assisted and prepared the employee's annual review

Provide the best customer service possible and understanding their personal or business needs.

Participated in community activities

Developed new business.
Pros
Steve Stein was an awesome owner/boss. Received 25% of gross income in my 401K.
Cons
sold the branch to Central National Bank
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank transactions and customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSMay 13, 2014
Central National Bank is an enjoyable place to work. Several locations in Lawrence with great staff.
Pros
Great staff, strong management, supportive
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good to start my work experiance
Trust Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 7, 2013
A typical day. Long hrs did various thing.
All phases of banking
Very supportive
Supportive
Not hard
Meeting difference people
Pros
Free checking
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work through college
Teller/Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSJune 3, 2013
I loved being a teller in college. It was great pay, and great hours. It was nice to have a job like that where I could still get all of my studying done.
Pros
Great work environment, learned a lot of independent skills
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a great place to work is now only average at best.
Rather not say (Former Employee) –  Rather not sayOctober 24, 2012
As a previous employee stated, the company restructured staff and went from an employee friendly environment to one where facilities were understaffed and upper management doesn't care. They also cater to their urban customers and don't seem to understand what works in an urban banking environment doesn't necessarily fulfill the needs of a more rural banking atmosphere. Also, while they claim to be agricultural oriented, they don't seem to have a desire to want to understand the financial needs of farmers.
Pros
good insurance benefits.
Cons
failure to consider the staffing needs of each individual branch, management has little personal contact with staff. .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tense environment with no advancement
Customer Service Representative I (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSJuly 16, 2012
Overall the job itself was fun, but more so the people I worked with. After a company came in and completed restructuring things fell apart. Little to no advancement opportunities and when available politics came into pay. Below average pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Central National Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
3.9