Champs Sports Employee Reviews

Found 400 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace with fun staff
Cashier/Sales Assc (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 6, 2015
Fun workplace with a great staff. Not all about the numbers(even though its effective; big deal) but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics but expected this is expected out of a big company/corporation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college student
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2015
As a college student they work with you and your school schedule and the job doesn't stress you out like other work places may.
Pros
friendly environement, great job for college student
Cons
low commission
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
cashier (Former Employee) –  new yorkJuly 6, 2015
Great company room for growth
Get promoted easily if your focused
Decent pay
a lot hours if your a great worker
Flexible sch
Pros
30% discount
Cons
seniority for jordans
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the discount!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 2, 2015
Working here, i was still in high school and pregnant. It was a nice part time job. I loved the discount because i love shoes! I loved my co workers. They were very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not make a career out of.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 2, 2015
Typical day would be selling clothes and shoes to customers. making sure the showroom was clean and all product was folded and maintained properly
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am only leaving Champs cause I have to move back home for the summer
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TxJuly 1, 2015
Champs was an overall good working experience for me I was able to assist any customer with any concerns they had for their purchases.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Wanted more work hours on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shoe place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa MonicaJuly 1, 2015
Its a good job.. get paid every week and it always fun to work
at a place when you like shoes and just sport apparel in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 25, 2015
sold shoes
worked with a group that had a lot of passion for what they do
gained sales experience and knowledge
learned more inside the programs ran in the store
marketing potential
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to see all of the releases before they come out
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIJune 22, 2015
A typical work day at Champs Sports would require me to know my daily dollar goal, sell an insert, 2 packages of socks, 2 shoe cleaners,t-shirts, hat ,and a pair of sneakers.
Pros
Purchasing the newest products int he market
Cons
Not getting your full comission
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job with shoes!
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOJune 19, 2015
A typical day at work, would be helping all the customers out, helping them with their decision of their purchase. I've learned was how to be such great help, and how to describe the different fabrics and styles of shoes. Management at first was awesome, but new store manager came in and ruined everything! Still love the job though. My co-workers are family! There was nothing hard about the job. The most enjoyable part was the workers and customers
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Management and Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJune 6, 2015
It is a company that REQUIRES lot of their employees, but an atmosphere of great energy and motivation. Cuel company 's taught me too , especially responsibility. Here I learned to do things giving the maximum
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my summary
Customer Service Excellence (Former Employee) –  ctJune 2, 2015
it was good while it lasted, I got some good discounts and everyone I worked with was fun too. I liked the job and I enjoyed it ....
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAJune 2, 2015
Fun place to work....the only issue I had was the work/personal life balance.....I did take on more then I should have but there were more lemons then there was lemonade
Pros
Competive pay, bonus structure, job security
Cons
working more then you think you would
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAJune 1, 2015
Managers are great people. The work was fun and the Exton Champs is very busy so your workday goes fast.

The shoppers are always happy and it was a pleasure working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work, fun and fast paced environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 27, 2015
A typical day at work would just be interaction. Interacting with customers is key because without them there would be no champs. Each day you meet all sorts of people, with all sorts of taste in athletic shoes. You will make a connection with each and every customer in some way, and ultimately finding out what they like. Since working there I learned a whole lot about people. I feel like I learned how to interact with people, how to solve problems, and the best skill that I can say I have accomplished since working at champs is being able to work unsupervised. What I learned about management is that it can be very tough, and that you should always try to do what managers tell you because most of the time they tell you to do those things for the good of the company. There is really no hard part to this job I've been there so long every thing is so natural to me. And the most enjoyable part of the job would be assisting the customer getting them what they truly want and completing all your goals for the shift
Pros
interacting with all kinds of people, working in a fun environment, having friendly co-workers, discount on apparel and shoes
Cons
not enough hours, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
days could be slow and some days were crazy busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAMay 26, 2015
would come in in the mornings make sure all clothing was set up, tables were priced all items being discounted were correct. I would rotate the old released sneakers and put the new ones out along with pricing. Greeting the customers as they walk into the store and helping them with anything they are looking for.
Pros
Relaxed enviroment
Cons
missing lunch some days due to the store being busy
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little pay for a lot of work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMay 19, 2015
They cut your hours all the time without telling you until the day of and the pay is an absolute joke. Would not work for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Marcos, TXMay 16, 2015
Good and very fun sale shoes and have a laugh with everyone new store and everything. Love it , just not enough hours. it was fun meeting new people and talking to them
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 12, 2015
I was young and it was good enough to get me money to spend. Discount is awesome. Coworkers are amazing. Work is fun. You get to meet new people and if you love shoes and hats this is definitely the place for you
Pros
Good start up job. Discount. Co workers
Cons
Pay is too low, no benefits, schedule is crazy
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salesman/ A.M.I.T. (Asst. Mang. in Training)
Sales/ A.M.I.T (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIMay 11, 2015
Performed Facilitated cash transactions, managerial procedures; such as store lock up and opening, counting nightly deposits,separating charge slips, coupons, vouchers, balancing cash drawer.
Held Meetings Expressing Promotions, new product knowledge, production expectations on add-on sales.
Pros
Employee discounts, Friendly environment
Cons
Health Care, Max.hourly wage
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 427 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture