Find companies:
Chanel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

Chanel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Fashion Public Relations Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 3, 2013
Typical day at work:

-Usually would work along the side of the social media coordinator finding articles via websites & blogs in relation to company
-Assisted at fashion events
-Helped with sample send outs & returns to various photo shoots
-Helped work on presentations
-Executive requests
-Update media lists

What I learned:
-The importance of social – more... media in promoting a positive image for a company
-How there is a great deal of preparation that goes in to preparing for fashion events

Management:
-Supervisors were excellent & always willing to help

Co-Workers:
-Other fashion PR interns were very pleasant to work with

Hardest Part of Internship:
-Making sure all samples were submitted to the right photo shoot & making sure all the samples used in photo shoots were returned back to Chanel

Most Enjoyable Part of Job:
-Working in a fun atmosphere
-Having supervisors that were more than willing to help if needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced easy money
FRAGRANCE FREELANCE MODEL CHANEL FRAGRANCES (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 13, 2012
loved it there was fun and made easy money... great people to work with. great commission great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best
Sales Associate Manager (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLNovember 28, 2012
Pros: very well remunerate
One of the best companies , best paid wonderful rep comunication very pleasant enviroment grate insurance very oriented costumer service,best make-up and skin treatment,elegant , good prices fun work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Management and Team
Sales, Demos, Product Knowledge (Current Employee), Inland Empire/ Los AngelesOctober 29, 2012
Pros: management/employees/organization skills
Cons: agency payroll
Typical day can range from sales, educational classes, coordinating events and demonstrating products on the clients

I have learned all aspects of the cosmetic field and gained a lot of experience from management

Co workers are helpful, fun and passionate

Everything is enjoyable about this job when you have a passion for it and the company is great – more... to you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and glamorous
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Rockaway, NJAugust 14, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: short breaks
•Communicating the unique benefits of CHANEL skincare and color products
•Increasing sales through demonstration
•Building the CHANEL customer circle by establishing a relationship with new customers
•Consistently being aware of competitive products, events and traffic
•Good relationship management skills and natural problem solver
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's no place like Chanel
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 15, 2012
Pros: chanel name, products, great place to work
Cons: the chanel name
Big fashion name, beautiful products, global, great people, industry leader,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic employer, great work training, and I love my co-workers and employees.
Business Manager (Current Employee), Eatontown, NJMay 29, 2012
A typical day begins with checking and recording business figures from the previous day, setting goals for my associates, and making sure I follow through with contacting clients to thank them for their purchases and make sure they know I appreciate their business. The best part of my job is when a client arrives to the CHANEL counter not feeling that – more... she looks her best, but leaves with a smile, walking tall and confident. I also enjoy searching for, securing and executing outside events that bring our business additional revenue in an out of the box scenario. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Make-Up Specialist (Current Employee), LondonOctober 21, 2014
Client service and selling, providing outstanding service by identifying client needs as well as applying expert makeovers
Continuously drive optimum levels of activity in store
Technical skills and administration, assist with continuous monitoring of business as well as appropriate analysis of results, to recognise areas of growth and opportunity, – more... to build and impact business overall
Reporting low stock levels to counter manager in order to maintain healthy stock holding
Always up selling to existing clients
Maintain healthy relationships with clients by putting them on our CRM database
Achieving weekly and monthly performance targets
Appropriate and effective liaison with Regional development manager, head office as well as colleges and store personnel
Being confident to present and deliver one on one consultations, also re booking clients to build strong relationships
Demonstration enthusiasm for selling, flair for the products and excitement to provide client satisfaction
Organizing successful in store events – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Team Member Sales Consultant (Former Employee), London, ENG HarrodsSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: lovely products, fun training, good team to work with and good company to work for.
Cons: harrods is very strict. also this job is shift work.
A great company to work for. Outstanding training sessions. Beautiful products. Great team to work with and management were approachable and friendly. Very strict on standards but that's not really a bad thing. A company that most past employees would return to. Proud to own my Chanel broaches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chanel
Marketing Department Internship (Former Employee), InternshipAugust 19, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: long hours
I was required to take on the role of Assistant Marketing Manager for the entire duration of my internship due to staff changes within the business. I was responsible for managing the CRM database, and overseeing the supplier invoice and payment process. I liaised with stores on sample requests and supervised the store visual merchandising of beauty – more... and fragrance products. I helped prepare and present briefs designed to target external retail buyers on new Chanel collections, and was solely responsible for various other research presentations, including price comparisons between Mexico and France, and Chanel competitor research. I presented all research projects to the marketing and communications team alone. I took part in the organization and management of store product promotion events, and managed the related social media and online marketing. I was also involved in the planning of a Mexico City pop-up store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junior Accountant
Junior Accountant (Former Employee), ParisJune 5, 2014
Accounting entry of supplier invoices into SAP software
Imputation and analytical accounting of overheads
entry and accounting of purchased stored
Disbursement accounts (weekly statement)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Public Relations Department (Former Employee), Madrid, MDFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: nice team
You learn from the best
You know the products
They take care of you, they teach you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glamorous and fun to work.
Temporary Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: high heels all the time.
I loved work at Chanel, I have learned so much about beauty make up and sink care, that I now find very useful on my day to day life,
I have also learned how to speak to the clients properly and deliver a excellent high standard customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful but good progression
consultant (Former Employee), united kingdomDecember 12, 2013
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
The good points -
Busy most of the time
good progression and opportunities
Incredible training
Amazing products
Customers

