Find companies:
Central States Manufacturing, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Central States Manufacturing, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Just on Time Manufacturing Facility of Metal Building Components
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Michigan City, INMarch 20, 2014
Schedule Work and Projects for Myself and Maintenance Staff
Attend Meetings With Supervisors Concerning Workflow ,Projects and Give Progress Reports and Meet Deadlines on Time
Proactive in Continuous Improvement of all Processes Gathering
Ideas and Implementing Modifications to Equipment and Workflow Areas in A Safe And Productive Manner
Identify and – more... Correct any Issues Concerning Safety
Source ,Purchase and Maintain Critical Parts Inventory
Monitor P,M Program to get in front of potential issues and Scheduling Non Disruptive to Production Repair Times and Minimizing Overtime – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company To Work For
General Manager of Sales (Former Employee), Michigan City, INJune 18, 2013
Pros: culture and values
Central States Mfg encourages personal growth and advancement. You must be motivated and willing to work hard. The culture at CSMI is above and beyond what a positive work environment should be. As a former employee my negative experiences were only related to my direct supervisor but overall a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with solid reputation.
Current Employee-Owner. Non Management. (Current Employee), SalesNovember 16, 2012
Pros: benefits, esop, culture
Cons: if you don't like to be responsible, the position isn't for you.
Been with this company for 8 years. Great advancement opportunities and leadership team. We do hold ourselves accountable and teams accountable, which may rub some the wrong way. Integrity driven. Did not have a single layoff due to economy and made strategic plans to prevent it. If in doubt about taking a position, call the company. Demand to speak – more... with some of the employee-owners or take a tour. You're welcome anytime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable place to work
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Michigan City, INNovember 7, 2012
Pros: not many. benefits are decent.
Cons: bully management, lack of leadership, low morale.
Bully Management. Extreme Micromanagement. 80% plus turnover rates in sales. Senior Management lacks integrity, and . Lack of flexibility in work schedule. Company thrives on witch hunts and black listing employees. Lots of backstabbing, and two faced leaders. Employees that report abuses to HR are promptly let go. Very low morale. Lack of opportunity – more... for advancement. Lack of qualified leaders company wide. Most successful sales reps go to Central States to train for a better position with their competition. The term "employee-owner" with Central States simply means that you take part in the company ESOP; your opinion, ideas, and suggestions do not count. The most enjoyable part of this job was finding another. – less

– December 7, 2012

I am very happy that you found another place to be where you can be happy.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average for the possibilities of advancement!
Business Development Manager (Current Employee), Lowell, AROctober 29, 2012
Several locations and positions available to move in to, advancement is inevitable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value-driven team with high expectations and high results
Operations (Current Employee), Lowell, AROctober 29, 2012
Pros: customer focused, results oriented, fast paced.
Cons: little structure, not for the faint of heart.
Central States is an intense, customer service focused place. The company lives it values of Integrity, Excellence, Accountability, Quality of Life, Financial Success, like no other company that I have been near.

If you are a customer service oriented, fast moving, results oriented person, this is the place for you. If not, it is best to move along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive, Customer Focused, Opportunities Never-Ending
Business Development Manager (Current Employee), Lowell, AROctober 29, 2012
Pros: ethical, growth focused, individual opportunities unlimited
Cons: you will be held accountable, a "con" if you are a bandwagoner.
I am a Business Development Manager. AKA...Outside Sales Rep. I spend most of my time working on a list of justifiable reasons to travel to my territory. I travel, on average about every 3rd week, and spend a full week on the road. When on the road, I am either (1) closing a new business relationship, face-to-face, (2) growing business with an existing – more... account (3) reviewing business with an existing account and having the open back-and-forth conversations that uncover opportunities to service them even better. I've learned at Central States Mfg that "drilling down" on a customer to really get a true understanding for what they value is hard work, but that's all, just hard work. We don't win on being the cheapest or on being the company with all the "freebies", or, the all powerful, relationship-is-all-that-matters type of sales tactics. We WIN by selling the company and matching what the customer values, with what we can do. It is a pure focus on the customer, but not a "we will do anything" approach. We are great at what we do and we are very careful about trying to do things outside of OUR norm. Not every prospect is a good match for CSMI, that is part of the BDM job. We don't blindly sell everyone...we are working towards good matches. Management is focused on "driving the boat" and has helped us keep a winning tradition year in/year out since we've been in existence. The legacy of those before us, creates a competitive culture to be excellent...and to find ways to be even better tomorrow, than we are today. This is a very tough environment for folks who want to just "ride the wave". Every employee owns this company. There is no "They" or "Them" or the mysterious leaders in the corner office somewhere that are tweeking our collective fate. It is Us and We...and we keep each other highly accountable to be excellent. – less

