Find companies:
Champs Sports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

Champs Sports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Hours and Politics
Store Manager (Former Employee), Dallas,txApril 14, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: working all the time, all the time.
When I first got there I wondered why so many of the managers were single. I was married at the time. The work requirements for a manager will not allow time for anything but work. Most managers quality of life is terrible. If your single, no problem.

The thing people did to get promoted was scary. Mother's leaving there kids behind in order to get – more... into that hot store or be passed over.
Managers playing politics by down talking their friends and co-workers, crazy stuff. There is not real promotion system, you just have to know the right people and get noticed. To get noticed I saw managers working to get other managers they thought were in the way terminated.

I survived by focusing on the job for 70+ hours a week and training and promoting as many people as I could. It was a unique experience and I got to see first hand what a difference good managers can make. I worked under some of the best and worst in the business. I watched this company lose a lot of great people because those people wanted to see their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Champs in Honolulu. Great management
Cashier/ Sales Representative (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIApril 14, 2014
Pros: management
Cons: healthcare
I learned how to be more personable and outgoing. My sales skills were developed here because of the great management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAApril 11, 2014
I loved this job. I was always learning about new product and doing different training. Everyone worked well together. Management made sure the employee's were doing well with all areas of daily sales and training. The hardest part of this job was trying to get the customers to make a purchase. I really loved working for Champs Sports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun first Job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), Palm DesertApril 9, 2014
It's more than selling shoes. There are so many thing you are responsible for but you have to remember without customers YOU ARE NOTHING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job is a job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, CAApril 6, 2014
When I was first hired it was good. After awhile management changed and decided to bring in their own hires so they moved everyone who was there prior out. So, when I was working it was a alright until the change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Champs
Store Manager (Current Employee), ohMarch 24, 2014
Pros: fast paced
Cons: n/a
fun fast paced sales driven
good co workers
nothing hard about the job
competing in sales programs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Demanding
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDMarch 18, 2014
Pros: able to gain knowledge in multiple areas and career advancement opportunities
Cons: work shifts can be unexpected and working hours may vary
Will need to audit the inventory before store opening. Also depending on the day, a typcial will mostly comprise of attending to customer needs. If the day is slow when it comes to customer attendence, then a typical day will comprise of warehouse duties. Stocking inventory and logisitcal work. The hardest part of the job is having to work a schedule – more... that constanlty changes. This job also demands a worker who is physically capable in attending a large amount of customers in a short period of time, especially during certain holidays. The most enjoyable part of the job is having the opportunity to gain experience with customer service, logisitics, warehouse packing, auditing, and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE & CASHIER (Former Employee), Trumbull, CTMarch 10, 2014
Working for Footlocker company was great. You were able to partner with other stores like Footlocker, Kids Footlocker, Lady's Footlocker and Footaction. It was like a family, and we all were each other's backbone. The management team at the time was great to work with and was always looking for sales associate best interests. The most enjoyable part – more... of the this job was not only the customers but it was the team that we had. We made sure it was a fun environment for the customers and the employees. The hardest part of the job is when I left for college. I was promised my position during breaks at college, ie (Spring break, Summer break and Winter break) but once I returned, new management said I couldn't return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 7, 2014
Pros: being able to increase my communication and customer service skills
Cons: not enough hours
my typical work day starts of by immediately assisting customers , running the cash register and helping other co-workers through out the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is making a customer happy after making a purchase. the hardest part of the job is being able to assist in more then a few customers at at time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was a fun place to work
Sales (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNMarch 3, 2014
Pros: enjoy driving and going to places i never been before
Cons: laid offs
I love to drive and enjoy the freash air. The people were great to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work.
Sales associate (Current Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: not enough hours
Maintain the store, treat and tend to customers.I've learned great customer services and great sales skills. Management is all amazing with great people who lead our team. The hardest part of the job is selling our customer on a product. I've mastered the art of sales but this is the most challenging part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BETTER STORES TO WORK FOR.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Wichita, KSFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: management
HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT/ CAREER ADVANCEMENTS LIMITED. NEEDS TO HAVE BETTER WORKBOOKS/ SALES ARE FORCED TO HARSHLY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good manager
Cons: bad pay
Helped customers.everyone wanted to get shoes and apparel so i helped try them on for them. went back to get shoes. worked register and cleaned the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped improve communication skills
Salesman (Former Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: opportunities to excel
Cons: short breaks
A day at champs sports involved promoting sports gear, tennis shoes, and other merchandise. I learned how to be a an excellent salesperson. Management pushed me to give me best efforts. It also had a very good staff of employees. The hardest part of the job was meeting your set goals for the day. The most enjoyable part of the job, was overachieving – more... your set goals for that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Summary
SALES ASSOCIATE/CASHIER (Current Employee), New Haven, CTFebruary 8, 2014
It was stressful sometimes but rewarding. I enjoyed working there and the people made it all the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Enviorment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fresno, CAFebruary 7, 2014
I’m looking to find a good long term position with job security
And opportunities for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the Culture
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Taylor, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: 50% off shoes price, 15mins break with pay
Cons: co-workers attitudes
My Review is the great quality foot wear , and cloths. The typical work place is Sales , Sales , Sales , and respect to all those around you no matter the situation . Management is great. My co-workers was not 100% honest with customers . The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing my costumer smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT TEAM WORK ENVIRONMENT
Supervisor (Former Employee), Union City, GAFebruary 5, 2014
I gained teamwork skills that help me with future endeavors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TxFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: opportunities to move up through company through hard work
Cons: long hours, open during most holidays and no set work schedule
Over all this is a good company to work for if you're an ambitious person that seeks a challenge. By applying yourself you can easily promote yourself through the ranks in this company.But this wouldn't be a good job for a typical 4 year degree candidate. If you're a family person this company might not be for you. Due to the retail you tend to work – more... long hours, that are not your typical 9 to 5 structure. Instead your left with a scattered work week and having to work most holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INJanuary 27, 2014
Great place to work with enormous opportunities to advance.

1 2 3 4 5

About Champs Sports

Champs Sports is one of the largest mall-based specialty athletic footwear and apparel retailers in North America. Its product – Read more