The bad points -
Very stressful and management encourage a stressful environment
Lowest salary in all companies
Never focus on good points, negatives on all performance highlighted
Very little support for team
Team members are encouraged – more... to push against each other
uniform is cheap and tacky – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, interesting and wealthy.
Salesperson (Former Employee), London, ENGSeptember 5, 2013
- work in team
- face to different culture
- face to different management
- deal with the diversity of clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Fragrance Specialist and Make up Artist
FRAGRANCE SPECIALIST/EVENTS COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 20, 2013
I set my own hours, so I would have a 6 hour window to fill with in a day...I would go in when I felt I was at my best...not go in and get it over with...I looked forward to my day..meeting people, working with the staff and reaching my sales target ensuring that I did my best and that my customers were happy and satisfied with there purchases.

I hate – more... great co-workers...I believe that you create the atmosphere you want around you.

The hardest part of the job was in the slow times..like after Christmas or the beginning of the back to school season when people were scarce due to the high output of their expenses at the time.

The most rewarding and enjoyable part of my job was the repeat customers and their friends they would add to my long list of happy satisfied customers. I enjoyed seeing them often and seeing their family grow up and the respect and care I showed them came back 100 fold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee), IPSWICHAugust 5, 2013
Pros: training and delivery of service
Accomplished account manager working in Debenhams Ipswich for seven years within the retail sector. Delivery of sales and luxury service are key within my role. An eye for detail and maintaining the highest standards while working with the public to maintain brand image at all times. As an account manager I am responsible for the motivation of my team – more... to maximise sales opportunities for my account.

There are many aspects to the role which include:
• Training and coaching
• Reporting sales information
• Calculation of sales targets and productivity
• Cash handling
• Development of team to maximise sales opportunities
• Administration
• Visual impact of sales area
• Organisation and communication
• Building relationships with internal and external client
• Attending regular training and conferences – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Work Environment
Stock Manager (Former Employee), LondonMay 10, 2013
Had a great professional and personal experience working for this fantastic company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is different
skincare specialist (Current Employee), bluewaterApril 13, 2013
Pros: working with amazing high end products and fantastic training
Cons: long unsociable hours on your feet all day
a typical day starts at 10am till 6 30pm or 12 30pm till 9 00pm.
during my day i meet many members of the public. helping them to chose the correct skincare and make up products to suit their needs, its a very enjoyable job, meeting different people , every one is so different, i have to be a good listener, have good customer service skils, and a sense – more... of humour!

good management is key to the daily routine and acheiving the set targets.

the working environment is a hardworking ethic but with a great sense of fun and a great bunch of co-.workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and never boring
Security supervisor (Former Employee), ParisDecember 17, 2012
Pros: good salary
Cons: long hours
I was in charge of the store in the Galerie Lafayette Chanel store in Paris ( 12 hours per day or 14 ) and the society let me deal with the security. When I was working there I opened the store, checked every safety alarm on every product in display,waited for the sellers and control the people waiting outside the store and checked the customer inside. – more... I have learned a lot, about self control,self management,crowd control,team work (with the sellers)...
The hardest part of the job was to be polite with the people waiting to go in and control and served the customer inside.
The most enjoyable part was to work in a Luxury store and be able to share and be part of this world.
I was the supervisor of 30 men during the fashion show in Paris. – less

About Chanel

Chanel S.A. is a high fashion brand that specializes in haute couture and ready-to-wear clothes, luxury goods and fashion accessories. Chanel – Read more

Chanel Photos