Chapin Manufacturing, Inc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJanuary 2, 2018
A typical day at chapin as a material handler can be stressful. I learned how to adapt to the environment and constant demand of material to the production lines and found this company one of the best places ive worked in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational and fun. No ping pong table
Assembler (Former Employee) –  700 Ellicot St Batavia NyJuly 14, 2017
Awesone it was a great place to be. If my transportation was still available I would have remain at Chapin Mfg. No transportation to get back and fourty to Batavia.
Pros
3 brakes
Cons
sometimes hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO technique is slash and burn
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJuly 14, 2017
CEO hires for a specific tack, once you are used up you are no longer required. This has become a tradition with the current CEO.

There is a very high turn over rate.
Pros
stressfull management style
Cons
professionals don't stay there very long
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Corprate employee (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYMarch 16, 2017
Absolutely terrible place, they will work you to death, no work life balance. No loyalty twards employees.New employees recieve minimal to no training, get tossed on a line and eventually get "walked out" because they didnt know what they were doing. Constant turn over resulting in low quality product..the boxes say made in america but is assembled with chineese junk. Basically a horrable place to work!! 90% of the people are waiting/looking for a different job.
Pros
A few decent people
Cons
Horrable treatment by management. Constant turn over, lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
companies slave (Former Employee) –  Batavia nyApril 11, 2015
This is a corrupt company that displays favoritism and bias at every chance given. The "union employees" are treated like dirt by the company. The union is useless at best. They do nothing to protect workers. "advancement opportunities" they tell you. They do not say if you advance and they weaned somebody else in the position then prepare to be written up and eventually fired so they can put someone else in there they want. This company is a joke. Avoid it at all costs. Supervisors who refuse to hassle employees without cause are terminated because "they don't know what they are doing". The stress and hostile work environment is definitely not worth the compensation.
Pros
none
Cons
unprofessional and bias
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Administrative experience
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYSeptember 25, 2014
Good benefits, matching 401K, generous vacation/personal time, extra time off during summer months, screenings, fun activities.” –
Cons
Lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal, good company. No surprises.
Buyer/Planner (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYApril 24, 2013
Required to work some Saturdays with no compensation. Work is pretty easy. Kind of old fashioned company in values, culture and technology. As in most mid-size companies there are some "political" games played.
Pros
fair pay and benefits for the work i'm asked to do.
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has longevity!
Logistics Administrator (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYJanuary 26, 2013
The company has been in business for over 125 years. I have learned to run my department flawlessly with little or no supervision or support from higher level management. The hardest part of the job is meeting month end sales goals, because typically sales doesn't make their push until the last day, making it very difficult. Many overtime hours are spent trying to prepare for their lack of preparation. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people to my side, and below me. I could not do my job without them.
Pros
good base pay
Cons
no breaks, long hours, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chapin Manufacturing, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

Chapin Manufacturing, Inc Reviews by Location