Champs Sports Employee Reviews in United States

Found 432 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun to work there
Sales Associate/Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYJuly 28, 2015
Handle customers as they walk in and try to get them to make a purchase. Check shoe sizes as well as apparel and make sure all customers on the sales floor are being helped.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun family environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  cary, ncJuly 24, 2015
Honestly your experience can depend on which store you work at, managers are either really cool or think they are sculpted from gold. The pay is really low, and the benefits are not worth the many hours you have to put in to make money to start off. Policies have changed significantly over the years so if you are looking for discounts this is not the company!
Pros
fun environment
Cons
discount policy, employees feel unimportant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 22, 2015
The Hardest Part Of My Job Working At Champs Sports Was Finding The Size Of A Shoe Because There Are Different Codes On The Shoes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJuly 22, 2015
Selling shoes in the type of environment I was in was kind of hard. Some days you would have those days where the store is extremely busy for examples around school time and holidays and other days the store is slow and hours are cut.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose CAJuly 21, 2015
No growth, no work life balance, management butted heads a lot. Lack of communications with district manager and store manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2015
Working at Chaps Sports gives the opportunity to experience different people reactions. Being prepared what to expect in the long run, and to not be intimated by someone if they react in an uninformed manner. Besides that the team that worked with me were very outgoing. They know the pros and cons of communication and costumer service. They were more than nice to teach them to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2015
fun job to start learn sales tips cashier use teamwork effort learned customer service always met quotas some customer very rude disrespectful
Pros
good teaching tips
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't full time.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 14, 2015
Champs was my favorite job hands down! The people I worked with were like family. But once again my district manager did not believe in me and wouldn't give me a chance for full time. I would have stayed and possibly still been there if I had got my shot.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2015
My favorite part was working at the cash register , & interacting with new people everyday. i learned so many things about people countries that i never knew
Pros
discount on sneakers
Cons
not much of cons
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, stealing of sales when customer goes to cashier, lack of hours.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2015
The discount benefits when purchasing merchandise was phenomenal. The pay is below minimum wage but their is commission.
Pros
The discount
Cons
Everything besides the discount.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping the public
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 8, 2015
it was satisfying selling merchandise to all types of athletic enthusiasts.it was great to see a smile on the kids who came into the store to get fitted for a new baseball, basketball and soccer uniforms.
Pros
helping the public
Cons
denying return merchandise
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Farmington, CTJuly 6, 2015
Working at champs is fun i love meeting new people everyday and being able to help people pick things out that they would love to wear
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace with fun staff
Cashier/Sales Assc (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 6, 2015
Fun workplace with a great staff. Not all about the numbers(even though its effective; big deal) but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics but expected this is expected out of a big company/corporation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for college student
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2015
As a college student they work with you and your school schedule and the job doesn't stress you out like other work places may.
Pros
friendly environement, great job for college student
Cons
low commission
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
cashier (Former Employee) –  new yorkJuly 6, 2015
Great company room for growth
Get promoted easily if your focused
Decent pay
a lot hours if your a great worker
Flexible sch
Pros
30% discount
Cons
seniority for jordans
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the discount!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 2, 2015
Working here, i was still in high school and pregnant. It was a nice part time job. I loved the discount because i love shoes! I loved my co workers. They were very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but not make a career out of.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 2, 2015
Typical day would be selling clothes and shoes to customers. making sure the showroom was clean and all product was folded and maintained properly
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am only leaving Champs cause I have to move back home for the summer
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TxJuly 1, 2015
Champs was an overall good working experience for me I was able to assist any customer with any concerns they had for their purchases.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Wanted more work hours on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shoe place
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa MonicaJuly 1, 2015
Its a good job.. get paid every week and it always fun to work
at a place when you like shoes and just sport apparel in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 25, 2015
sold shoes
worked with a group that had a lot of passion for what they do
gained sales experience and knowledge
learned more inside the programs ran in the store
marketing potential
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 460 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture