Central Ohio Technical College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, OHMarch 31, 2016
Being at the front desk and one of the first people that students and potential students saw upon entering our office gave me a good sense of getting to know who may or may not be in any of my classes.

The hardest part of my job was being able to utilize the tutoring centers because I would have to work. This would normally not be a problem if the school had offered tutoring during other hours of the day as well.

I enjoyed talking with other students and potential students especially if they were asking what kind of school Central Ohio Technical College was, which was a positive educational environment.
Pros
Being able to work and go to school in the same place.
Cons
Not enough available tuturing times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COTC was a great place to work. I thoroughly enjoyed working with the students and staff.
Student Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OhioMay 20, 2015
A typical day at work involved answering phones and helping students and staff with any problems that they incurred.
Management was helpful and supportive.
My co-workers were excellent and very willing to help if needed.
There was no hard part of the job.
Pros
Excellent place to work and the benefits were terrific.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHSeptember 27, 2015
I would arrive at work and help students in various math subjects. I helped them complete their homework, study for tests, and explain math concepts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Supportive
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHAugust 24, 2013
Instructed and guided students traditional and hybrid laboratory courses in natural sciences including two course Human Anatomy & Physiology with cadavers for allied health majors.

Pioneered the development of curriculum and laboratories of the current environmental science course. Assisted in the development and implementation of hybrid-online courses.

Collected student and course statistics for program accreditation.

Cooperative, supportive professional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with an awesome boss.
Writing/Speech Tutor (Former Employee) –  Communications Resource CenterDecember 5, 2013
This was a great job while completing my college degree. I was able to balance school work with helping others. The first time a student came up to me and thanked me for getting a 94% on a paper, I was extremely happy. The best part of this job was helping others. The second best is that it helped me pay for school too.
Pros
the people: students and staff - i loved this job.
Cons
not much advancement - was only while in school
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught Web Development & Multimedia Design Classes
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Newark, OHMay 21, 2013
Very nice campus!

I learned designers do not like to code and coders will try design.

Changes from quarters to semesters impacted students.

Co-workers were great. All professors were professional and helpful.

The hardest part was developing technology content and learning new content at the same time.

Loved learning new content!
Pros
was able to borrow a mac
Cons
lots of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Favorite Job
Student Assistant / Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHApril 10, 2013
This was by far my favorite job, I miss it so much. Typical day was answering the phones, guiding people through the college website, helping students schedule classes, filing, etc. Basically a Guest Service Representative type of position. Co workers and management were awesome.
Pros
wages, co workers, company, management
Cons
had to leave because i wasn't attending the college anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Chemistry Professor
Adjunct Professor - Natural Sciences Department (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHMarch 29, 2014
I prepared lectures for students pursuing careers in allied health sciences. In addition, I prepared homework, quizzes, and examination, as well as monitored laboratory session and conducting office hours.
Pros
it was flexible in terms of time.
Cons
i would have enjoyed more time mentoring students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructional Design and teaching, advising, scheduling
ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR (Current Employee) –  Newark, OHAugust 28, 2012
Working with students is the most rewarding part of this job. The management is unstable and turnover is high. A great place to work if management skills were reflective of today's culture and workings.
Pros
online delivery and flexibility in scheduling
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professional experience
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Coshocton, OhioJune 11, 2012
COTC is a good place to work. As a student worker I helped students with the enrollment process, managed private and confidential information, as well as clerical work for all office activities.
Pros
flexible schedule, caring personnel
Cons
healthcare, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about Central Ohio Technical College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment.
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHOctober 9, 2014
My "co-workers" were friendly and professional. A typical day involved teaching two or three classes. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irrational micro-management.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructor
instructor (Former Employee) –  MathMarch 4, 2012
Nice place to work. Instructors and staff seem friendly. Administration needs help.
Pros
nice surroundings.
Cons
discussions with administrators.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student-centered 2 year college
Dean (Current Employee) –  Newark, OHMarch 21, 2013
student-centered environment. The College participates in a variety of initiatives, so work is quite busy and challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.2

Central Ohio Technical College Reviews by Location