Find companies:
Charter College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Charter College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a little note for new employees
Admissions (Former Employee), Oxnard CampusOctober 16, 2013
Pros: benefits, it's a paycheck, co workers are fun and very social
Cons: corporate office cannot make up their minds!
1.) Front desk work is very busy, especially during the first Mod of class start! The phones will ring off the hook while you are by your self. You have to CONSTANTLY answer the phone no matter what you cannot have a missed phone call. Then students will come to you while you are on the phone and it gets very very very busy! Be warned!
2.) If you have – more... allergies to cigarettes, it would be a bad idea to get the job here. Co workers smoke cigarettes so much then comes in and out of the office and you can smell cigarettes.
3.) Enrollment packets CONSTANTLY change! Every single month! What a joke! They can't keep a constant enrollment agreement. So you have to keep up with printing those! Talk about killing trees
4.) Programs constantly change as well!! Corporate office CANNOT make up their minds!
5.) They say they care about students, BUT honestly... all they care about is reaching their goals 20 enrollments per week, all they really care about is number and money.
6.) You will get layed off without prior notice. Saw 2 of my co workers layed off immediately due to budget/funding cuts
7.) Supervisor constantly watch you
8.) Annoying admissions assistant employee, you hardly CANNOT take days off / time off because of coverage/no one is able to work your shift
9.) you have to work 11 a.m. - 8p.m. twice a week and a weekend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. .
PC Repair Technician (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAOctober 4, 2013
Recorded sessions for online classes, set up, maintenance, and troubleshooting of equipment. Mentored and tutored students.
I learned about the teaching aspect in a lab environment, more about one of the subjects I was attending while in college to prepare me for certifications. Management was easy to get along with and had a great interpersonal relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent local College that effectively specializes in education to work careers.
Assistant Director, Academic Services/Recruiter (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: loved working in an educational environment and with so many different types of people.
Cons: n/a
Academic Associate (recruiter): Alot of phone time talking with and screening potential students, setting up interviews with candidates and accomplishing detailed revelation of education goals and what it would be like as a student at Charter College, processing enrollments. Job Fairs and outside represenation of the college. Interface with Admissions, – more... Instructors and other departments in this effort.

Assistant Director of Academic Services: All of the above plus interviewing, hiring, training and supervising other Academic Associates.

The hardest part was dealing with lots of divergent sales oriented personalities. Great opportunity to continue building skill in human relations while still keeping myself and them focused on the mission of enrollong students.

