Champs Sports Employee Reviews

Found 730 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace with great customer interaction
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMarch 24, 2017
A typical day at work consists of either a 6 hour morning shift from 10 am-4 pm, or a 8 hour closing shift from 2pm -10 pm. Selling products in a fast paced environment is a great way to build additional comfort. Can get hectic on holidays, but a great way to build additional income through commission. Hardest part of the job is dealing with certain customers who might be impatient or difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving customers with a smile on their face and forming relationships and connections, that will leave them wanting to return.
Pros
Multitasking, customer service, paper work
Cons
Pay, certain customers, robbery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 24, 2017
Really loved working here because you got along with everyone, and the customers you can relate type of styles of shoes with them. You are on your feet all day and folding and hanging up apparel but its not really stressful. They did really work with my schedule which I really loved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Metairie, LAMarch 24, 2017
Great environment to work especially with a great staff . Very productive and fun crew to be around. Overall there is a great staff in all stores and always a great time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 23, 2017
Fun place to work at but not worth it for part time employees. You make under minimum wage and you work really hard on weekends depending on location. Not flexible with hours
Pros
Lunch break
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on and learning experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 22, 2017
cashier is basically what i do there and fold clothes. making sure the appreal section is correct. i gained more customer service skills. when i first started the workers were very welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMarch 21, 2017
Fun environment to work in. The pay is terrible if you work at a smaller location. The district manager I worked for was too serious about his job and didn't see any fun in anything.
Pros
Fun place
Cons
Poor compensation and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 16, 2017
If you're a teenager and looking for a cool part-time job, then champs is what you looking for. I was about eightteen years old when i had this job and i enjoy it because i was into the sneaker buisness.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job or Young Adult
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 13, 2017
Based on my experience this job is not for an individual trying to provide for his or her family (unless in management). Training for progression is based on customer traffic and work time available. If you love shoes and clothes then this is a great job. Employee discount is awarded. Benefits only apply to FT workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Shift Leader and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJMarch 10, 2017
met alot of great people at this company. The manager at the time was always willing to show you how to improve and become more productive in the work place.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Organized and fun work place
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 10, 2017
Fold Clothes,Stock shelves and Assist customers with purchases. Made customer very happy and made sure store was very presentable and looked nice. I learned how to work well with others and have great customer services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAMarch 10, 2017
Working at champs I felt apart of a family, rather than just an employee. They worked great with my life outside of work such as school, a great balance. I learned many skills that i could use in future jobs within the job force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly compettitve environment. Good job depending on the manager.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 9, 2017
You clock in and grab our radio. Manager will tell the days goals, shipment, and what to expect about the day ahead. Some managers will require you to constantly move around and keep the store clean--even if the store is empty/slow. Hours depend on commission (cloths or cleaning products+ shoes). As a sneaker head and being young (20yrs of age) it was fun to work with like minded people and of a similar age group. I didn't like how hours depend on others deciding to buy clothes or cleaners plus their shoe purchase. Especially if your shifts for the week are at odd hours killing chances of getting commission.
Pros
shoe discount, higher percntage of younger co-workers
Cons
hours depend on commission. stocking cuts into your hours losing opportunities for commision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat place with good music
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCMarch 8, 2017
Multi-tasking is a must! Handling cash, shoes, and clothing. Being able to set goals for the day and accomplishing them by the time you leave. Having longer goal spans as well. Co-workers are great, build long relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Champs Sports
cashier (Current Employee) –  columbus ohioMarch 8, 2017
A typical day at work can be busy or slow. Ive learned to wok with different types of people as well as different type of customers. I have worked with atleast 5 different store managers over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medicore work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Times Square, NYMarch 8, 2017
Not a place you should expect to get a career out of unless you suck up to management, if you don't suck up work very very very hard to move up. It isn't worth it, this is only for the Times Square location, other locations might not be the same.
Pros
One hour break
Cons
Lunch is expensive in Times Square
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Needs Improvement
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MNMarch 4, 2017
Advancement took much longer than needed. Easy job wearing shorts and sneakers. Gotta be a decent sales person to make any money at all.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Bad Upper Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 4, 2017
I loved working at champs sport! every job have their days but I love at what i was doing. Champs sports was a fun job.. full of games, contests, prize, trips, meetings. I REALLY didnt like the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 3, 2017
Great. lots of fun and very productive.
team members were great.
we always worked together.
Manager was very motivating and issuing great advice.
Loved helping customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, VIMarch 3, 2017
amazing opportunities and exciting environment teaching style and whats the latest on shoes. the hardest part of the job was remembering where the shoes were but it very people oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 1, 2017
Its a typical retail job with the associated job responsibilities. There are times where you will stay later than your scheduled shift unload new inventory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Champs Sports. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 795 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0
84%

CEO Approval

Based on 186 ratings
Add your rating