Find companies:
Central Refrigerated Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

Central Refrigerated Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck driving
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee), Fontana, CAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: get to see so many places.
Cons: could take days to get a simple answer from the office. little weekend/evening support.
I have driven for other truck driving companies. At this company I drove across the US with a truck and trailer. I learned about refrigerated trailers as I had never ran a truck with one until I worked here. This companies managements biggest hurdle is that they have created a massive divide between the drivers and the office staff. The job was not – more... bad if you do not mind being alone 28-30 days out of the month. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing this beautiful country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job experience.
Over the road truck driver. Lease purchase. (Current Employee), West Valley City, UTJuly 24, 2014
Pros: it's a good truck driver starter company.
Cons: everything
I would still be working with this company, if they were not bought out by Swift Transport. Central was a great company to work for. The dispatchers were honest and fair. Everyone wanted to be at work, and they new what they were doing. Now it seems like their are warm bodies filling chairs that don't even know their name, or whats going on. I don't – more... like to fight for a paycheck I already earned. If you are looking for a job wonderful, if you want to work stay far away from this place, they don't want to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great routes but to much down time
Truck Driver/ Owner Operator (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 22, 2014
Pros: seeing the world meeting new people
Cons: to much down/wait time
A typical day is seeing the world behind a huge windshield I learned to be more patient and how to work alone my management was very rude at times and very hard to communicate with. I worked alone so no co workers present and the hardest part of my job is the weather. Most enjoyable part is seeing the world and meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: home time.
After the take over of swift everything that led me to working for this company, went down, such as communication with the DM and operation, time between loads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing good to say
OTR TRUCK DRIVER (Current Employee), Decatur, GeorgiaJuly 12, 2014
do not come to this company. they do not care about there there drivers or trainees. wish i would have never came to this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company really focused on the correct use of ergonomics in the workplace.
Billing Clerk (Former Employee), West Valley, UtahJuly 8, 2014
Pros: ergonomics break room
Cons: n/a
I really enjoyed my employment here. The management team was very easy to work with. The opportunity for advancement was readily available and offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See the country, not your home
Long Haul Refrigerated Van Driver (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJune 30, 2014
Pros: paid tourist
Cons: never home, life on the go
not a bad company, pay is low but for a first driving job that's about industry average if not slightly above. Swift owns Central, and now you are actually and employee of swift. Decent benefits, driver leaders vary quite a bit, make sure you get one you can work with or your pay will suffer. Be professional, take your job seriously and they will promote – more... you. Look into whether your home city is favorable for Central or if your better off driving on the Dry Van side with swift, it will make hometime and dispatch a lot smoother. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun but extremely Stressful
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTJune 29, 2014
Pros: great food, company events for drivers
Cons: bad communication between customers and company
Management can see like they dont know what they are doing from time to time , there is a bad line of communication between DM's and load planners and load planners and Customer service and the customer

a typical day usually consisted of a typical OTR driver

learned alot of about time managment from working with Central the hardest part of it was – more... more or less waiting on loads to become open in certain areas , i and i have to say the most enjoyable part of my time doing this job was when i was at the terminals always something to do and the company always tried to do something to celebrate the drivers hard work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi-Driver Drop and Hook
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Conley, GAJune 11, 2014
Start day off inspections of truck, consulting the Qualcome on trailer location and delivery. Basically driving and following all safety procedures and traffic regulation so as not to incurred any fines for the company. The challenging part was driving in higher regions or terrains making sure to follow all safety regulation, when descending can use – more... brake except jake brake which slows the engines down. This was most challenging because I let fear inter the equations and I lost. There was no reward for me or enjoyable part because I really didn't master my career in this field – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Miles, good pay
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: tiring, stressful, no home life
The job was a good and new experience but not for me. If you wanted to make a good income then the job had to come first and home very last. Its a tiring and exhausting job. The job requires that you rely on mostly youself to get the job done. The hardest part of the job would be to manage your sleep, time and stops. What i liked most was traveling – more... around the 48 states. As for the management they were good but at times made the job difficult to where I would have to fix the problems to which they had no solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner Operator, Trainer (Former Employee), Tracy, CAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great money, great miles, great home time
Cons: less miles and money after buyout
At Central Refrigerated I was an owner operator. I made excellent money and had excellent miles. While being an owner i set my own rules and could manage my own success. I was also a trainer there and taught new drivers how to be successful as a truck driver. I really didn't have to deal with contract managers too much because I set my own schedule. – more... The most enjoyable part of this job was being my own boss. All of this was near perfect until Central was bought out by another company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job if youre into traveling
Tractor-Trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMay 11, 2014
Pros: great place to work if you like to travel.
Great job to work if you would like to travel. No supervisor looking over your shoulder, which i loved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high grossing environment
Recruiter (Current Employee), Fontana, CAMay 1, 2014
A good company, always busy, lots of leads and ways to make money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Refrigerated was a decent job,than Swift Trans. took over company.
Driver (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: only pro, trailer tracking better.
Cons: bad communication between dispatchers, planners and drivers, poor attitude towards drivers.
Dispatch was decent enough,than Swift took over and getting loads and miles started to drop off.Swift personnel also not as cooperative as at Central.Their Qualcomm macro system is more confusing than helpful,also can no longer get lumper,trlr washouts or fluids needed as fast as Central's system.trying to get into and out of terminals also difficult – more... as there are too many trailers taking up most of the yards.Overall not happy with Swift,and if i wanted to drive for them,i would have appllied there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good job
Driver (Former Employee), salt lake city utahMarch 30, 2014
did not like being out for thirty day because i have young chidren
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Conley, GAMarch 25, 2014
Great place to work the people were great it was fast paced and the pay was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a experience
Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTMarch 19, 2014
Pros: got my cdl
Cons: they wont work with you
central was a good company while i was a company driver. once i went owner opp everything changed. i made decent money, but i was never home to spend it. I would be out 3-4 months at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company - Low Pay
Company Truck Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great support team, awesome driver managers.
Cons: low pay, otherwise a great company.
Great company to work for. Nice equipment, good driver managers, excellent staff.

The only problem I had was the low pay.

Weekly paychecks went between $120 to $800 a week.

It was the lesser of the two that forced me to get HazMat and Tanker endorsements hoping that I can make more money somewhere else.

I do miss the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job except being away from home for 6 weeks
OTR Team Driver (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTFebruary 18, 2014
Was a good company to work for until they were bought out by another company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and growing work place.
Driver (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahFebruary 10, 2014
Central Refrigerated is a good company who provides training to upcoming drivers with no experience. They will put you with a trainer for a month so you can get the hang of the OTR experience. The most enjoyable part about the job I would have to say seeing all the new environments and different cultures.

1 2 3 4

About Central Refrigerated Services

Central Refrigerated Service, Inc. was formed in 2002 as a subsidiary of Central Freight Lines, Inc. In April 2002, Central Refrigerated – Read more

Central Refrigerated Services Photos