Chanel Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company.
Sales Vendor (Current Employee) –  Montclair, CAAugust 22, 2017
Wonderful fragrances very elegant and classy timeless classic.
Great staff to work with challenging at times but always evens it self out.
Works well as a second job.
Pros
Great events.
Cons
Not many hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so far so good
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2017
Such a wonderful experience working for such a beautiful and reputable fashion house. The product is amazing and the people are great too. So much to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Shoe Specialist (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJAugust 8, 2017
working customers;
product knowledge;
sales and sales contact; and reaching weekly sales goals;
most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers
Pros
hours
Cons
working Sunday(s)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced,Multi-task environment
Counter Manager, Dillard's Memorial City (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2017
It is a nice company to work for with sophisticated clientele. Multi-tasking and the ability to be a makeup artist are required. Must be able to stand for long period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invaluable experience, no room for growth
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2017
Invaluable experience, however, no room for growth due to company reorganization. President is trying to change company culture which is great because it can be a bit stuffy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
OPERATIONS ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Bal Harbour, FLJuly 16, 2017
Great company. amazing history and heritage
- top notch training really gives you a full understanding and deep appreciation of the brand
- great employee discounts
- great work/life balance
- generally nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJuly 11, 2017
It was a fun atmosphere the people that work there are very caring and sweet, whenever anybody gets sick you would always find someone to cover your shift
Pros
Pay was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Executive Assistant / Chief Financial Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2017
This was a fun environment that had great mentors and it was great that we were able to purchase product at a discount and they provided many incentives to do well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and educational
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 21, 2017
Leaders are very hands on with your learning experience, everyone is professional and friendly. They are extremely controlling with personal appearances... short nails only in chanel polish hair must be pinned back, natural hair colors only ,chanel makeup only.
Pros
gratis, classes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definition of elegance, a highend working expieriances everyone should encounter
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMay 9, 2017
As an assistant you are able to take part in and learn all aspects of this business. Typlcal day checking in new product, ensuring the presentation of the floor is emaculate and supporting the selling efforts of the associates from back to front./ inside and out..
The management crew are all supportive regardless the task. The most enjoyable was the extremely close relationship the president had with the boutiques. The hardest part to fhe job was not to spend my paycheck on all the beautiful merchandise.
Pros
Management team was looked after by given a monthly allowence
Cons
Limited, exclusive product hindered sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing parisian house of couture
JEWELRY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 4, 2017
Learned so much about the brand and history both within fashion and fine jewelry. Truly represents craftsmanship and artistry naturally being transferred onto the sales floor through learned training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worth your time
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  harvey nicholsApril 19, 2017
as a company Chanel is the top.
the best products, training and work culture
wonderful co workers and best practice hiring
counter top sales structured to assist with sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non supportive, non mentoring, no structure
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2017
Chanel is a great company to work for if you are a lover of history, and luxury. I personally love the story of Mademoiselle Coco, this strong woman inspires and gives you a sense of pride to work for a company built by such a fierce woman with amazing vision.

The product line is pure luxury and has customer loyalty, like no other. Every woman wants a piece of Chanel:). The unfortunate thing is that those that run the company don't look to develop and mentor loyal and productive team members. This breeds frustration and loss of key talents to other brands that appreciate a desire to growth.
Pros
history, quality of product
Cons
culture not supportive, lack of mentoring, no growth opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful Company, Fantastic Boss, beautiful products!
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2017
This is fun job, hard work and sometimes very long hours, but also very rewarding! It helps if you know something about artistry and truly enjoy people.
Pros
Best products and fragrances, fun people
Cons
can be very hard work and long hours, work nights, holidays, weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work hard and are rewarded for all our efforts! loved loved
Fashion Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 3, 2016
It was an amazing company to work for and I wish I could have continued my employment there; however, I am going through a divorce and had to relocate to orange county. I enjoyed working in high end luxury goods. My coworkers and mangers were especially influential to my success at the company.
Pros
Great benefits, good discounts, free make-up samples
Cons
long hours and short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Leadership and excellent Communication Skills
Global Planning manager (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJOctober 31, 2016
Excellent. 34 years until Manufacturing Operation moved to France.
Plan, execute Master Schedule. Interface with Management, France Global Supply Chain and Chanel Management.
Pros
Supportive Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional inviroment, fast paced, benefits
Makeup Artist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  VirginiaSeptember 8, 2016
I really liked my full/part time co workers they were helpful and team players.
There was a sale goal every day that had to be achieved.
It was Very busy around noon and especially weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Ultimate House of Luxury
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 30, 2016
Typical day at work: Fast paced.
What I learned: Don't trust the French.
Management: A great team:
My co-workers: The best in the world.
Hardest part of my job: Too many people with their hair on fire.
Most enjoyable part of my job: Seeing a great plan succeed.
Pros
Flat organizational structure.
Cons
Too many functional silos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive.
Beauty Expert (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2016
As a member of the traveling team of freelance makeup artists i learned how to assist and follow Chanel protocol. I worked alongside the National Makeup artist and assisted in reaching event goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
products sold themselves with no push
Lancome Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 22, 2016
great days with huge sales
products sold themselves
management could have been better.
coworkers were awesome
slow days were the hardest
enjoyable days were meeting clients needs
Pros
great customers
Cons
slow business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport