Champs Sports Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jon
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAOctober 10, 2017
Perfect for college and high school kids. Great opportunity to move up. Pay structure needs some work. Lots of work not enough pay. Overall good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waldorf, MDOctober 10, 2017
It has been a long time since I have worked there but friends and family discounts were great. Didn't like working on commission. Mangers were great and taught us a lot.
Pros
discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
champs day
Sales (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 9, 2017
poor management
stressful
poor hours
fun people
the job was not hard
helped me become a fast learner
i liked when it was busy because it gave me things to do
i liked working with the customers
Pros
nice people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace but low pay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 9, 2017
fun workplace environment, great benefits, need to change the compensation system, great discounts if you're really into shoes. Management can sometimes be difficult
Pros
discount, environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 8, 2017
helping others with their shopping needs... i learned about alot of different trends.. mangagement gave mw the opportunity to actually see the back side of things.. there was no hard oart about the job i love sports and shoes.
Pros
discounts
Cons
there were no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a nice place to work at
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  St Thomas, VIOctober 5, 2017
Getting to know new people is cool. Getting firat hand of the lastest street wear is also cool. Its just a cool job to work at of your young amd like the sneaker culture
Pros
lastest products
Cons
always standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced slow closing process
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma city, OkOctober 2, 2017
Champ Sports is definitely not a bad place to work for a high school student because they pay minimum wage, but they don't correlate too much for school goers sleeping hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 29, 2017
Well for starters its retail, so i don't know to many people who like working retail....But i loved that i could interact with customers and help them find exactly what they were looking for.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No lunches, Work 10-12 hours with no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARSeptember 29, 2017
Typical work day during the week was very laid back, mainly because the mall is not so busy Monday through Friday. However the weekends always consisted of the younger crowd over-populating the scene.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Woodland Hills, CASeptember 28, 2017
Champs is a fun place to work you get to meet different people everyday and give them your great customer service skills. You also get to know a little more about the customer by saleing them shoes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a enjoyable experience
Seasonal Employee, sales and stocking (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CASeptember 27, 2017
Poor management, rat race, poorly trained. Those are just some of the words I would use to describe my experience at Champ Sports. The manager I had the "Pleasure" of working with was just horrible. Hands he ruined my whole experience working at Champ Sports.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice environment to work inn.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Bossier City, LASeptember 26, 2017
Typical day at work consist of fixing items on the shelf and selling products to the customers. Management needs to upgraded severely, hours are not being delegated fairly or properly.
Pros
discount
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laxed
Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXSeptember 25, 2017
Pretty funny and chilled place to work, not many hours, but i enjoy my dicsounts and customer interaction. I live near and Air Force Base and University so we get a lot of diversity.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Shoe Shopping
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 24, 2017
Need a place to shop with unlimited shoes? Champs is the place to be. Associates work really hard to interact with customers to try and find the best shoe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced and fun work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCSeptember 22, 2017
I enjoyed working at Champs Sports due to the working environment being comfortable and relaxed. Made friends easily as well. Not all fun and games though, of course work needed to be done and you needed to bring your A game everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Champs was great. Great team family. Flexible hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Wales, PASeptember 20, 2017
Stay committed. Go into work with an open mind. Be willingly to get out of you shell. Have fun and make customers feel you are there specifically to help them.
Pros
Management. Hours. Team
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great set of workers, love listening to music and meeting new people.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PASeptember 19, 2017
Love the store in general. The competition made me thrive. Is a fun work place, get along with coworkers well. But hate the customers that come in. Great discounts and the manager is very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe heads apply
Stock Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 18, 2017
If you like to look nice while working and have a good time, this is a good job. mostly caters to high schoolers/college kids, but if youre able to get into management its alot more responsibility
Pros
Discount on nice shoes and clothes
Cons
very long hours during the holiday season
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NYSeptember 18, 2017
Great place. Great environment. Great people. Best working and personal experience in my life. Champs a second home to me, they have taught me so much about life and so much more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 18, 2017
Working at Champs is a very good learning experience for customer service. It is not a difficult job at all especially if it's your first job. I learned how to manage a store the correct way and how to deal with irate customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Champs Sports. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,117 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0