Chanel Employee Reviews

Found 61 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We work hard and are rewarded for all our efforts! loved loved
Fashion Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 3, 2016
It was an amazing company to work for and I wish I could have continued my employment there; however, I am going through a divorce and had to relocate to orange county. I enjoyed working in high end luxury goods. My coworkers and mangers were especially influential to my success at the company.
Pros
Great benefits, good discounts, free make-up samples
Cons
long hours and short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great team
Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2016
-Loved the team
-Management was great
-Decent hours
-Motivated team members
-Weekly meetings kept everyone informed and on track
Pros
Great management team, great team dynamic, high morale
Cons
Always working weekends, no compensation for interns, competitive selling environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Wertheimer family is focused on developing & growing Gabrielle's legacy.
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJuly 23, 2016
I was a territory manager for the Chanel Cosmetic brand within Tennessee for 9 years. The success, passion and loyalty of the Beauty Advisors that worked at the following retailers: Nordstrom, Dillards, Macys & Belk stood out from all other cosmetic brands. These sales associates had an extensive knowledge of Gabrielle Chanel's vision and commitment to excellence. Because of their elevated sales results they were highly sought after by the competition.

I have since left CHANEL, the main reason was due to the lack of support from the New York Office. Often there was no clear communication or direction from upper management. Our National meetings (held once every 6 months) was the only time we received important product information.
Only if you asked questions did you show-up on upper managements radar. Unfortunately, this also meant you were questioning the status quo. This was not looked upon favorably.
Pros
Brand heritage and customer awareness.
Cons
Lack of communication & support at field sales level.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Ultimate House of Luxury
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 30, 2016
Typical day at work: Fast paced.
What I learned: Don't trust the French.
Management: A great team:
My co-workers: The best in the world.
Hardest part of my job: Too many people with their hair on fire.
Most enjoyable part of my job: Seeing a great plan succeed.
Pros
Flat organizational structure.
Cons
Too many functional silos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Leadership and excellent Communication Skills
Global Planning manager (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJOctober 31, 2016
Excellent. 34 years until Manufacturing Operation moved to France.
Plan, execute Master Schedule. Interface with Management, France Global Supply Chain and Chanel Management.
Pros
Supportive Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
products sold themselves with no push
Lancome Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 22, 2016
great days with huge sales
products sold themselves
management could have been better.
coworkers were awesome
slow days were the hardest
enjoyable days were meeting clients needs
Pros
great customers
Cons
slow business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment to play with cosmetics.
BEAUTY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJuly 18, 2016
I had a great time working with my co-workers. We all helped each other with anything. We worked as a team to make a lot of sales. I had an ok experience with management. The management was not professional and disorganized.
Pros
Great brand!
Cons
Management was a mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Knowledge
Chanel cosmetics skin care specialist (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 28, 2016
Product Knowledge
Working with different people all the time.
Time Management
I worked well with my co-wokers and learned from them daily
Standing all the time.
Working with people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied
Sr. Cognos Consultant (Current Employee) –  New JerseyFebruary 9, 2016
Great organisation to work for including culture, life balance and management. Highly recommended to work for this company. Lot of room to learn new Tech.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional inviroment, fast paced, benefits
Makeup Artist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  VirginiaSeptember 8, 2016
I really liked my full/part time co workers they were helpful and team players.
There was a sale goal every day that had to be achieved.
It was Very busy around noon and especially weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Chanel?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment in fashion very slow in fine jewelry and watches
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 16, 2016
The fashion side of Chanel was a fast paced work environment bringing a lot of people into the store. Unfortunately, the watch and fine jewelry department was not as busy.
Pros
Great company with wonderful history
Cons
Not busy enough and not enough interest in the product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive.
Beauty Expert (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2016
As a member of the traveling team of freelance makeup artists i learned how to assist and follow Chanel protocol. I worked alongside the National Makeup artist and assisted in reaching event goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR Freelance (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 2, 2016
Work mostly weekend and holidays. Fun atmosphere. Meet great people. This is a great job for part time work because hours are limited. Account Executive are wonderful and get a lot of training to help you in the field for the future.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Work mostly weekend and holiday. limited hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 26, 2015
I spend a typical day keeping my area up to standards and helping clients with purchases. Management only gets involved when necessary. The most difficult part of the job is dealing with co-workers that aren't team players. The most enjoyable part of the job is maintaining relationships with clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and glamorous
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJAugust 14, 2012
•Communicating the unique benefits of CHANEL skincare and color products
•Increasing sales through demonstration
•Building the CHANEL customer circle by establishing a relationship with new customers
•Consistently being aware of competitive products, events and traffic
•Good relationship management skills and natural problem solver
Pros
everything
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2016
good place to work and grow experience. very fast peace but everyone enjoy their work. the hardest part of the work is we travelled a lot. so dont really hv personal life. bur after awhile, i found a way to balance the personal life and work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chanel is a good company that I had the luxury to work for and I have learned a lot from co-workers and management.
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Piscataway, NJFebruary 8, 2016
A typical day at work is being a team player and servicing my customers while at the same time maintaining Chanel's Credibility and Brand. I learned to be a team player and recognize that my job is part of the bigger operation. All details matter.
Pros
Kind co-workers and lunch company.
Cons
a few toxic co-workers who put a damper on my day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chanel
Freelance Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 29, 2013
I enjoyed working for Chanel when I was in high school and after I graduated. I gained sales experience which built a foundation for me to sale based on features and benefits of the products.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Upward mobility and promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a lot of different personalities to learn from
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2016
Working for Chanel was an awesome experience. I worked in the Bloomingdales location on lexington avenue. My co-workers made the hours fly by and there was always something new to learn. Had to keep all areas cleansed and sanitized as well as the MUA brushes. Stocking and being responsible of inventory helped me learn more about the products Chanel sold.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each department worked seperately. Most were not team players. Lots of tension between supervisors.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2015
I loved my job! I was happy with co-workers, just wished they would stop fighting with each other. It created an uncomfortable environment.
Pros
Great food during executive meetings.
Cons
wish co-workers were nice to each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chanel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 136 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3