Find companies:
Champs Sports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
361 reviews

Champs Sports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 25, 2015
sold shoes
worked with a group that had a lot of passion for what they do
gained sales experience and knowledge
learned more inside the programs ran in the store
marketing potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to see all of the releases before they come out
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Providence, RIJune 22, 2015
Pros: Purchasing the newest products int he market
Cons: Not getting your full comission
A typical work day at Champs Sports would require me to know my daily dollar goal, sell an insert, 2 packages of socks, 2 shoe cleaners,t-shirts, hat ,and a pair of sneakers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job with shoes!
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MOJune 19, 2015
Pros: Co workers
Cons: Management and Compensation
A typical day at work, would be helping all the customers out, helping them with their decision of their purchase. I've learned was how to be such great help, and how to describe the different fabrics and styles of shoes. Management at first was awesome, but new store manager came in and ruined everything! Still love the job though. My co-workers are family! There was nothing hard about the job. The most enjoyable part was the workers and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENERGY
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Juan, PRJune 6, 2015
It is a company that REQUIRES lot of their employees, but an atmosphere of great energy and motivation. Cuel company 's taught me too , especially responsibility. Here I learned to do things giving the maximum
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my summary
Customer Service Excellence (Former Employee), ctJune 2, 2015
it was good while it lasted, I got some good discounts and everyone I worked with was fun too. I liked the job and I enjoyed it ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Whitehall Township, PAJune 2, 2015
Pros: Competive pay, bonus structure, job security
Cons: working more then you think you would
Fun place to work....the only issue I had was the work/personal life balance.....I did take on more then I should have but there were more lemons then there was lemonade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Exton, PAJune 1, 2015
Managers are great people. The work was fun and the Exton Champs is very busy so your workday goes fast.

The shoppers are always happy and it was a pleasure working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work, fun and fast paced environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Independence, MOMay 27, 2015
Pros: interacting with all kinds of people, working in a fun environment, having friendly co-workers, discount on apparel and shoes
Cons: not enough hours, not enough pay
A typical day at work would just be interaction. Interacting with customers is key because without them there would be no champs. Each day you meet all sorts of people, with all sorts of taste in athletic shoes. You will make a connection with each and every customer in some way, and ultimately finding out what they like. Since working there I learned a whole lot about people. I feel like I learned how to interact with people, how to solve problems, and the best skill that I can say I have accomplished since working at champs is being able to work unsupervised. What I learned about management is that it can be very tough, and that you should always try to do what managers tell you because most of the time they tell you to do those things for the good of the company. There is really no hard part to this job I've been there so long every thing is so natural to me. And the most enjoyable part of the job would be assisting the customer getting them what they truly want and completing all your goals for the shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
days could be slow and some days were crazy busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Reading, PAMay 26, 2015
Pros: Relaxed enviroment
Cons: missing lunch some days due to the store being busy
would come in in the mornings make sure all clothing was set up, tables were priced all items being discounted were correct. I would rotate the old released sneakers and put the new ones out along with pricing. Greeting the customers as they walk into the store and helping them with anything they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little pay for a lot of work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLMay 19, 2015
They cut your hours all the time without telling you until the day of and the pay is an absolute joke. Would not work for them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Marcos, TXMay 16, 2015
Good and very fun sale shoes and have a laugh with everyone new store and everything. Love it , just not enough hours. it was fun meeting new people and talking to them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 12, 2015
Pros: Good start up job. Discount. Co workers
Cons: Pay is too low, no benefits, schedule is crazy
I was young and it was good enough to get me money to spend. Discount is awesome. Coworkers are amazing. Work is fun. You get to meet new people and if you love shoes and hats this is definitely the place for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salesman/ A.M.I.T. (Asst. Mang. in Training)
Sales/ A.M.I.T (Former Employee), Wauwatosa, WIMay 11, 2015
Pros: Employee discounts, Friendly environment
Cons: Health Care, Max.hourly wage
Performed Facilitated cash transactions, managerial procedures; such as store lock up and opening, counting nightly deposits,separating charge slips, coupons, vouchers, balancing cash drawer.
Held Meetings Expressing Promotions, new product knowledge, production expectations on add-on sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Sale Associate (seasonal) (Former Employee), Duluth, GAMay 4, 2015
Great teamwork amongst co-workers, learned how to operate a register equipment, i enjoyed every aspect of the job, managers are nice and easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active day at work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCApril 30, 2015
A typical day at work consist of helping customers in the purchase of sports apparel. My managers are really nice and helpful. The hardest part of the job is not being successful in closing a sale. I enjoy this job a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to take the good with the bad
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Albany, NYApril 30, 2015
Exactly what it says, be ready to take the good with the bad. A lot of great perks and a lot of fun to be had working here, but not worth the misery this company will put you through with their relentless sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with friendly coworkers and customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Savannah, GAApril 23, 2015
A typical day at Champs Sports was sizing people for shoes and apparel. I learned that I could utilize my charismatic attitude to improve my customer service skills. My managers and coworkers were very friendly and were as eager to work as I was. The hardest part of the job was having to juggle multiple customers while speaking multiple languages but the fast paced environment motivated me to take on the challenge. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching customers confidence increase from buying the new outfits and shoes that you just sold to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn about the different type of shoes
Sales (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 22, 2015
Pros: Discount on shoes
Cons: The pay hourly
Different situations arise every day. Easy laid back job, great discounts. The management are helpful if you do not have any knowlegde of the sneakers. The hardest part of the job is upset the sell by reccomending appareal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
champs sports
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Omaha NeApril 20, 2015
great and fun environment to work at. You get a chance to work with a lot of different people. Also meet a lot of new customers that has never been to champs sports before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with stern production values
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kennewick,WAApril 17, 2015
Pros: Experience in customer service, meet a lot of people
Cons: Long periods standing
Work started as soon as you clocked in here at Champs. I grab my badge and radio then hit the sales floor to see how many shoes I can sell with insoles for added compensation. I learned so much of what customer service is all about at Champs. Basically, you determine how well your day is going to be simply by the way you treat your customers. You greet them in a friendly manner then they will respond in the same way. I did everything I can to help our customers. Management was more focused on hitting their numbers everyday rather than the customer but if you have associates on the sales floor that understand it is the other way around then you will have a successful company like that of Champs.

1 2 3 4 5

About Champs Sports

Champs Sports is one of the largest mall-based specialty athletic footwear and apparel retailers in North America. Its product – Read more

Champs Sports Salaries

Sales Associate
$7.50 per hour
Store Manager
$45,000 per year
Assistant Manager
$28,000 per year
Inside Sales/Customer Service
$7.50 per hour
Assistant Manager
$10.00 per hour