CenturyLink Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,230 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Monroe, LAMay 26, 2016
CenturyLink has very good balance of work and life. They are very family oriented. Its an enjoyable place to work. They believe in having a friendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to advance quickly, plenty of work
Lead Analyst (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 23, 2016
CenturyLink hires motivated people who are able to work independently. We are allowed to work 1 day a week from home and are paid above market.
Pros
Little oversight
Cons
Tech field
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major productivity in fast paced environment.
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 23, 2016
The typical day started about two hours before a sporting event with cleaning, stocking, cooking food and preparing the cash register. I learned a little more about movement in really tight quarters. The management was different every event. Overall, good management. Co-workers also switched around but were usually friendly. The hardest part of the job was pouring the beer because the pressure was always fluctuating. The most enjoyable part was the crowd.
Pros
Free lunch ticket
Cons
Not having a set manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Junior Tester (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 21, 2016
First QA job started in India .
everything in new to me..
got training and started working with the help of team .
Learned QA
totally It was learning process
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 19, 2016
Great Place to be !
I learned about many different products and services, a typical work day was a blast and always different
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service/ Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOMay 18, 2016
your job is to fix the customers problem and provide great customer service. one of the main rules was you have to offer a product on every call. once you get the hang of offering everything else falls into place.
Pros
healthcare, paidtime off
Cons
i lived i another city
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centurylink/Savvis was a good work environment
Senior Accounts Analyst (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 18, 2016
I worked there for over 10 years and really enjoyed. I would still be there had my department not been relocated out of state.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work overall
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Blaine, MNMay 18, 2016
Nice environment to work. Challenging goals, good work culture, encouraging colleagues. It is overall a good place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2016
Got to travel to southern cities in Arizona and meet interesting people. Worked with knowledgable engineers in Phoenix.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training does not prepare you
Sales and Service (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMay 13, 2016
At first, Century Link seems like it's going to to be a wonderful place to work...and it can be as there is lots of $$$ to be made.

But you soon realize there is way more to the job than selling and upselling to customers. There are billing issues, service complaints, missed appointments and countless other account issues that need to be resolved. This is to be expected in a call center. Multi tasking is always a must.

Problem is that the training does not properly prepare the agents for the calls. So much time is WASTED in training by playing unrelated games, watching youtube, dividing into groups & making posters, and senseless ice breaking exercises. Other time is spent in modules that pretty much just touch on the basics of the job. The last few days are spent scurrying to make sure agents know how to navigate the system. Had the time been utilized wisely, agents would know how to navigate the system & would be much better prepared to take calls.

The trainers are nice, fun, and want you to succeed...but the material is not sufficient. I don't like having learn as I go. I want to be TRAINED during TRAINING....not entertained. Class time was a month long pep talk of how much money can be made if you sell sell sell! It did not give us real life expectations. Alot of people fail because the training is not thorough.
Pros
Good incentives
Cons
Training dept needs step it up
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Want to know more about CenturyLink?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOMay 10, 2016
I loved the job, just wanted something different. The people are lovely and everyone there is willing to help you as long as you ask questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place that could due with better security
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 10, 2016
The job was great minus the job security, you were always worried if they were going to make cuts or find some other reason to lose you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good to employees and compensation
Sales and Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Work at HomeMay 10, 2016
Was very happy working for Centurylink and when I had a family life change they were very good to me and when I had to resign they worked with me to come back due to my abilities and understood of family crisis
Pros
good company to work for and work at home was great
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Customer Service/Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOMay 9, 2016
Very stressful job. Taking calls from angry customers all day as well as a qouta to make as far as sales from these angry customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and professional atmosphere
Director, Marketing (Current Employee) –  Monroe, LAMay 9, 2016
CenturyLink is a company in the process of transforming from a Telecommunications provider into a Cloud and Managed Services provider. Working at CenturyLink was very fulfilling and rewarding. I was empowered to make difficult choices and decisions, challenged to learn and grow and surrounded with support.
Pros
Excellent people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Savvy, Professional Environment
Network Manager (Current Employee) –  Littleton, COMay 9, 2016
Always an opportunity to learn in this position or anywhere at CenturyLink. The people that work here are passionate about their role and providing great customer service. The hardest part of the job is having to be on call as a manager 24x7 although I'm not called out very much, the team I manage is very resourceful.

A typical day in the network organization is trying to get through the many email while watching the network events and sending timely notifications to a wide internal audience and special notifications for the larger events to the CEO level.

Overall a great place to work.
Pros
Work around your own schedule, work remotely, great leadership
Cons
Constant expense reduction over the years, on call 24x7
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun-loving coworkers.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAMay 7, 2016
People are kind and open to new ideas from its employees. They care about your future and will assist you in your career expansion.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work atmosphere,great pay....great work hours
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tarboro, NCMay 6, 2016
wonderful coworkers,enjoyed my time there,only thing was the sale requirment, it was to high requirments and and it affects your pay check
Pros
great pay
Cons
sale requirement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going place to work
Broadband Technician (Current Employee) –  Littleton, COMay 2, 2016
its a good place to work only if you do quality work, some managers are good some not so good the overall company doesn't seem like it will be around long because it is ran very inefficently. many employees are unhappy and moral among co workers is very low
Pros
job security
Cons
the higher ups do not understand how to run the company efficently
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to Work
Sr. Enterprise Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 2, 2016
Reached out to prospective customers to arrange sales consultation with regard to network infrastructure. Presented customized IT solutions, collaborated with internal and external resources needed to address customers' needs.
Pros
Very good company resources provided
Cons
Poor internal processes
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture