Find companies:
Centura College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

Centura College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Beta Tech Charleston (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCOctober 28, 2014
Excellent place to work, loved working with the students to help them find employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work/ Stay away unless it is the only way to feed your family
Employee (Current Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 18, 2014
Pros: a few of the employees are very nice and knowledgeable. the students make the job worth it.
Cons: stressful dealing with the majority of the immature, unprofessional, racist, uncaring employees.
The most micromanaging place I have ever worked! Managers should lead by example by being professional with any standards at all, but most of all they need some professionalism, ethics, morals and values. Most of the MA instructors and the coordinator do not have a clue as to how to actually do any of the skills they are teaching. They all should have – more... to complete a skills test yearly with an outside certified professional. Extern coordinator has limited medical skills,no professionalism, no personality, and no communication skills. If you are liked weather a student or an employee you get by with anything, if you are not liked they will stay on your back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
admissions (Former Employee), Richmond midlothianOctober 5, 2014
Cons: bad leadership...no one wants to be there
Worst campus ever. I feel sorry that I enrolled anyone in this school. The campus director would not make it at any other school, she would have been fired just because the turnover is high. Do yourself a favor and not work at this location. If like to be micro managed then this would be ideal for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed learning new things.
Medical Assisting (Former Employee), Richmond, Va.August 8, 2014
Pros: learning new things.
Cons: exams
A typical day at work consist of everything from learning to transcribe to billing and coding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students are priority.
Career Services Coordinator (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCAugust 6, 2014
Pleasant work environment. Instructors are interested in seeing students successful in their careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and great environment.
Teacher's Assistant- Criminal Justice (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 30, 2014
I always enjoy coming to work. I love to stay busy and my boss ensured that I was always tasked. I usually like to keep a planner and a lot of notes to stay organized, as well as reminding myself of what needs to be completed on the day of, or in advance. Preparing for events, tasks, and more is a priority to me.
I learned different programs, different – more... perspective of students, as well as lifestyles. To that I have adapted. My co-workers are friendly and it is always pleasant to be around.
The hardest part of the job was not always catching the criminals. As my responsibilities not only included teaching and preparing curriculums for courses, but also researching and organizing unsolved cold cases. I try to get as much as I can to better help the cases.
The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying individuals or rather coming to a solution. I love when people are left feeling happy and helped. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: there are some great people!
Cons: the campus director!
Worked for Centura over two years in admissions which is a long time for admissions. There was no opportunity for advancement unless you were under the wing of the director. I have never worked for such a hateful and simply mean woman. The unprofessionalism exudes from her. It got to the point that we actually felt sorry for her! Work schedules get – more... changed at the drop of a hat. No work life balance... No flexibility. Have children? She doesn't care. My coworkers could barely take their kids to the doctor without threat of a write up! No communication with upper management she is too high on her perch to speak with you or any students for that matter. No new ideas are good ideas unless they are hers or her recruits. I could write a book on this campus. Do yourself a favor and move on. It's not worth your time! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid. Horrible.Terrible.
I won't say (Former Employee), Richmond VirginiaJuly 16, 2014
Cons: everything. literally everything.
Were there negative stars to award, I would have. The only reason I awarded 2 stars for compensation is the ability to make a bonus which is nearly impossible to do but still...possible. Corrupt and malicious management, ladders for promotion only given to women. Ask students what they think of the school and you will get the most true, accurate description – more... of this cesspit. Your job security is constantly held over your head and work hours can be changed the day of to make you stay longer making it a very unhappy place. Thank goodness the one on Broad Street has closed; we can only hope the midlothian one does as well and then the entire company. For-profit eduction at it's worst. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite, workplace over all with its perks in between
Receptionist (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 14, 2014
Centura College was a productive company to work for they allowed you to be yourself whiles getting the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to help students to be comfortable with math
Instructor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: see progress
See student develope a good cofidence in math. The work in math helped students in other facsits of there cource work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Compliance and Verification Officer (Current Employee), Virginina Beach VA 23452May 28, 2014
Pros: somewhat flexible work schedule
Cons: very poor benefit package
I have learned compliance skills and all aspects of research and reconciliation along with verification.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admission Representative
Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMay 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch from time to time, understanding mangers, and team players.
Cons: the cost of the school, sometimes when your files get lost in other departments.
Beginning of work your calling customers, taking inbound calls, sending out enrollment packages. I learned to process paper work for students. I think that the management was fair. My co-workers where cool. The hardest part of the job was getting in contact with potential students. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting my goal or exceeding – more... my goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Medical Billing & Coding Specialist Student (Former Employee), Columbia, SCApril 16, 2014
•Posted medical insurance billings.
• Reviewed records for completeness, accuracy and compliance with regulations.
• Compiled and maintained patients' medical records to document condition and treatment and to provide data for research and cost control and care improvement efforts.
• Identified, compiled, abstracted and coded patient data, using standard – more... classification systems.
• Resolved/clarified codes and diagnoses with conflicting, missing, and unclear information by consulting with doctors.
• Assigned the patient to one of several hundred "diagnosis-related groups", and DRGs, using appropriate computer software.
• Protected the security of medical records to ensure that confidentiality was maintained – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal and External Customer Service
Front Office Administrator (Current Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 24, 2014
Pros: exceptional internal and external customer service .
Cons: not enough people know about centura college .
Everyday is a busy day but exciting as well. Not only do we work to improve the lives of others but, we take every chance we get to advance our opportunities too . I actually look forward to going to work everyday . We have great leadership and exceptional team work . One word describes this workplace it's "Kudos!"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work
staff (Current Employee), newport newsJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: staff people
just like any job you receive what you put in to it, I have no complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment that test your morals and builds character
Education (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 7, 2013
Pros: its a paying job
Cons: everything the campus stands for
A typical day starts with greeting the executive director as you enter the campus and depending on her feelings toward you at that particular time she may or may not respond. The cohesive environment exhibited, is felt by the first floor employees only(at least while I was employed there). The first floor employees loyalties are secured by the misappropriation – more... of money spent purchasing lunch for them on a consistent basis. The "Leaders" manage by intimidation and bullying and encourage that behavior throughout the campus. Confidentiality is nonexistent and the executive director is usually one of the first to violate that policy and your rights. The colleagues are backstabbing. The most difficult part of the job was knowing the students are the last priority of this campus, but they're also the only enjoyable element of this campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuing education courses
Student (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 19, 2013
Pros: small classes
Cons: hi staff turn over
Interaction with teacher and other students, lab work, hands on learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great staff and faculty.
Campus Executive Director (Former Employee), Newport News, VANovember 1, 2013
Pros: great place to work and share knowledge with students.
Cons: no retirement plan other than 401k.
Great place to work. Enjoyed seeing students achieve their goals. Great staff and faculty to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private College
Executive Director (FL) (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 8, 2013
Geared towards working adults, Centura College has programs in the medical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Enjoy Being Here
Anonymous (Current Employee), VirginiaSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great people to work with.
Cons: can be a little unorganized at times
The owner decided not to close the schools and I am excited! Great place to work.

1 2 3