Find companies:
Central Refrigerated Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Central Refrigerated Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun but extremely Stressful
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTJune 29, 2014
Pros: great food, company events for drivers
Cons: bad communication between customers and company
Management can see like they dont know what they are doing from time to time , there is a bad line of communication between DM's and load planners and load planners and Customer service and the customer

a typical day usually consisted of a typical OTR driver

learned alot of about time managment from working with Central the hardest part of it was – more... more or less waiting on loads to become open in certain areas , i and i have to say the most enjoyable part of my time doing this job was when i was at the terminals always something to do and the company always tried to do something to celebrate the drivers hard work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi-Driver Drop and Hook
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Conley, GAJune 11, 2014
Start day off inspections of truck, consulting the Qualcome on trailer location and delivery. Basically driving and following all safety procedures and traffic regulation so as not to incurred any fines for the company. The challenging part was driving in higher regions or terrains making sure to follow all safety regulation, when descending can use – more... brake except jake brake which slows the engines down. This was most challenging because I let fear inter the equations and I lost. There was no reward for me or enjoyable part because I really didn't master my career in this field – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Miles, good pay
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: tiring, stressful, no home life
The job was a good and new experience but not for me. If you wanted to make a good income then the job had to come first and home very last. Its a tiring and exhausting job. The job requires that you rely on mostly youself to get the job done. The hardest part of the job would be to manage your sleep, time and stops. What i liked most was traveling – more... around the 48 states. As for the management they were good but at times made the job difficult to where I would have to fix the problems to which they had no solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner Operator, Trainer (Former Employee), Tracy, CAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great money, great miles, great home time
Cons: less miles and money after buyout
At Central Refrigerated I was an owner operator. I made excellent money and had excellent miles. While being an owner i set my own rules and could manage my own success. I was also a trainer there and taught new drivers how to be successful as a truck driver. I really didn't have to deal with contract managers too much because I set my own schedule. – more... The most enjoyable part of this job was being my own boss. All of this was near perfect until Central was bought out by another company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job if youre into traveling
Tractor-Trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMay 11, 2014
Pros: great place to work if you like to travel.
Great job to work if you would like to travel. No supervisor looking over your shoulder, which i loved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high grossing environment
Recruiter (Current Employee), Fontana, CAMay 1, 2014
A good company, always busy, lots of leads and ways to make money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Refrigerated was a decent job,than Swift Trans. took over company.
Driver (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: only pro, trailer tracking better.
Cons: bad communication between dispatchers, planners and drivers, poor attitude towards drivers.
Dispatch was decent enough,than Swift took over and getting loads and miles started to drop off.Swift personnel also not as cooperative as at Central.Their Qualcomm macro system is more confusing than helpful,also can no longer get lumper,trlr washouts or fluids needed as fast as Central's system.trying to get into and out of terminals also difficult – more... as there are too many trailers taking up most of the yards.Overall not happy with Swift,and if i wanted to drive for them,i would have appllied there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good job
Driver (Former Employee), salt lake city utahMarch 30, 2014
did not like being out for thirty day because i have young chidren
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Conley, GAMarch 25, 2014
Great place to work the people were great it was fast paced and the pay was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a experience
Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTMarch 19, 2014
Pros: got my cdl
Cons: they wont work with you
central was a good company while i was a company driver. once i went owner opp everything changed. i made decent money, but i was never home to spend it. I would be out 3-4 months at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work enviroment
EDI Clerk (Current Employee), West Valley City, UTMarch 18, 2014
Pros: worked well with my schedule
Was such a great work environment, I enjoyed worked there every day. Great co-workers and supervisor, everyone was pleasant to work with. I enjoyed seeing the progress of my work when we would get reports from customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company - Low Pay
Company Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great support team, awesome driver managers.
Cons: low pay, otherwise a great company.
Great company to work for. Nice equipment, good driver managers, excellent staff.

The only problem I had was the low pay.

Weekly paychecks went between $120 to $800 a week.

It was the lesser of the two that forced me to get HazMat and Tanker endorsements hoping that I can make more money somewhere else.

I do miss the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job except being away from home for 6 weeks
OTR Team Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTFebruary 18, 2014
Was a good company to work for until they were bought out by another company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and growing work place.
Driver (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahFebruary 10, 2014
Central Refrigerated is a good company who provides training to upcoming drivers with no experience. They will put you with a trainer for a month so you can get the hang of the OTR experience. The most enjoyable part about the job I would have to say seeing all the new environments and different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the worlds best company to work for if you have experince driving
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTJanuary 30, 2014
you are gone a way from family at least a month at a time with only four days home time max, you never know what sate you will be in and you don't know the people that you will be around, a normal day consist of driving 500 plus miles a day and then sleeping in your truck at the end of your drive shift not know who is in the truck next to you and weather – more... or not some one is going to run into you wile you are sleeping – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough life, home time is rare
DRIVER (Former Employee), salt lake city, ut (fontana, ca)January 13, 2014
Pros: seeing the country
Cons: miles, hometime, the routing
I worked for central for a couple months, was averaging 2k a week which was not great. when I decided to give up the trucker life, the manager at the fontana ca branch was very rude infact I would go so far as to say I some how personally offended him? he was a jerk. that being said central is a great co, its just a hard business to stand if you have – more... family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
On-Boarding Compliance Manager (Current Employee), West Valley City, UtahJanuary 1, 2014
You felt as you were part of a big family team. Everyday there was something new that challenged you. The business was bought out and I will be laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to learn management skills
Training Coordinator over Career Development (Current Employee), Salt Lake CityDecember 15, 2013
Great learning experiences in sales, management and team building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supplied exerice equipment for employees
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 28, 2013
Pros: we received free lunchs sometime, and received money for lossing weight
Cons: made you feel bad if you were unable to go to work from illness or vacation
Had a lot to do everyday and loved it. Talked to my drivers to answer any questions they my have and how to help them to achieve there goals. Checked on loads, answer phones new owner operators, loan payments, process payroll, work orders, audit & answer emails and QUALCOMM.
Loved all my co-workers we all helped out were we needed to.
The hardest part – more... of my job was filing (don't like it much)
The most enjoyment was the co-workers and my drivers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solitary over the road long haul driving
driver (Former Employee), lower 48 statesNovember 12, 2013
Pros: i've been to every state in the lower 48 it's a beautiful country we live in.
Cons: long hours away from friends and family with often times spending weeks or months alone on the road.
Central is a wonderful company and for the most part they will bend over backwards to help the driver succeed. As a long haul driver you are alone 95% it isn't an easy life or career.

1 2 3

About Central Refrigerated Services

Central Refrigerated Service, Inc. was formed in 2002 as a subsidiary of Central Freight Lines, Inc. In April 2002, Central Refrigerated – Read more

Central Refrigerated Services Photos