chambersburg hospital

chambersburg hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job
RRT Clinical Manager (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 29, 2016
Hours of work were reasonable and compensation for my position was comparable. My higher management was not properly trained for the position and duties changed daily when it suited her. Staff has a blatant disregard or respect for management with no discipline from higher management. Hospital has been going through multifaceted multilayered changes and communication is laxed at best.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
poor management on all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others
Certified Nurse's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAOctober 20, 2016
I love working in the medical field because you get to meet anyone and everyone. Diversity at its finest. I am able to meet all walks of life while working at the hospital. I am able to offer support and help patients get though their situation. The Chambersburg hospital has a wonderful management team system. This system provides the best possible service for the patient.
Pros
Helping others and supporting them during life crisis
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work as well as the staff
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PANovember 16, 2016
I enjoyed working at Chambersburg Hospital..I enjoyed working with files and perging to make room in the charts for new information and also to help with paperless filing
Pros
Great place to work plenty of room for advancement
Cons
No cons to report
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIM Coding
Medical Coder (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PADecember 4, 2015
Do not apply here as a coder unless you want to be micromanaged. Do not apply for coder positions here. Management is terrible. Stay away. The culture focuses on finding errors. Everything is a negative. I am constantly in the office about errors and productivity. You sit doing boring clinics half of day with constant feedback about CCI edit errors.
Pros
salary for area
Cons
micromanagement focus on negativity
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away!!
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAOctober 22, 2016
Working Respiratory has become progressively worse over the years. The manager is unable to handle a growing hospital that needs more staffing (20 therapist department for a ~250 beds) and has no care for anything except adult care (Growing Peds section and NICU opened in January). Multiple vents and bipaps are antiquated and need removed from service but won't be unless they break. Overall management is an epic fail with pushing for respiratory advancement or an increased presence in the hospital at all and will continue to unless the department manager is replaced. Staff morale is at a low and work is often missed or completed late. The actual staff is normally good to work with but some are behind the times or aren't knowledgeable to handle anything but floor work but get placed in critical areas. The department does have a clinical ladder program however you are not encouraged to get on it like the rest of the hospital and management makes it virtually impossible to get/stay on.

There is little to no orientation, one day you may be orienting to one area and the next day you have your own assignment due to understaffing. There is no competency for working in the ER, Critical Care, or NICU other than a 10 minute crash course of the location of important supplies.

The entire hospital is money driven with total disregard for the patients or staff well being. The facility alone had a $42 Million profit in 2015 yet acts as if there is no money to spare. The only pro to working here is that the pay is good due to being a union shop. Do yourself a favor and do not apply
  more... unless no other hospital in the world will accept you.  less
Pros
Pay, Learning Experiences
Cons
Management, Understaffing, Charting System
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small community hospital
Family Birthing Services Nurse Manager (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PADecember 4, 2016
Collaborative nursing leadership team
Supports PFCC, Patient Safety, Respect for People, Lean Culture, and growth from within for the leadership team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
RRT (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMay 16, 2016
Think hard about working here. Staff is great to work with. Staffing is very poor. All about the dollar not about providing quality care to patients. Numbers in a matrix are more important than people. Staffing assignments are dangerously heavy. Far to many managers. No support from higher management. Department management has her hands tied. No company loyalty to the employee.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Staffing, loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Office
Billing Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAApril 28, 2016
A very enjoyable place to work, we were a team and work well together.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Some weekends were required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Registration Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAAugust 18, 2013
I loved my job and the people I worked with. I Like working with patients and registering them for out patient procedures.
Pros
Good pay, good environment and benifits
Cons
Could not get full time employment, only part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work family
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 12, 2016
excellent place to work, everyone treats each other like a family. scheduling needs work. pay is great, most managers really care about their employees. they give excellent care to the patients.
Pros
pay, family coworkers
Cons
scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 16, 2012
Good place to work. Benefits and pay, but some of the attitude from others is hard to get around.
Pros
pay, hours
Cons
attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun loving and rewarding place to work.
Registration Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMay 8, 2012
You had to learn various positions within the registration department, which kept this job interesting. I learned various ways to register different types of situations and people. My co-workers were helpful and fun to work with. The management style was helpful and understanding. The hardest part of the job was learning the various insurances and how to register people with correct information with the insurance policies. The most enjoyable part was meeting the people and helping them with their registration needs. I enjoyed registering patients over the phone too.
Pros
their were luncheons where everyone could enjoy, cummulative time off, health insurance for p/t workers.
Cons
the rotating shifts hard to adjust too, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things I learned when volunteering.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 4, 2013
The things I learned from volunteering is that the feeling of helping people and knowing that your doing something that will make a difference just boosts your confidence. The hardest part was probably not getting a long with co workers sometimes but everyone has those kind of days. The most enjoyable was probably hanging out with my friends and making sure my job was done and everything was going good. Management was very nice to us which made the atmosphere more comfortable to us.
Pros
free breakfast, work experience, and meeting friendly people.
Cons
time management, heating conditions, and stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is an excellent hospital to work for
X-Ray / Cat Scan Technologist (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAJuly 26, 2015
I enjoyed my time at chambersburg hospital . I am very good with patients , and at obtaining quality radiographs or cat scans . I enjoy the ability to ease a patients fears of the unknown during an examination . i pride my self with my interpersonal communication skills as well as obtaining difficult radiography under difficult situations
Pros
working with people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work flow
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg PA 17201May 11, 2015
Admit/discharge/verify chart patient records on 30+ patients a day
organize chart
process doctors orders
It is a very fast paced, never a dull moment type of job. Working with a good group of doctors, nurses, and management. It does get over ally busy on occasion, and it usually is only me there to run the unit, and make sure it goes smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Experience
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAJuly 6, 2015
I have had an amazing clinical experience at Chamberburg Hospital. The staff, including the cardiologist, have taught me so much in the echocardiography field.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
think long and hard before making the choice
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAJanuary 9, 2013
the employees are a hard working great bunch of people, if they would only hold management accountable
Pros
pay
Cons
short staffed working conditions, different rules for different employees
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to advance to learn and advance to other positions.
Administrative Assistant, Acute Care Services (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAJuly 4, 2014
Overall a good place to work. Management needs to be more understanding of employees and consistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Clinical Manager (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAApril 6, 2015
With the Union in place, it makes it difficult to make needed changes quickly. Balance of work and family with travel was more than expected
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided all medications for in-patients.
CERTIFIED PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg PaSeptember 18, 2012
Worked several different shifts. Pulled med and returned meds. Mixed IV's including chemo. Checked in daily inventory. Delivered to all floors of the hospital. Answered phones. Checked dates on drugs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at chambersburg hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

chambersburg hospital Reviews by Location