Find companies:
Charter College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Charter College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CC
Financial Aid Officer (Current Employee), BellinghamApril 7, 2014
Benefits are poor, no room to advance in career, management is moody,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst workplace ever!
Admission's Representative (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 3, 2014
Pros: christmas dinner
Cons: bad management, no job security, did i mention bad managment
This has to be the worst management I have ever experienced. For example the campus president would ask you how are you today? If you said, "good", his response was what's so good about it, how many enrollments do you have? The place turns over employees like you and I change underwear. The students are not happy, the teacher's are ok at best. I walked – more... out of this job after they brought their admissions team into closed doors and began screaming at them. How they are in business is a mystery, and these positive reviews are ploys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Medical Assistant Instructor (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: compensation/benefits
Cons: the change of accredatations and management
I was an instructor for four years and during that time I enjoy working there. The faculty and administrators were professional and well trained. I enjoy working for this company because the compensation/benefits were great. (if you were a full time instructor)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work
Loan Coordinator (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Cons: horrible benefits, no job security, location
Three campus presidents in two years, high turnover in admissions department, and horrible location. Company was downsizing in staff every quarter due to low enrollments. Great opportunity for the right student wanting to pursue a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such an upbeat and fun place to work
Dean's Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: learning new stuff everyday
Cons: i really don't remember any cons
Typical day was inputing data, running errands for the college, ordering supplies, paying vendors. There really wasn't anything to hard about the job. The most enjoyable was being able to mingle with teachers and students, and other faculty members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning
Student (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 27, 2014
I attended this school for a GED PREP class and actually was surprised at the learning method.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insufficient compensation and benefits package.
Education Loan Specialist (Current Employee), Canyon Country, CAJanuary 9, 2014
Lots of energy for student activities. Little room for advancement, mediocre salaries compared to industry standards, Benefits are horrible for extended family size.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAJanuary 6, 2014
It was a decent job, the hours were not enough and getting laid off really was unfortunate, but a positive experience around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Registrar Assistant (Former Employee), Bellingham, WAOctober 31, 2013
This was a great place to work and go to school. Management and coworkers were fantastic, I was sad to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a little note for new employees
Admissions (Former Employee), Oxnard CampusOctober 16, 2013
Pros: benefits, it's a paycheck, co workers are fun and very social
Cons: corporate office cannot make up their minds!
1.) Front desk work is very busy, especially during the first Mod of class start! The phones will ring off the hook while you are by your self. You have to CONSTANTLY answer the phone no matter what you cannot have a missed phone call. Then students will come to you while you are on the phone and it gets very very very busy! Be warned!
2.) If you have – more... allergies to cigarettes, it would be a bad idea to get the job here. Co workers smoke cigarettes so much then comes in and out of the office and you can smell cigarettes.
3.) Enrollment packets CONSTANTLY change! Every single month! What a joke! They can't keep a constant enrollment agreement. So you have to keep up with printing those! Talk about killing trees
4.) Programs constantly change as well!! Corporate office CANNOT make up their minds!
5.) They say they care about students, BUT honestly... all they care about is reaching their goals 20 enrollments per week, all they really care about is number and money.
6.) You will get layed off without prior notice. Saw 2 of my co workers layed off immediately due to budget/funding cuts
7.) Supervisor constantly watch you
8.) Annoying admissions assistant employee, you hardly CANNOT take days off / time off because of coverage/no one is able to work your shift
9.) you have to work 11 a.m. - 8p.m. twice a week and a weekend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. .
PC Repair Technician (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAOctober 4, 2013
Recorded sessions for online classes, set up, maintenance, and troubleshooting of equipment. Mentored and tutored students.
I learned about the teaching aspect in a lab environment, more about one of the subjects I was attending while in college to prepare me for certifications. Management was easy to get along with and had a great interpersonal relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent local College that effectively specializes in education to work careers.
Assistant Director, Academic Services/Recruiter (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: loved working in an educational environment and with so many different types of people.
Cons: n/a
Academic Associate (recruiter): Alot of phone time talking with and screening potential students, setting up interviews with candidates and accomplishing detailed revelation of education goals and what it would be like as a student at Charter College, processing enrollments. Job Fairs and outside represenation of the college. Interface with Admissions, – more... Instructors and other departments in this effort.

