Central State University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racial
Foreign Language Instructor (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHOctober 14, 2017
The underlying feeling to anyone new to the culture was racial and unwelcoming. Ones' credentials were always in question and the university's budget was always the excuse for virtually everything. Mismanagement of finances always a threat.
Pros
Scheduling
Cons
No real diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One on one interaction for students
Athletic Operations Managers (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHAugust 6, 2017
The job is good, however, the pay is not competitive as expected for such a thriving school that is gaining great publicity. I hope that the company continues to build up its clientele.
Pros
Opportunity for advancement
Cons
Micromanagement, not a good way to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st commission
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHAugust 2, 2017
During the early parts of my career I enjoyed the knowledge I gained from the various administrators and Chiefs of police. The faculty/staff and student population and the cultural is impeccable I love everything Central State University stand for.
Pros
Family
Cons
overturn of officers and administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to impact the youth
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHJuly 31, 2017
Everyday is different and the best thing about your day is interacting with the youth of today. Having an impact on their developement into young adults.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Football Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHJuly 23, 2017
Easy to get used to, very helpful when it comes to hospitality skills. This job not only teaches you time management but also it teaches you how to do more than one thing at a time effectively.
Pros
Free football games
Cons
Early morning practice for spring football
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Student Office Assistant, Registrar's Office (Former Employee) –  Canton, MIJune 21, 2017
This job consisted of administration work. Your basic filing, organizing and distributing documents for the company. It was very a comfortable work space.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assistent
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHJune 18, 2017
• Managed administrative tasks including room condition reports, maintenance requests, incident reports, and the room change requests occasional completing general maintenance
• Organized and implemented building wide programs that fostered community for around 450 students
• Maintained student safety by ensuring Residence Hall rules are followed
• Planned, promoted, and worked campus events to help bring the resident community closer together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and everchanging
Teacher (pt) (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHJune 12, 2017
It is very fun working with students of all ages to keep the love for music alive! The students are very interactive and love giving recitals at the end of the program to show what they have learned.
Pros
Great Pay great students
Cons
Saturday only work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Instructor of English (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHJune 5, 2017
My teaching experience has been a great reward. One doesn't realize the number of students are touched until they graduate. Letters, visits, phone calls from previous students are made known to the instructor over the years.
Pros
working in teams to make working conditions better
Cons
time off to enhance one's education
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun experience for me throughout my school year
Assistant Football Coach (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHMay 27, 2017
My experience working as a central state marauder football coach has been a lifetime achievement for me. It has been something that i have truly loved and it has been a experience that i will never forget.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Slow Paced Administation Building
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHMay 12, 2017
Sign in About 5 visitors throughout the day.
Assist and direct students constantly.
Manager was the President of the University
I enjoyed meeting the staff and students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSU has serious organizational problems
Associate Professor of Education (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHMay 11, 2017
Some good people work here, students are great but systems are totally messed up. No one answers his or her phone , there is no cross training so information sharing is antediluvian. They are in need of an overhaul in a lot of areas. Faculty are basically treated as afterthoughts. They love to build buildings though.
Pros
Students
Cons
Attitudes, procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with interesting co-workers
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHMay 7, 2017
I would go sign in at the office of the residence hall and proceed to check in visitors and guest as they proceed to enter the residence hall. The supervisor would also have me hang flyers up of any campus activities and distribute any mail to the residence of the hall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place culture
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHMay 5, 2017
I worked in several different departments at central state university. The work culture had an family orientated feel to it. The students were well mannered and easily directable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  wilberforce ohioMarch 25, 2017
I believe central sate is what you make it. Fun job long days but it was pretty cool . answered phones coached new students on typical college life informed students campus safety
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Advisor
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  OhioMarch 2, 2017
Working with Freshman great, opportunity to stand out on campus and do something different for a change. The various task and desk duties are what made everything great about working there
Pros
Duties
Cons
Getting up at 4 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school
Assistant Football Coach (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHFebruary 2, 2017
great school great atmosphere great education great diversity and great academics change is central. the school is historically located in a rural from the old slavery days which has great tradition
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An adequate place to begin one's career in higher education
Spanish Professor (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHFebruary 1, 2017
Overall, a reputable and legacy-thriving institution. Great place for skill building and multi-dimension learning and teaching environments.
Pros
conferences and friendly staff
Cons
healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace very considerate of my school work
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHDecember 31, 2016
I enjoy the time that I spend at work. I learn how to stay organized and consistent with time management. My co-workers and I have great work ethics as well as being able to work together to complete task.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student assistant very productive
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, OHDecember 10, 2016
This job taught you how to schedule things and learn how to talk to people too get your way. Also , the company was good with paying on time and great co workers
Pros
Good money
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Central State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Central State University Reviews by Location