Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment.
Borough Clinical Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  entire boroughSeptember 17, 2017
Flexible hours of work give freedom to adjust your routine.
Bureaucratic attitude of upper level .management.
Low salary and no annual increment for nurses.
Pros
flexible shift
Cons
Travelling required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work was ensuring that the consumers receive the service they required. It was very rewarding to meet with the consumers and see how
Article 16 Clinic-Clinic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 15, 2017
The company was great to work with. Management was very supportive.The most enjoyable part of the job was the team work spirit. The most rewarding was to see how well the consumers progressed.
Pros
great management and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Cultural Work Place
Overnight/Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2017
Working at CPofNYS on any given day was a work day in this field, there is never a dull moment.
CPofNYS has afforded me a wealth of knowledge through their innovated training programs.
I have seen many managers come and go, but the ones who have remained and made their way up through the ranks are some really good people. We have had our disagreements, but were always able to come to a healthy conclusion.
When working at CPofNYS I don't think there wasn't a part of the world I didn't meet, many personalities and all walks of life work there.
The hardest part of the job was the passing of individual you have come to care for or staff and or co-workers.
The rewards you get working with the Developmental Disabled Population, making a difference in their lives..
Pros
good benefits package, plenty of time off
Cons
some personalities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 23, 2017
stressful, management are horrible.they do not treat staffs with respect, you literally have to train yourself. we have a lot of older staffs are not very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Direct Care Counselor (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 18, 2017
A typical day at work consists of change of work duties i.e. counting monies and correctly entering them to ledger at start of shift, one must also discuss what happened the prior shift.
I learned the different challenges that person with mental disabilities faced on a day to day basis.
Senior staff taught more than just the essential to work with clients. I don't find the job to be difficult. The thing I enjoy the most about the job is the room for growth.
Pros
Pension and Benefits Flexible Schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working envirnoment
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NYMarch 20, 2017
Pleasant work environment with all the co-workers, mechanics very knowledgeable, the hardest part of the job is when you go on vacation, the work keeps pilling up with no backup.
Pros
accomplishment when a
Cons
Constatnt calls with no support from the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job to work with a union and great benefits. You need patience and love for the individuals you will care for but good learning experienc
Habilitation Aide (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 3, 2016
Be on time, be understanding of your individuals, you have to work well with others, be prepared to work well with many different personalities. Paperwork will be included. Lifting is required. There are two places to work the Apartments or the Day Programs. The Apartments longer hours 6-2,2-10,10-6, but you will have to work holidays and weekends. Day Program shorter hours 8-4 you get weekends. Only if the position is available.
Pros
Being able to travel around neighborhoods and explore with the individuals, .
Cons
Your breaks if partime half an hour, full time an hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Clerk-Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 18, 2016
Assist in helping pople to get their supplies for art area and assist in medcial billing taking pople to diffrent classes there and pushing them in a wheelchair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but...
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 21, 2016
Fun workplace, but limited opportunities for growth. The training department head ignore manners and job duties, and like to get involved with others', but you can get past that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily stuck
Direct Care Counselor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 29, 2016
Job is fine. Only issue is if working overnight position it is extremely easy to get stuck doing a double all too often. Other than that they have good pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2016
As an Employment Specialist with CP of NYS, I have developed both professionally and personally and I've learned so many things that I can take with me into any other field and aspect of my life.
Pros
meeting new clients and staff trainings.
Cons
inter borough travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very wonderful job, but...
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2015
this company has the best opwdd individuals i have ever met in my life. the managers are also great people . it was the assistant director who was not professional at all, this being the main reason i left the company .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Laid Back, Good Experience
Staff Accountant, Finance Department (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 18, 2014
Very good place to start your accounting career. Great management, very patient and helpful, will get your foot in the door in the right way. Highly recommended.
Pros
Laid Back, Helpful, Good Experience
Cons
Little opportunity for advanced, Salaries not competitive with Public Sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 29, 2012
You are surrounded by nice people and cooperative patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experienced in non profit / public sector organizations
Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 21, 2012
Support the Fundraising Department with special events, grants and potential donors search.
Regular participant in Fundraising Board meetings, responsible for meetings report.
Assessed level of internal involvement in fundraising and developed recommendations to management.
Budgeting support to the finance department.
Support projects for Spanish speaking costumers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

Cerebral Palsy Associations of New York State Reviews by Location