Assistant Director of Academic Services: All of the above plus interviewing, hiring, training and supervising other Academic Associates.

The hardest part was dealing with lots of divergent sales oriented personalities. Great opportunity to continue building skill in human relations while still keeping myself and them focused on the mission of enrollong students.

This was a fun work environment. Everyone had a great sense of humor even with the occassional drama and we were all competitive in a good way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
Enrollment Processor (Current Employee), AnonymousSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: it's a paycheck
Cons: horrible management. unethical practices towards students and emloyees.
When I was first hired on I was excited to begin an exciting new career. In a matter of a few short months my spirits sunk as my eyes were opened to the ugliness and desperation of this company. As soon as my counterpart trained me for a few short weeks, they laid her off because they could make me do the same job for less money they were paying her. – more... I struggled like crazy to keep my head above the water with no positive reinforcement or encouragment. Now after a couple months of working on my own I see they have re-posted my same same position. Now my eyes are REALLY opened. They want to keep me on just long enough to train the new victim/employee (who they will pay the same low rate) and then they will let me go just before I receive the one year guarenteed raise. Please, if you are considering applying, do not waste your time and energy. They will lie to you, trap you, enslave you, and then spit you out once they have sucked you dry. They do not care about their employees or their students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work under fear of getting let go, no matter how hard you try
Anonymous (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: offer good benefits and insurance to full-time employees.
Cons: you are not valued or appreciated, only for how much $$ you can make them
After working there for 3.5 years and watching good, dedicated employees fired for not having their "goals" met ( not enrolling xxx amount of students per "mod" (semester), not having xxx amount of students passing or not dropping out of a class), the same thing happened to me. I was "promoted" after 2.5 years to a better position, and let go after – more... the position was eliminated; I asked for my old position ad back, (someone else had been hired 6 months prior) and was told that seniority does not count here. Even though I covered other peoples' shifts for 3 years if they were sick or on vacation, and worked 12 hour shifts, and received an award and a trophy from Corporate a year prior for outstanding service at an employee company-wide gathering, I was not allowed to have my old job back. One year later, the new campus president who let me go was let go after he relocated his family from 200 miles away.
Admission representatives are only glorified salesmen, and if you earn a degree, it is not transferrable to a State college or University. It is a ruthless environment and money-making machine. Students are placed into high student aid debt and most cannot get jobs that pay enough to manage that debt and make a living.
It is really quite sad to see how students and employees are treated with the only goal desired by the upper management is how much of a profit they can make, It reminds me of working in a convalescent home that just wants Medicare money and does not care about the patients' health or employee morale. But, as my mother used to tell me: "The bigger they are, the harder they fall"! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with this company has been the best thing that's ever happened to me.
Ged Instructor (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: the people i have met have been inspirational. great energy
I would recommend that anyone able to work here in Long Beach at Charter College is a very lucky person indeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Admissions Rep (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: there are some great people working at charter.
Cons: management and training.
Revolving door for turn-over. Employees don't feel valued and it doesn't appear that they are. Training is very basic, coaching is weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Education Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 17, 2013
I loved my time working at Charter college. I moved to Alaska and that was my first and only job and it made my stay in Alaska fun. The people are great and the whole work environment is excellent. i would still work there if they had a location on the East coast!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct instructor
Adjunct Instructor - Evenings Part Time (Former Employee), Pasco, WAJune 3, 2013
Typical technical/trade school. Little emphasis was placed on the IT program I taught. Money was okay for hourly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding job that I loved.
Medical Assisting Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAMay 23, 2013
Teaching clinical lab skills to prospective students trying to better themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and enjoyable
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAMarch 12, 2013
Pros: great experiences
Cons: very low pay
A typical day would be me assisting the Campas Technology Support Specialist in their projects and work assisting the staff and faculty at Charter College.
I learned how to add users in an Active Directory, manage myself, support a wide base of computer systems, troubleshooting network problems.
The management helped me learn to push my stress levels – more... and work better under highly stressful situations, they were enjoyable to communicate with.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help and support people in my field of study. – less

1 2 3

About Charter College

Fortunately for some, you don't need an official charter to make your way to the fast track. Through an accelerated semester schedule, – Read more