Chanel Employee Reviews

Found 68 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Executive Assistant / Chief Financial Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2017
This was a fun environment that had great mentors and it was great that we were able to purchase product at a discount and they provided many incentives to do well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and educational
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 21, 2017
Leaders are very hands on with your learning experience, everyone is professional and friendly. They are extremely controlling with personal appearances... short nails only in chanel polish hair must be pinned back, natural hair colors only ,chanel makeup only.
Pros
gratis, classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definition of elegance, a highend working expieriances everyone should encounter
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMay 9, 2017
As an assistant you are able to take part in and learn all aspects of this business. Typlcal day checking in new product, ensuring the presentation of the floor is emaculate and supporting the selling efforts of the associates from back to front./ inside and out..
The management crew are all supportive regardless the task. The most enjoyable was the extremely close relationship the president had with the boutiques. The hardest part to fhe job was not to spend my paycheck on all the beautiful merchandise.
Pros
Management team was looked after by given a monthly allowence
Cons
Limited, exclusive product hindered sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing parisian house of couture
JEWELRY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 4, 2017
Learned so much about the brand and history both within fashion and fine jewelry. Truly represents craftsmanship and artistry naturally being transferred onto the sales floor through learned training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worth your time
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  harvey nicholsApril 19, 2017
as a company Chanel is the top.
the best products, training and work culture
wonderful co workers and best practice hiring
counter top sales structured to assist with sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non supportive, non mentoring, no structure
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2017
Chanel is a great company to work for if you are a lover of history, and luxury. I personally love the story of Mademoiselle Coco, this strong woman inspires and gives you a sense of pride to work for a company built by such a fierce woman with amazing vision.

The product line is pure luxury and has customer loyalty, like no other. Every woman wants a piece of Chanel:). The unfortunate thing is that those that run the company don't look to develop and mentor loyal and productive team members. This breeds frustration and loss of key talents to other brands that appreciate a desire to growth.
Pros
history, quality of product
Cons
culture not supportive, lack of mentoring, no growth opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful Company, Fantastic Boss, beautiful products!
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 13, 2017
This is fun job, hard work and sometimes very long hours, but also very rewarding! It helps if you know something about artistry and truly enjoy people.
Pros
Best products and fragrances, fun people
Cons
can be very hard work and long hours, work nights, holidays, weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work hard and are rewarded for all our efforts! loved loved
Fashion Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 3, 2016
It was an amazing company to work for and I wish I could have continued my employment there; however, I am going through a divorce and had to relocate to orange county. I enjoyed working in high end luxury goods. My coworkers and mangers were especially influential to my success at the company.
Pros
Great benefits, good discounts, free make-up samples
Cons
long hours and short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Leadership and excellent Communication Skills
Global Planning manager (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJOctober 31, 2016
Excellent. 34 years until Manufacturing Operation moved to France.
Plan, execute Master Schedule. Interface with Management, France Global Supply Chain and Chanel Management.
Pros
Supportive Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional inviroment, fast paced, benefits
Makeup Artist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  VirginiaSeptember 8, 2016
I really liked my full/part time co workers they were helpful and team players.
There was a sale goal every day that had to be achieved.
It was Very busy around noon and especially weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Ultimate House of Luxury
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 30, 2016
Typical day at work: Fast paced.
What I learned: Don't trust the French.
Management: A great team:
My co-workers: The best in the world.
Hardest part of my job: Too many people with their hair on fire.
Most enjoyable part of my job: Seeing a great plan succeed.
Pros
Flat organizational structure.
Cons
Too many functional silos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive.
Beauty Expert (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2016
As a member of the traveling team of freelance makeup artists i learned how to assist and follow Chanel protocol. I worked alongside the National Makeup artist and assisted in reaching event goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
products sold themselves with no push
Lancome Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 22, 2016
great days with huge sales
products sold themselves
management could have been better.
coworkers were awesome
slow days were the hardest
enjoyable days were meeting clients needs
Pros
great customers
Cons
slow business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Wertheimer family is focused on developing & growing Gabrielle's legacy.
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJuly 23, 2016
I was a territory manager for the Chanel Cosmetic brand within Tennessee for 9 years. The success, passion and loyalty of the Beauty Advisors that worked at the following retailers: Nordstrom, Dillards, Macys & Belk stood out from all other cosmetic brands. These sales associates had an extensive knowledge of Gabrielle Chanel's vision and commitment to excellence. Because of their elevated sales results they were highly sought after by the competition.

I have since left CHANEL, the main reason was due to the lack of support from the New York Office. Often there was no clear communication or direction from upper management. Our National meetings (held once every 6 months) was the only time we received important product information.
Only if you asked questions did you show-up on upper managements radar. Unfortunately, this also meant you were questioning the status quo. This was not looked upon favorably.
Pros
Brand heritage and customer awareness.
Cons
Lack of communication & support at field sales level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment to play with cosmetics.
BEAUTY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJuly 18, 2016
I had a great time working with my co-workers. We all helped each other with anything. We worked as a team to make a lot of sales. I had an ok experience with management. The management was not professional and disorganized.
Pros
Great brand!
Cons
Management was a mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment in fashion very slow in fine jewelry and watches
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 16, 2016
The fashion side of Chanel was a fast paced work environment bringing a lot of people into the store. Unfortunately, the watch and fine jewelry department was not as busy.
Pros
Great company with wonderful history
Cons
Not busy enough and not enough interest in the product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Knowledge
Chanel cosmetics skin care specialist (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 28, 2016
Product Knowledge
Working with different people all the time.
Time Management
I worked well with my co-wokers and learned from them daily
Standing all the time.
Working with people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great team
Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2016
-Loved the team
-Management was great
-Decent hours
-Motivated team members
-Weekly meetings kept everyone informed and on track
Pros
Great management team, great team dynamic, high morale
Cons
Always working weekends, no compensation for interns, competitive selling environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2016
good place to work and grow experience. very fast peace but everyone enjoy their work. the hardest part of the work is we travelled a lot. so dont really hv personal life. bur after awhile, i found a way to balance the personal life and work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR Freelance (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 2, 2016
Work mostly weekend and holidays. Fun atmosphere. Meet great people. This is a great job for part time work because hours are limited. Account Executive are wonderful and get a lot of training to help you in the field for the future.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Work mostly weekend and holiday. limited hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chanel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 158 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2