Chanel Employee Reviews in United States

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive.
Beauty Expert (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2016
As a member of the traveling team of freelance makeup artists i learned how to assist and follow Chanel protocol. I worked alongside the National Makeup artist and assisted in reaching event goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
products sold themselves with no push
Lancome Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 22, 2016
great days with huge sales
products sold themselves
management could have been better.
coworkers were awesome
slow days were the hardest
enjoyable days were meeting clients needs
Pros
great customers
Cons
slow business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Wertheimer family is focused on developing & growing Gabrielle's legacy.
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJuly 23, 2016
I was a territory manager for the Chanel Cosmetic brand within Tennessee for 9 years. The success, passion and loyalty of the Beauty Advisors that worked at the following retailers: Nordstrom, Dillards, Macys & Belk stood out from all other cosmetic brands. These sales associates had an extensive knowledge of Gabrielle Chanel's vision and commitment to excellence. Because of their elevated sales results they were highly sought after by the competition.

I have since left CHANEL, the main reason was due to the lack of support from the New York Office. Often there was no clear communication or direction from upper management. Our National meetings (held once every 6 months) was the only time we received important product information.
Only if you asked questions did you show-up on upper managements radar. Unfortunately, this also meant you were questioning the status quo. This was not looked upon favorably.
Pros
Brand heritage and customer awareness.
Cons
Lack of communication & support at field sales level.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment to play with cosmetics.
BEAUTY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJuly 18, 2016
I had a great time working with my co-workers. We all helped each other with anything. We worked as a team to make a lot of sales. I had an ok experience with management. The management was not professional and disorganized.
Pros
Great brand!
Cons
Management was a mess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment in fashion very slow in fine jewelry and watches
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 16, 2016
The fashion side of Chanel was a fast paced work environment bringing a lot of people into the store. Unfortunately, the watch and fine jewelry department was not as busy.
Pros
Great company with wonderful history
Cons
Not busy enough and not enough interest in the product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Knowledge
Chanel cosmetics skin care specialist (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 28, 2016
Product Knowledge
Working with different people all the time.
Time Management
I worked well with my co-wokers and learned from them daily
Standing all the time.
Working with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great team
Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2016
-Loved the team
-Management was great
-Decent hours
-Motivated team members
-Weekly meetings kept everyone informed and on track
Pros
Great management team, great team dynamic, high morale
Cons
Always working weekends, no compensation for interns, competitive selling environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2016
good place to work and grow experience. very fast peace but everyone enjoy their work. the hardest part of the work is we travelled a lot. so dont really hv personal life. bur after awhile, i found a way to balance the personal life and work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR Freelance (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 2, 2016
Work mostly weekend and holidays. Fun atmosphere. Meet great people. This is a great job for part time work because hours are limited. Account Executive are wonderful and get a lot of training to help you in the field for the future.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Work mostly weekend and holiday. limited hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied
Sr. Cognos Consultant (Current Employee) –  New JerseyFebruary 9, 2016
Great organisation to work for including culture, life balance and management. Highly recommended to work for this company. Lot of room to learn new Tech.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chanel is a good company that I had the luxury to work for and I have learned a lot from co-workers and management.
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Piscataway, NJFebruary 8, 2016
A typical day at work is being a team player and servicing my customers while at the same time maintaining Chanel's Credibility and Brand. I learned to be a team player and recognize that my job is part of the bigger operation. All details matter.
Pros
Kind co-workers and lunch company.
Cons
a few toxic co-workers who put a damper on my day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, CAJanuary 28, 2016
Working at Chanel taught me a lot about the difference between customer service and clientele. Overall it was a very fun and exciting place to work at.
Pros
Met great people
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a lot of different personalities to learn from
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2016
Working for Chanel was an awesome experience. I worked in the Bloomingdales location on lexington avenue. My co-workers made the hours fly by and there was always something new to learn. Had to keep all areas cleansed and sanitized as well as the MUA brushes. Stocking and being responsible of inventory helped me learn more about the products Chanel sold.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 26, 2015
I spend a typical day keeping my area up to standards and helping clients with purchases. Management only gets involved when necessary. The most difficult part of the job is dealing with co-workers that aren't team players. The most enjoyable part of the job is maintaining relationships with clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each department worked seperately. Most were not team players. Lots of tension between supervisors.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2015
I loved my job! I was happy with co-workers, just wished they would stop fighting with each other. It created an uncomfortable environment.
Pros
Great food during executive meetings.
Cons
wish co-workers were nice to each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
FASHION ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2015
Difficult work but very rewarding. You have to live up to the Chanel reputation and make sure to make goals but definitely a rewarding job! If you are someone who love challenges, definitely a place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and productive workplace on high fashion.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 27, 2015
The employees are great, which creates an amazing team. They have a lot of knowledge on all the products, along with other brand products to help with the comparison and customers wavering decisions.
Pros
Caring
Cons
Holiday season
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best experience ever
Stagier (Former Employee) –  Barcelona, CTAugust 26, 2015
This company take a lot of care of their employers. I had a lot of masterclass to know the brand better and the luxury world. Friendly managers and team
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and luxurious cosmetic line with quality all around.
Beauty Artist - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Rancho CucamongaJuly 23, 2015
The name speaks for itself. Chanel is the most luxurious line and professional cosmetic line to work for. You not only feel like you're being hoenst with the client, but your being honest to the line by 100% supporting the quality you are selling.
Pros
Quality of service and product, school training, gratis, etc.
Cons
Really don't have any Cons about this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great placed to work.
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Miami,FlJuly 16, 2015
Fun work place to work. Very friendly and supportive management as well as other employees. If you like make up and trend savvy join them. Frequent National Make Up Artist events. You just have fun when ever you work there.
Pros
It Is really an amazing company to work for.
Cons
None that I can think of right out the bat.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3