Find companies:
CenturyLink
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
451 reviews

CenturyLink Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Contractor Assignment (Former Employee), New Century, KSSeptember 17, 2014
Cons: misconduct with supervisors, poor decision making among upper management, poor standards for new highers.
Do not work at Centurylink if you care about equal opportunities. I have worked in 2 different positions and both jobs provided horrible experiences. I have seen a lot of favoritism and discrimination. One of my Old supervisors was also seen taking advantage of his position on many accounts. I have also witness Centurylink putting an employee in a supervisor – more... position who knows nothing about how to do the job that the group is supposed to do. What were they thinking? Too many poor decisions have been made by upper management and complaints made by lower personnel always go ignored. I have also seen wrongful termination as well as wrongful employment. This was a horrible place to work and many claims have been filed to Human Resources regarding the terrible and inappropriate actions that were being done in the work place. This was the most unethical place I have ever worked in my entire career of Telecommunications. I consider myself to be way over qualified to result to such a lowly company. However, this may be a great place to work if you are fresh out of high school and have no skills or ethical values. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good work life balance.
Lead IT Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Monroe, LASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: stable, job security
Cons: yearly merit raises are low
CenturyLink is a stable company with good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with plenty of sales opportunites
Customer Service and Sales (Current Employee), Sioux City, IASeptember 13, 2014
You must sell products to be able to continue working, while there, you are taught how to pitch products and overcome objections from customers while trying to sell products. The management staff is kind and friendly as well as very helpful. The only hard part about the job would be working on overcoming objections from customers and continuously hearing – more... the answer "No" and having to find out how the product is beneficial to the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Service Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 12, 2014
Typical day would be: managing the workload for the day/week of phone calls; emails; processing service changes; resolving disputes; computing adjustments; and prioritizing/scheduling work for the future.

There is a wealth of information to be learned in the telecommunication field: services/products; handling inquiries; training employees/people; – more... team work; telephone etiquette; intra company software.

Hardest part of the job delivering non favorable news and the customer not agreeing with the outcome.

Most enjoyable part of the job; satisfaction of a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced sales atmosphere with great benefits.
Customer Service/ Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, paid training.
Cons: long hours, rising quotas.
I usually had mandatory overtime and worked long hours answering about 80 calls a day. I learned to how to be a great salesman in a chaotic, yet professional call center. Management was fair and my co-workers were very friendly. The hardest part of my job was always finding new ways to make my monthly goal, which was raised every month. I enjoyed the – more... great benefits, and they paid really well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
RESOURCE ALLOCATION SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Mansfield, OhioSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: core values, benefits, and they pay well
Cons: if you work for the contact centers the hours can be bad.
I cannot fault CenturyLink for making a sound business decision to close a call center. I could have relocated and continued my employment with them. I hope I have not made a mistake by turning down that opportunity. They are a great company to work for and they have an awesome set of core values and they do value their employees. If I could have relocated – more... I would still be working for them and maybe someday I will work for them again. I would be honored to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centurylink
WAH Internet Support Technician II (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: lack of contact with coworkers/people
always in demand, work at home opportunity. Great training and leadership. Easy to work with and for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't pay and the commissions sucks
CONSUMER SALES & CARE (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: a job
Cons: no pay, no commissions, no parking, horrible hours for a business department
Took the job at Centurylink -
New employees sit next to employees that are making twice as much as you doing the same job
Management sucked
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for if mobile
Engineer II (Current Employee), Wake Forest, NCSeptember 2, 2014
Great company to work for if mobile.
Great benefits.
Great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great computer systems.
Customer Care and Sales Rep (Current Employee), Tarboro, NCSeptember 1, 2014
Typical day at work would be pulling up about 11 different screen's everyday. Nice workflow and call center environment. I learned that everyday is a new day what you offered and sold one day and the next day it's a new grind a new hustle to get into. The hardest part of the job is when you don't meet your 90% or above goal for that month and so forth – more... by the third month you at risk of loosing your job. On the bright side there are your good times when you do get rewarded with daily incentives, cash prizes, and other rewards at the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy environment
Service Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: constant communication with all business representatives and customers
Cons: office closed
review customer accounts, process complaints, adjustments, calculate rates, work with other departments, Partners, Sales reps, repair and all other co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Technical Support (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: low pay, terrible work policies, long hours, inefficient programs, etc
I was a bit afraid of getting this job because of the low pay. But when I got the job I was made to believe that everything would eventually work out. Nope that was a lie...

They get around Federal law by hiring a ton of contracted employees and training is so minimal that if you weren't tech savvy to begin with then good luck helping customers.

While – more... management tends to be helpful at times they are so overworked dealing with 100+ new contracted people every month that coaching and help sessions are about as often as a solar eclipse.

On top of all of that there automated system needs reworking as well as they need to hire more people because customers tend to wait 30+ minutes before getting a tech. Yes, 30 minutes... try assisting a customer whose already upset after waiting 30 minutes just to get to you!

If thats not enough... Customer service & other departments that isn't tier 1 tech close earlier and are off while tier 1 stays open 24/7...

This is also worth mentioning that the pay is abysmal...

I would stay away... because if you speak out against such atrocities then they simply let you go despite being there top performer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecom
Operations Technician II (Current Employee), Gardner, KSAugust 29, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: everything you do is monitored, no job security
typical telecom. No job security and constantly micro managed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Apex Systems Contractor (Former Employee), Littleton, COAugust 28, 2014
What can I say it was a contractor position under paid, over worked and to far from home, but in order to put something on the table for the children we have to do what we have to do!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and customer friendly
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Current Employee), Tarboro, NCAugust 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not enough pay
only worked on the weekend and it was a decent job for my age at the time, just not enough pay for everything we have to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but the stress outweighs it.
DSL/NOC Support Specialist (Former Employee), Gardner, KSAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: monotonously boring and stressful
It is very monotonous to provision cross connects and do command line interface programming all day under time pressure, and having to manage people who you'd have to keep accountable like field technicians at the site, while all the technical stuff is going on in the background.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLAugust 26, 2014
Pros: got to work out of my home
Work at home - customer service job that focused on sales rather than helping customers and supporting their issues with the telephone or computer or TV.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobs daily routine
retention representive (Former Employee), tarboro ncAugust 24, 2014
Pros: free luch if your team was the team of the week
Cons: people selling things to co=workers
greet co workers and manager and then stress rest of the day as to how calls where coming in and making she that you made you sales quota or save rate quota or make sure that your time waSN'T OFF
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefiits!
Service Delivery Coordinator (SDC) (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 22, 2014
Greatest coworkers! Was able to provide for my family for 25+ years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job terrible training and they dont support the reps
Sales/Cust Service (Former Employee), Sioux City, IAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: they fire customer service reps for lack of sales, they would rather punish a rep rather than make it a training experience
They advertise this job as a customer service job. However, its really a sales job. Your job is to take customers that call in and have a problem with their service and you try to sell them new products instead of helping them. The supervisors are never available and when you get a call in person screaming at you there is no support for this and you – more... cannot hang up on them no matter what. The hours are long and the customer calls are a nightmare. – less

About CenturyLink

CenturyLink is the third largest telecommunications company in the United States and is recognized as a leader in the network – Read more