Find companies:
Central Transport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

Central Transport Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Terminal Manager, MS (Former Employee), jackson, msApril 3, 2014
ok place to work, ok place to work, ok place to work. challenging environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasant place to work.
Driver/Dock Supervisor (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 3, 2014
I learned a lot. Equipment was lacking in quality and quantity. Operation often had labor issues with front line supervisors catching most of the grief.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun getting the work done.
HI-LO DRIVER CERTIFIED/TRUCK DRIVER=SWITCHER (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 2, 2014
ok, overall it was a allright place to work.the managment was not good at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reasturant
front end loader, forklift operator (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 26, 2014
Pros: the food and the customers
Cons: customers
I started at this company as a cook, and moved my way up to the shift supervisor. It was educational to learn hospitality, and the different aspects that go into a good customer experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bought out
City Driver (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 26, 2014
Vitran was bought out by Central Transport...Central pushed Vitran drivers out the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst in trucking
driver (Current Employee), markhamIlMarch 23, 2014
Pros: going home after 12 hours
Time and half after 55 hours should be illegal treat you like a slave .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forewarning
Dispatch Supervisor (Current Employee), Warren, MIMarch 16, 2014
Pros: advancement within
Cons: healthcare, management
I began my post-college career with Central and have been there for 5+ years in three different positions.

Upper management needs to not make so many operational haphazard decisions before going through with them.

I am thankful for getting my start at Central, and have moved up a lot, but there needs to be a major overhaul in the management department – more... before anything can get accomplished. New employees with a glimpse of how the company operate see how changes could be made but when management throws language around such as "it is what it is"; it discourages any likelihood of growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another day at work
Driver (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 15, 2014
friendly employies,fun,easy place to work,dont know much I only been there for 3 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, pour management
CDL-A driver, supervisor. (Current Employee), Rockford, ILMarch 14, 2014
Pros: great pay, great co-workers.
Cons: pour leadership at both local and corporate levels.
A typical day at Central transport would consist of showing up, logging into your hand held pc. From there you would either log into the dock, city, or linehaul. If you are going to the city you will be paid for ALL your time at work. If you log into linehaul "nights" you will be dispatched on a load and paid a set rate from point a to b then back (you – more... could make $20hr or $8hr depending on what fun and exciting adventure you must endure that particular evening). If you log into the dock at any time during your shift you will be paid as long as you consistently scan items of freight. The concept of Central Transports work ethic has good intentions but there is pour leadership among management and corporate levels. Your co-workers all work side by side and all work as a unit. They will do anything to help each other no matter what needs to be accomplished. The best part about CT is as long as you stay off corporate radar and get dock and city hours, you will make good money. The hardest part about the job is making sure you are paid for your time while at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What to do and not to do
Fulltime Junior Dockworker (Promotion) (Former Employee), Bloomington, CAMarch 13, 2014
This company was definitely not the best company i have ever worked for. The money was good but the management was very poor, I would tell anyone that starts to work for them to stay to your self.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does not care about employees or customers.
Outbound Supervisor (Former Employee), Dunbar, WVMarch 13, 2014
no room for advancement, pay for mgt. is good but no one else. poor management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teamwork.
Dock worker (Former Employee), Santa Fe Springs,CAMarch 13, 2014
Cons: no breaks, not healthy environment, bad management, not getting paid for overtime
I would never recommend this job to my worst enemy!!!!!This place is hell.They treat you with no respect and see you like a self employed" not part of the company"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi Lo Driver
Hi Lo Driver (Former Employee), DetroitMarch 11, 2014
Cons: everything
I wish I would have believed the employee reviews I read before I applied. This is the worst company to work for on the planet! They will cheat you out of your hours and pay! I was desperate when I applied. It was not worth my time. I promise you will definitely regret working for this non union piece of garbage company! Employees beware! They will – more... lay you off without prior notice. Just terrible management!! The worse I have ever experienced!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No heat on dock. Dress warm.
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Rockford, ILMarch 10, 2014
Pros: stayed busy time fly by.
Cons: short hours at first.
Loved this job. People were great to work with. Type of job I love doing. I wish job was never eliminated. Close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhealthy environment..not a stable career to rely on.
Spotter (Former Employee), New Buffalo, MIMarch 6, 2014
Pros: as for perks on the job i would say needing time off if notice is reasonable.
Cons: as for disadvantages i would have to say would be last minute 2 hr stay over.
Central Transport i feel did not have a very strong work base as far as commitment to fairness in the employees side and not much more neither for customer service and well being of the equipment the employees had to work with. Job spotting was a easy skilled job but very stressful only mad by management. It seemed insteed of working with each other – more... it was againt.. almost like tugge or war. i most enjoyable part of my job is when once in awhile i hear a positive feed back from the dock on a job well done to the yard guys..because we are the back bone of the opperation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor organization structure, very segmented and no focus on productivity
Dock Leadman (Former Employee), Mounds View, MNFebruary 26, 2014
In a typical day I would help run the inbound shift and oversee that shipments were properly unloaded and loaded onto trailers for the drivers to deliver. After the peddle routes hit the street I would coordinate all of the necessary tasks to setup the dock for the next shift. This would include doing a daily dock check and yard check, along with backing – more... in the proper trailers for the outbound shift. The job itself was very easy after learning the computer system. The hardest part of my job would be trying to figure out who to contact when certain problems arouse. The company's structure has no departmental groups. It seemed like no matter who you talked with nobody knew who was the correct person to contact with specific problems. Our local management at the facility is very competent but the corporate management never showed any focus on productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
Terminal Manager/Account Executive (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJFebruary 25, 2014
Central transport is a mid-sized International LTL company. The relationship between mid level management and workers is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
junk equiptment
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Westbrook, MEFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: home nightly and weekends off
Cons: low pay and pour equiptment
work hard for little pay. Equipment run down and not repaired as needed. Work hard but get paid very little.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production was lacking, fun place to work, management not totally honest.
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Kenosha, WIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: while on the road you are your own boss
Cons: health benefits were expensive and not a lot of coverage
Clock in with Dolphin, check logs, communicate with dispatch for upcoming loads. Completed Pickups and delivers throughout day. Most co-workers were very helpful and friendly. The hardest part of job is not getting my hours, I drive 1hour and 10 min each way to work and back, and to be sent home early or asked to come in late just is not an option for – more... me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Atmosphere
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: atmosphere and professionalism
Cons: no job opportunity to move up
Collect paperwork from the truck drivers and process them.
I learned about DOT requirements and management.
Co-workers was friendly and professional
Hardest part of the job was making sure the driver turned in all their paperwork.
Most enjoyable was the atmosphere

1 2 3 4 5

About Central Transport

At the center of CenTra is Central Transport International, a less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier that hauls across North America. – Read more