Charming Shoppes, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very exciting time. The company was growing at a tremendous pace.
Design Director, Denim & Denim-related Sportswear (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PASeptember 1, 2016
It was quite fun and exciting. I had a very unique position that I built.

It was a fun atmosphere for the most part, because of the staff. I had the unique position of merchandising my own dept so I got to work closely with Advertising and Planning.

I had great support from the CEO and President, two terrific gentlemen.

I was able to bring my Hong Kong staff from a former job with me.

This job was rewarding in almost every way.
Pros
Great cafeteria, great co workers, exciting travel
Cons
The two main department heads were always at each others throats
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect too much work done in too little time.
Assistant to Manager/Full Time Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  Dover, DEApril 25, 2016
Regularly had to work additional time (off the clock) to complete required paperwork. Regional management not helpful with any aspect of store management. Whenever there is a Corporate shake-up they blame any problems on store management, and (start over) with new management.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
Corporate and store management differ in rules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
FTK, Assistant (Former Employee) –  Centerton, NJFebruary 11, 2016
As a Store manager I was responsible for overall store operations and sales. The most enjoyable part of my days was dealing with the employees and training them on how to be successful and to learn the store oeprations.
Pros
location
Cons
70 hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAJanuary 18, 2016
Charming Shoppes has closed but I enjoyed my time there. The environment was very positive and professional. The good benefits and room for advancement.
Pros
good envirnoment
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and helpful
assist telephone and online customers (Former Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIDecember 14, 2015
I enjoyed this job because I was able to help customers with their orders. I learned that some customers are easier to help then others because some customers got really mad because someone messed up their order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Because of this company, I lost my job.
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 16, 2015
This company had offered me benefits as well as a good position. So, I decided to leave Payless, a store I had worked at for ten years. Turned out I had made a mistake, as this company went out of business a year later.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Payroll Associate (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAOctober 16, 2015
I was at Charming Shoppes for over 20 years. I was a stable job until it was outsourced in 2010. I enjoyed working there and knew the job very well. The management and the co-workers that I worked with were all team players and had the same goal in getting people paid correctly and on time.
Pros
Enjoyable colleages
Cons
There was no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved everything about the company
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  pittsburg,caMay 25, 2015
I loved the work environment, everyone was a team player, management was easy to work with, and it was easy to advance to another position. There was really nothing that was hard about my job, because everyone helped each other.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
meal break too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive
International Trade & Custom Compliance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAApril 23, 2015
Awesome place when I completed my internship. I had a supportive boss that was always there to provide advice and guidance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work/life balance
Store Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  chestertown mdApril 13, 2015
company very employee friendly. the upper management treated the day to day people at the store level like equals. a true open door policy was achieved with the opportunity to grow and be promoted from with in
Pros
opportunity to grow and be promoted from with in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Shut down
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 16, 2015
Company Shut down without proper warning, many people were left without jobs including myself. It has been hard to find something else since then.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Women clothing store
Part Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALDecember 4, 2014
Providing service to the guest and up selling the merchandise.
Pros
clothing store
Cons
clothing store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  Triadelphia, WVOctober 21, 2014
Great to deal with Public on the clothing side. Had really good group of employees to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PASeptember 18, 2014
Central Penn bank was a great place to cut your teeth. Plenty of room for advancement, awesome learning environment. The people who worked there were awesome as well as management.
Pros
Center city
Cons
Out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Part Time Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COSeptember 2, 2014
I loved working here. I had great co-workers and I learned many skills I can now use for other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always felt like home.
Helpdesk Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAJuly 28, 2014
Everyday I wanted to be at work. Coworkers were more like family. I worked with four others and we always worked as a team.
Pros
You were able to have fun
Cons
Pay was not so good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Associate Buyer (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAJune 25, 2014
this a great company where you can flourish and be recognized for your work. the management team is always looking for hungry and entrepreneurial individuals who will take the calculated risk that is demanded in this kind of environment. they have a strong community culture that will allow for some great mentoring opportunities both above and below you... take advantage. the hours are long but not unlike any other corporate retailer. you will have exposure to numerous facets of the business as well as various levels of management with the opportunity to showcase your skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is good place to learn top skills
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAMay 6, 2014
A typical day at work was always a delight. I learn how to work with complete strangers. The management team always was helpful. Co workers was fun and insightful. There was not one thing hard about this job. The most enjoyable part of the job was the flexible schedule.
Pros
In house cafiteria
Cons
the office had no windows
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite at all
Sales Associate and Freight Personnel (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALApril 9, 2014
I worked for this company for a few years and I was able to see the inner changes that were made. I would not recommend this company as an employer. I have seen a total lack of regard for the customer and their prefernces and needs displayed by this company.
Cons
Pay/Compensation, Lack of Teamwork, Low Quality Goods
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment. Great manager
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAApril 9, 2014
Interesting work. Learned a lot. Manager helped me advance.
Pros
Good managment. Nice work envirnonment. Loved the work I did.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Charming Shoppes, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 79 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5