Find companies:
Charming Charlie
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
157 reviews

Charming Charlie Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and Productive
Sales Associate/Visual Merchandising (Current Employee), Arcadia, CAApril 12, 2014
My co-workers are the best people to work with! Always so helpful when it comes to meeting personal and team sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDApril 10, 2014
Pros: great discounts on products, fun place to work & nice people.
Cons: lots of walking through store, organizing, straightening up after customers, unpacking shipment & lots of it.
I was one of three assistant mangers at a Charming Charlies in Salisbury MD. I was only there a few months, due to a military move. Or I'd probably stay longer. My store manager was pretty good. I helped put the store together because it was a new store. It was very big, but very pretty. At first I couldn't understand why a store needed three assistant – more... managers. I've been in retail for over 12 years & I was always a manager or assistant. But after seeing how much volume the store had, I then could understand why you needed so many managers. But it made it nice too for requesting time off, there was always managers around, which I liked.
Its a lot of work though, lots of straightening, unpacking shipment. You are defiantly not bored at this job.
There was gossip but that's in every retail store. My manager actually left shortly after I moved because she was upset over the gossip & stuff. I thought we were a pretty tight knit group of ladies, but there's always one bad apple in the bunch. Needless to say she didn't stay long either.
Overall its a great store to work in. You meet tons of people who are amazed with the massive volume the store is. But helping people pick out stuff to match their outfits is pretty neat.
You have to wear all black or black & a little white. You have to wear the jewelry, or at least stuff you already own that kinda looks similar to the brand. Its not hard. If you love fashion & jewelry, then this is the right job for you.
I didn't have benefits because I am married to an active duty Marine, so I already had mine.
I've been in retail for a long time, so I didn't really learn much, just kept me in the retail loop of customer service.
Overall a great place to work & that's just what you do work! Don't apply at a Charming Charlie if you think your just gonna greet people. You unpack jewelry, handbags, scarfs, shoes. It's a lot, everything is by color! So be prepared to work, but also be prepared to work with some great girls too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product is fun but bad quality, Customers are the best part of this job
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAApril 3, 2014
Pros: discount 25% off employee purchase, charm club earn coupons for previous purchases.
Cons: 30 min lunch break, at will company they will fire after one write up
Organization of company and quality of product needs improvement. Training standards are not up to normal company standards. Best part of the job was engaging the customers with accessorizing they're outfits. Low value of product was a plus. Management is always changing. The hardest part of this job is maintaining shipments in a timely manner. All – more... of the jewelry is wrapped in individual plastic about 3 times. Required to at least wear 6 or more accessories during work day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place!
Senior Sales Manager (Current Employee), Douglasville, GAApril 2, 2014
Pros: salary, easy communication with dm, & great enviroment.
Company is really set on their goals and value of their customers! Everything that they believe is all customer based!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but disorganized
PT Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Pleasant Prairie, WIApril 1, 2014
Pros: very fun work environment
Cons: not enough payroll budget
Schedules are reasonable for the most part, but often times they do not have payroll to schedule more than 12 hours a week for any non-full time employee. They teach employees how to visually merchandise in a number of different creative ways. Most of the people I worked with here were extremely fun and easy to work with, however some management pick – more... favorites to do promotions. This includes upper management, where favortism should not exist. The best part of this job really is working at a fun place, with awesome people, and interacting with customers. The hardest part of this job is probably struggling to get hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Treasury Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: no comunication
Good Ideas , But not implmented.Managment was a joke and ethere were no set job discription, Noor work hours. Raises and reviews were a complete joke,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly, and Fabulous
Fashion Advisor (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYMarch 23, 2014
Pros: discount, fun environment, flexible hours
Cons: no benefits, pay
Charming Charlie is a great place to work especially if you are in school fulltime/part time. The management really cares about employees and makes sure that each person can perform tasks efficiently and effectively. The least enjoyable part of the job is markdowns that end at 1/1:30 am. If you need extra cash this is a great for supplemental income. – more... Part time employees may work anywhere from 4-18 hours during the year (12-23 hours during the holiday season). I would not recommend as primary source of income because your hours vary weekly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy work environment!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Norcross, GAMarch 13, 2014
I came in expecting a nice fun working environment as during the group interview all the managers were talking about how the store was a nice working environment. It all turned into disaster after a few weeks of working there because the truth was revealed. The management doesn't treat their associates right, there is way too much drama between the – more... managers and six people have quit before i quit, within a space of two months, the six that quit included two assistant managers. This place is not a stable working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Sales Associate "Charmer" (Former Employee), Spanish Fort, ALMarch 6, 2014
Cons: no benefits, no breaks unless you work 6 hours, pay, little to no hours, and store manager.
