Find companies:
Champs Sports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
264 reviews

Champs Sports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, Not much room to think outside of the box
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Montclair, CANovember 2, 2013
Pros: great employee discounts.
Cons: long hours, cuts into work/life balance.
Rotating schedules, a lot of emphasis on selling and pushing certain items.
There are guidelines on how to do almost everything in a store, from setting up displays, manequins, folding clothes, to how to file away paper work.
Pretty fun job, but long hours for full-time employees especially during holiday time. Rarely get a weekend for yourself.
The – more... pay is decent and the commission is very helpful.
Some really good managers and some really poor managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Store manager (Former Employee), bay shore, nyOctober 28, 2013
Pros: discounts on almost every item in the store
Cons: health care
it a great place to work at if you like sports and the trend of sneakers`
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with great managers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Aventura, FLOctober 23, 2013
Pros: 50% off discount
Cons: short breaks, no benefits or paid sick days
A typical day at work is about making the daily goals, Also to build on commission for a better check.
What I've learned is how to make the customers your friend and care and provide every possible way to give what the customer needs through shipping or found orders if necessary.
The managers are very cool and understanding, They believe in pushing – more... everyone to become a better sales associate and customer service specialist.
Co-workers are very understanding and very competitive but in a friendly manner.
The hardest part is to meet my personal sales goals every month,
The most enjoyable part is to see a happy customer and to meet new people each and every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
selling merchandise for the everyday sports fan
Store Manager (Former Employee), State College PAOctober 15, 2013
hands on experience, floor and window display/set-up, sales, stylist,trend setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lakewood, CAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: good
Cons: good
Great first job. Learn my first understanding of how money work in a business. Was surrounded with great co workers. Having to come in to work was fun, i got to enjoy it. Great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working enviroment.
Sales Associate/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 10, 2013
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: short hours
Restocking of materials, Answer customer questions and resolved all other issues at the store. I learned more about my co-workers and customers. The hardest part of my day would be not able to meet the goal for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Seasonal Store Associate (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 8, 2013
would recommended this job unless you are a teen in high school living with your parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAOctober 3, 2013
My workday was pretty easy....Greeting customers and helping them with everything they needed ....putting new items on the floor and making sure our work area was always clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive time management and prioritized and organized all tasks and projects a long with providing world class customer service, maximizing sales
Store Manager (Current Employee), fort worthOctober 2, 2013
Pros: discount on merchandise but most of all meeting new people every day.
Cons: no work/home balance
Arrive to work two hours before opening to ensure all communication per company directive and visual merchandising has been followed 100%. Change and update all price adjustments, track day/day sales trends and forecast and adjust accordingly. Manage labor hours allowed vs. hours used wtd. Set daily sales goal for each associate scheduled fort that – more... day and prioritize and deligate task while maximixing sales. What I learned is that time management is very important and mananging the associates one on one seemed to work out very well due the fact that identifing different associates posess different capabilities and must be coached in different ways to maximize over all performance. As a leader you must lead by an example and set the standard and expectations. Once your emplyees see that you are willing to do the same work that your asking of the will have more respect for you and the work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Manager (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: fun friendly enviroment
Cons: weekends and holidays are spent at mall
Overall great workplace. Only draw back is always working weekends and holidays. But if you love selling and talking to people about sports and athletic gear its a great job for you. A typical day would include stocking and redoing the store and selling product to customers. The hardest part of job would just be keeping up with all the changes that – more... have to be done for visuals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wellington, FLSeptember 30, 2013
Stocked shoes, clothes and athletic wear. On the floor we would try to sell the most that we could and also we would get to meet some famous people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 20, 2013
helping customers find what they need and getting it to them when they need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Footwear and Apperal Sales
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Salinas, CASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: footwear and apperal discounts
Cons: 12 hour days with out leaving the store
Poor Management that handled certain things unprofessionally. Store was very dysfunctional when I arrived. Other than the management, the store had a team that was strongly motivated but were just not trained correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLAugust 30, 2013
It was a fun atmosphere, fast paced and busy. The customers were great and fun to service. I enjoyed seeing the new products we would get at the store and selling them to our customers. I especially enjoyed training and promoting my staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
PT sales associate (Former Employee), Danville, VAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: fun, easy, competitive, comfortable
Cons: not many hours, not very good pay, unprofessional
Champs Sports was my first job, and honestly I can say it was a learning experience. When I started working I got basic training, but there were a lot of things that I didn't learn as well. I was very eager to be involved with and apart of the company, but the environment was not professional. I was picked on by my manager and some co workers, I never – more... took it personal but it became entirely too persistent. There was also a lot of "he say, she say" gossip in the work place that I didn't like. I enjoyed learning how to become good at retail sales, and the competitive nature, and I can say that it payed off, and I would enjoy working in a retail costumer service environment, but I value a professional setting. This is not a rating as Champs Sports as a whole, but just of the people and management of one that I worked at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mainn Duties
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Coral Springs, FLAugust 25, 2013
•Selling
•Cashiering
•Assisting customers
•Meeting required ratios for shoe cleaners
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worklace
I was the assistant Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 22, 2013
Pros: vacation
Cons: no overtime
I have learned how to open and close the stores. Learning how to do the schedule and make sure that everybody had there assignment for the day. I trained with the company for months and months before doing everything on my own. The co workers was glad to see me succeed and trained the employees that was under me. The hardest part about the job was the – more... inventory part. The most enjoyable part of my job was that I got to trained the employees the right was and learned more from my boss – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first job experience.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Alton, ILAugust 16, 2013
Pros: 30% discount
Cons: salary
A fast paced work environment that helps strengthen social skills and build multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 14, 2013
I was a sales associate, and we sold mostly sports attire from shoes to clothes and other sport items.I provided customer service by greeting customers and assisting them. I helped to maintain the store by restocking the materials and items as needed. I worked really well with others, my co-workers and assistant managers and store manager were all very – more... helpful especially when a new product came out, they helped to make sure I was aware and knew about the item. A hard part of the job was making sure we tried to get close to our daily sale goal, which was kind of difficult since the economy isn't in its best state. However, it was nice to see returning customers and making sure they were satisfied with the items they had purchased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
also good training and busy enviorment
Sales Associate/CSR (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 8, 2013
Pros: training and meeting new people
Cons: management
learned about daily operations and my co-workers were fun to work with.

About Champs Sports

Champs Sports is one of the largest mall-based specialty athletic footwear and apparel retailers in North America. Its product – Read more