Flagboy – December 1, 2012

No one in any of these forums criticized central States' business model. It's some of the people in senior management who are woefully inept when it comes to people skills and people management. Obviously, you haven't worked there long enough to "See the man behind the curtain". We all know that CSMI has a select few good little soldiers like you who blindly accept what they refer to as "The Company Culture; Quality of Life, etc...", which, on the surface looks all warm & fuzzy, but in reality, is rotten to its' hippocritical core. Read your own words: you have to come up with "a list of justifiable reasons" to travel your territory. Wake up. You're being treated, not as a disciplined, self-reliant, resourceful sales professional, but as a micro-managed order clerk who will not think indpendently and follow orders without question. Leadership by fear and intimidation are the norm rather than the exception, which is continually being demonstrated by the astronomical turnover in sales staff. It's not about what you do right, but rather, what you do wrong, or what THEY perceive as wrong. The atmosphere of tension & extremely low morale is pervasive on a daily basis. Maybe you haven't been there long enough, but before too long, you WILL be in the crosshairs of senior management. If they don't have a reason now, trust me; they'll find one. After they do, I'll be happy to see what the tone of your next posting will be. Good luck - you'll need it.

– December 7, 2012

This was not my review, but I have been here 18 years, so I would say I have been here long enough to have an opinion. You can read it on my review that I posted and you will have a good idea where I stand on all the comments posted and the various reviews. What I believe was meant by "justifiable" was to make sure we travel wisely and not just out visiting people and wasting time and money driving around the countryside. It did not mean that we have to "convince" someone that we need to go see customers and prospects. Btw,,,,, I have been to all our locations and have been all around the facilities and have yet to find "the man behind the curtain" you spoke of. Is it Oz?

Chipp – December 14, 2012

I'm kind of confused. I would like to apply for an outside sales position with Central States, but this review has really thrown me off. Maybe the lady with 18 years with the company can help me understand this better. Based on what has been written by the Outside Sales Rep above, Central States: 1) is not willing to be competitive, pricewise, 2) does not have any desire to impress customers with marketing give away's, 3) does not find that building relationships between customer and outside sales rep is a wise approach, 4) is not willing to do anything, or whatever it takes, for the customer's satisfaction, and 5) rather selective about who Central States will sell. With such a discriminatory customer selection process, don't you leave a LOT of business on the table for your competition? You also state that Management, not sales, "drives the boat". Most Outside Sales Reps enjoy the autonomy of their job. It sounds as though there is not a lot of freedom to succeed, and a lot of roadblocks to overcome simply to do your job. I would have a difficult time approaching a customer with the mindset that I am not willing to assist them with price, marketing, building a business relationship, going above and beyond for them, and top that off with a "selection process" to find the right customer or "fit". I would imagine that your customer base is not hugely loyal. I can see why, as another respondent suggested, the turnover is high. I am trying to keep an open mind, but the original poster's review has me very confused. He or she does not really come across as a seasoned sales pro.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of opportunity
Leadership Job Rotation Program (Current Employee), Lowell, AROctober 23, 2012
Pros: great opportunity for career advancement, employee ownership, great benefits.
Cons: small company growing into a large one. lot of opportunities for improvement across the board.
This employee-owned company has been extremely successful in an industry that has taken some significant hits over the past several years. The reason for this is because of the high level of accountability that the employee-owners have to eachother, their customers, and to the company's mission and values. The company is not perfect, but its a great – more... place to work for those that are looking for an opportunity to help build something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable Work Environment
Sales (Former Employee), Michigan City, INOctober 3, 2012
Worst place I have ever worked. Bully management. Leadership through fear and intimidation. Over 80% turnover in sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable Work Environment
Sales (Former Employee), Mt. Airy, NCJuly 5, 2012
Pros: the feed you monthly to make up for lack of compensation.
Cons: micromangement to the extreme, low pay
The work place was very unstable. One location has been through six salespeople in a two year period which may not sound bad, but there were only six sales positions available at that location. Highest turnover rate I have ever worked in. The management was the most unqualified that I have been involved with, most of which have no formal training/education – more... in upper business management. Very low employee morale throughout. Unreachable sales goals. They also change your sales goals during the year if they think you may surpass them and achieve a higher commision. This reason being the main one that people leave for. I witnessed many unethical practices while being a part of this orginaztion, some of which the state labor department had to resolve. I would highly discourage anyone who would be considering working here in order to build a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cedar Hill Management are idiots
Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TexasApril 12, 2012
Pros: money is good and they provide good equipment
Cons: management is idiots
The so called trucking manager in Cedar Hill was Area Manager Over Trip Production in Lowell, AR. before they brought him down here to be a Trucking Manager. The dude knows nothing at all about trucking and not even sure he knows how to read a map, so if you can stand for letting someone who could not do your job tell you how to do your job it'll be – more... ok. Long story short management at Cedar Hill are puppets on a string. – less

About Central States Manufacturing, Inc.

Central States Manufacturing, Inc. manufactures and delivers high quality metal building components to post frame, commercial, – Read more

Central States Manufacturing, Inc. Photos