This is by far the worst retail company I have ever worked for. The compensation is horrendous with little to no hours. For the non - managerial staff this company doesn't provide benefits and refuses to work anyone past 20 hours to avoid providing health insurance. Yet they require email captures to be at 90% given the fact that identity theft is at – more... an all time high, as customers are reluctant to give that information out. The fact that each employee is required to get customers to sign up for magazine subscriptions is even more obscured. All to benefit management. This company cares less about its hourly employees as most retail companies often are about the sales volume and not the hourly worker. Why open all these additional stores when you can't afford to pay your hourly workers a decent pay and provide them with medical benefits? Same old same old in America big retail company getting richer while the hourly worker lives on minimum wage and ebt. Store manager at this location is by far the worst retail manager I've ever worked for. Very unprofessional. This store is good for high school kids not adults. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive diverse workplace
Production Worker/ WM clerk (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: my hours
Cons: pay
chharming charlie is a remotely fun working enviorment very diverse its always something to do there undr new management an are making alot of changes at the moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Fashion advisor (Former Employee), friendswood, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: everything i learned new things everyday
Cons: lack of hours
A typical day would be fast paced. It would be different everyday. everyday is full of excitement. Your never bored that is for sure I learned how to mix and match different types of jewelry, also how to work with different types of people. Everyone comes in looking for different things on a daily bases whether its for birthdays, wedding or just to – more... look for some day to day jewelry pieces to add to their collections. I loved interacting with customers, getting to know them and making them smile when I found just what they need. I had a job, but I didn't feel like I was working. I LOVED it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short and manageable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Waldorf, MDMarch 1, 2014
A typical work day consists of stocking and assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for long term employees
Sr. Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: great salary
Cons: no chance of growth
This company would rather out source than to look with in and train their current staff. Very good at making their staff feeling like they have a shot at a promotion, but that's not the case. Promises are nothing more than ploys to keep their employees to stay, but have no chance at advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LAFebruary 14, 2014
cut hours from 40+ to 4 hours in one week. Horrible management, rude staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love fashion, then definitely work here!
Sales associate (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MOFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: good and fun working with co workers, good customer service, love for fashion
Cons: possible short hours most of time, short breaks, schedule conflicting, miscommuncation
I enjoyed working at Charming Charlie as a sales associate for 16 months and the people (ladies) I worked with were awesome and fun to work with. I do miss working in there, but I know I have to move on at some point, but if you ever consider about applying there, I would say do it if you truly care and love for fashion and willing to help with customers – more... as a fashion adviser. Managers at there are very cool and flexible too, but there were some miscommunications and it's hard for them to keep up with girls who have two jobs like for myself at one point so there will be some times for schedule conflicting, but only if you can keep up with them and be flexible with the managers too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Miami,FlFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: nice events, great discounts for employees
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work involved greeting customers and maximizing the the ultimate customer service experience. I learned different aspects of an organization and how a business runs efficiently. The management was very helpful and very accomodating to its employees. The coworkers took the concept of teamwork into heart and everyone worked together to – more... efficiently run the store and maintain the cleanliness and apperance in orderto attract customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Associate
TEMPORARY ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILJanuary 29, 2014
I was a temporary associate I worked for four days there and was let go of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has its ups and downs
Sales Associate (Current Employee), las vegasJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: the discount
Cons: only one 10 min break, the pay sucks
Not a bad place to work, youll have lots of shipments, coworkers and management are good too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat and fun working environment.
General Store Manager (Current Employee), Collegeville, PAJanuary 20, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is making the customers feel fabulous and confident. Creating that customer loyalty and making them smile is what gets me motivated to drive my business even more. Also, training my managers and associates to be confident and successful in their roles is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charming charlie is a fun work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), foxbroughJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: awesome coworkers, work flexibility, fun, discounts
Cons: not to many hours
A typical day at Charming is each hour you are in a different "zone" either ( Greeting,cashier,cleaning the store or shipment.) They are fair to all there employees with there positions. All my coworker are so kind and understanding. The hardest part of my job would be trying to find a customer a specific jewelry when they have no idea what they want.

1 2 3 4 5

About Charming Charlie

COMPANY It’s time for a FABULOUS career! charming charlie, the award-winning fashion accessories retailer, is the one-of-a-kind – Read more

Charming Charlie Photos