Central Park Conservancy Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Participant (Former Employee) –  Harlem, NYOctober 5, 2015
I was a nice experience with nice people who were around my age at the time which was 14. We raked up leaves and cleaned up some parts of the park, we learned about the environment and at the end of the program, we held a fundraiser.
Pros
Lunch Time, Interaction with people around my age
Cons
It got really cold
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Park-The heart of NYC
Tree Care Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2014
It is an honor to work for the Central Park Conversancy, a non-profit organization, that partners with NYC Parks Dept to care for and maintain one of (if not the most important) NYC's treasures. The design and history of the park is amazing. As it ages, the park requires areas to be restored and enhanced for the public to enjoy. Management is excellent and the employees are well versed is various fields of expertise. In only 4 years I have seen the organization expand almost 50% and the parks level of care increase dramatically.
As an arborist and urban forester I could not ask for a better work environment, in the heart of New York City !
Pros
better experience with databases and arboricultural practices
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, central park is a very visible part of New York city
Budget Administrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2015
Very creative and committed staff. Great exposure to construction contracts and interactions with city agencies and private contractors.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a degree project, great experience!
Student Consultant (Former Employee) –  New YorkJuly 14, 2015
Very supportive management and a great learning experience.We developed very intensive consulting and research experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Facilities Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2013
organize my daily duties each day is different. i learned how to be a great team player.management was wonderful coworkers i worked well with.the hardest part of the job was being let go because tavern on the green was leased so once central park lost all control i was let go. the most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work there everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 31, 2013
Interacting with customers and co-workers all day.
Being flexiible.
Management was somewhat flexible.
Co-workers were ready to help and easy to work with.
The hardest part of the job was being on one's feet all day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new customers everyday.
Pros
some free art postcards and swatches.
Cons
short working period.
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 17, 2015
Fast paced environment, always changing. Great opportunity to move up in the company. Management for my department was wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mother nature at its best.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 31, 2013
Meeting and greeting all types of people from different places and cultures in the world.
Pros
Learning about different cultures
Cons
Dealing with people who are ignorant and outspoken about their ignorance.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Graphic/Web Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2012
I liked working with the company. You learn and experience different aspects that you can use in the future as well as meeting new people. The people you work with have all different characteristics, so you can get a taste of various angles of imagination. The hardest part would probably be the end of the day because you feel so comfortable that it's like your second home and when that time is done you don't want to leave but you have to.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment and landscape to be around
Education Programs Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2013
World-class park, mediocre job environment, sub-par management
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Park Conservancy Capital Projects
Capital Projects Landscape Architecture Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 23, 2012
As a Capital Project intern, I assisted with site constructoi supervision and found this to be one of my favorite jobs of all time, working in the largest park, in the largest city in the world. It doesn't quite compare to much. I used my landscape architecture skills in AutoCAD and knowledge of materials to supervise construction contractors and update as-built construction documents.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with down to earth employees
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 2, 2014
I was an unpaid intern. I help out with several projects they had going on and attended meetings with my bosses. It was a pretty relax job and my bosses were really nice and down to earth. I also helped at one of the visitor centers in the park twice a week.
Pros
Down to earth people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job in summer
Grounds Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 2, 2013
good job to have in summer time plenty of people outside to make the job very pleasing able to drive company vehicles to get to far reaches of park made for less stress pay was fair for the job.
Pros
plenty of work and overtime
Cons
outside work during winter really hard at times
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Central Park is the most iconic Park in the area. People come from all over the world to see the park. We make the park special for each patron. I have learned how to drive so many vehicles. To plow and take apart the trucks, its a great skill to have.
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Seasonal Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2013
Everyone that I worked with was very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was working as a seasonal; when the season ended there was no renewal at that time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work k
Visitor's Services Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2014
If you enjoy working with people, this is an amazing opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Central Park Conservancy Reviews by Location