This was a fun work environment. Everyone had a great sense of humor even with the occassional drama and we were all competitive in a good way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
Enrollment Processor (Current Employee), AnonymousSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: it's a paycheck
Cons: horrible management. unethical practices towards students and emloyees.
When I was first hired on I was excited to begin an exciting new career. In a matter of a few short months my spirits sunk as my eyes were opened to the ugliness and desperation of this company. As soon as my counterpart trained me for a few short weeks, they laid her off because they could make me do the same job for less money they were paying her. – more... I struggled like crazy to keep my head above the water with no positive reinforcement or encouragment. Now after a couple months of working on my own I see they have re-posted my same same position. Now my eyes are REALLY opened. They want to keep me on just long enough to train the new victim/employee (who they will pay the same low rate) and then they will let me go just before I receive the one year guarenteed raise. Please, if you are considering applying, do not waste your time and energy. They will lie to you, trap you, enslave you, and then spit you out once they have sucked you dry. They do not care about their employees or their students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work under fear of getting let go, no matter how hard you try
Anonymous (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: offer good benefits and insurance to full-time employees.
Cons: you are not valued or appreciated, only for how much $$ you can make them
After working there for 3.5 years and watching good, dedicated employees fired for not having their "goals" met ( not enrolling xxx amount of students per "mod" (semester), not having xxx amount of students passing or not dropping out of a class), the same thing happened to me. I was "promoted" after 2.5 years to a better position, and let go after – more... the position was eliminated; I asked for my old position ad back, (someone else had been hired 6 months prior) and was told that seniority does not count here. Even though I covered other peoples' shifts for 3 years if they were sick or on vacation, and worked 12 hour shifts, and received an award and a trophy from Corporate a year prior for outstanding service at an employee company-wide gathering, I was not allowed to have my old job back. One year later, the new campus president who let me go was let go after he relocated his family from 200 miles away.
Admission representatives are only glorified salesmen, and if you earn a degree, it is not transferrable to a State college or University. It is a ruthless environment and money-making machine. Students are placed into high student aid debt and most cannot get jobs that pay enough to manage that debt and make a living.
It is really quite sad to see how students and employees are treated with the only goal desired by the upper management is how much of a profit they can make, It reminds me of working in a convalescent home that just wants Medicare money and does not care about the patients' health or employee morale. But, as my mother used to tell me: "The bigger they are, the harder they fall"! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with this company has been the best thing that's ever happened to me.
Ged Instructor (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: the people i have met have been inspirational. great energy
I would recommend that anyone able to work here in Long Beach at Charter College is a very lucky person indeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Admissions Rep (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: there are some great people working at charter.
Cons: management and training.
Revolving door for turn-over. Employees don't feel valued and it doesn't appear that they are. Training is very basic, coaching is weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Education Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 17, 2013
I loved my time working at Charter college. I moved to Alaska and that was my first and only job and it made my stay in Alaska fun. The people are great and the whole work environment is excellent. i would still work there if they had a location on the East coast!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct instructor
Adjunct Instructor - Evenings Part Time (Former Employee), Pasco, WAJune 3, 2013
Typical technical/trade school. Little emphasis was placed on the IT program I taught. Money was okay for hourly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding job that I loved.
Medical Assisting Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAMay 23, 2013
Teaching clinical lab skills to prospective students trying to better themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and enjoyable
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAMarch 12, 2013
Pros: great experiences
Cons: very low pay
A typical day would be me assisting the Campas Technology Support Specialist in their projects and work assisting the staff and faculty at Charter College.
I learned how to add users in an Active Directory, manage myself, support a wide base of computer systems, troubleshooting network problems.
The management helped me learn to push my stress levels – more... and work better under highly stressful situations, they were enjoyable to communicate with.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help and support people in my field of study. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great place to work.
Student Services Officer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: great enviroment to work in.
Cons: incredibly low pay.
I enjoyed my co-workers and their dedication to students and education. I leaned a lot about the administratvei side of education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many outrageous and rediculous management decisions that hurt the company more then helped it.
Teacher's Assistant, Legal Assistant Program (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CAJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: good pay, friendly staff
Cons: no job security, huge lay off.
They cared more about the money they made then the students who they were teaching. Bought stupid dunk tanks and fountains and then complained they had no money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all about MONEY and NUMBERS!!!
management (Former Employee), long beachJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: what we do for the students
Cons: everything else
It was awful working for t his company. At first they would treat you like a STAR. Once you voice out your opinion and decided not to kiss anyones butt, then they start treating you horribly.
Also, the people that they promote are the incompetent ones. Imagine working under someone who doesnt know what they are doing and taking all the credits...WOW!
Sure – more... money was great, but everyone is part time. No one stays longer cause they fire all the good ones and keep the people that are brown nosers.
The management (president) had the audacity to put down another school (well known school) to compare. The curriculum is so unorganize that they need to put another curriculum team to unorganize it again. The nursing class was suppose to launch a year ago... where is it now?! collecting dust.
Students are lied to and charged a lot of money. Then Instructors are blamed if they dont meet the number of students. They end up getting fired for not having enough students in class. Thats not how you keep good people in business. Management expect to have the instructors lure people to come to this school. WHY?! Desperation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management likes managing by fear...
Director (Former Employee), Greater Los Angeles AreaDecember 30, 2012
Pros: students
Cons: management
In all my many years of working for various companies, large and small, I have never come across anything like I experienced at Charter College. A verbally abusive campus president that would scream at students and staff alike and then claim to be passionate about his job -- what a joke!
The best part of this job were the students and some co-workers.
The – more... worst part for many at Charter is that you never know when your time is up. If you don't meet your individual goals you get fired; if you don't drink their cool aid, you get fired; if you ever disagree with management, you get fired;
I left Charter College because I did not like how employees are taken advantage of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WAS considering Charter
Prospective Instructor (Former Employee), Canyon Country, CADecember 28, 2012
After reading the reviews, I am reconsidering Charter as a place to apply. I am an experienced nursing instructor who has a heart for nursing as well as the students and I cannot tolerate administrative or corporate staff making the job difficult. I'll look elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performance Driven
Admissions Representative (Current Employee), Lancaster, CADecember 21, 2012
As an admissions rep the daily requirement are very demanding but obtainable if willing to put in hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never been treated so poorly in a workplace. DO NOT APPLY.
Former employee (Former Employee), Pasco, WADecember 4, 2012
Pros: co-workers
Cons: unstable, no job security, disrespect, lies, manipulation all from management
READ THIS IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN APPLYING.

Don't get me wrong, the College was a great for a paycheck and all my co-workers were awesome. It was the way management (Dean and the campus president) ran the school. Promises were made that were broken, the way the admissions team LIE to prospective students so they can make the numbers and get their – more... commission.

If you are looking for a stable position to have, do not apply here. At all of their campuses, the turn over rate is so high, people outside the company know about it. If you want to apply for Charter College, go for it. Just know that even though you may sign an offer letter and get promises from your management they are mostly likely not true.

REMEMBER: This is a business where their mission statement is to make as much money as possible regardless how they treat their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted Registrar around my class schedule.
REGISTRAR'S ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Anchorage, AlaskaNovember 4, 2012
Pros: worked close to class.
Cons: none.
This was a part time entry level position that I took while maintaining a full time class schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Application Specialist (Current Employee), RenoOctober 27, 2012
Pros: great benefits good leadership team
Cons: none i can think off.
I have been working in the education industry for over 17 years. Charter College is by far the best place I have worked. The benefits are great and I actually enjoy going to work in the morning.

About Charter College

Fortunately for some, you don't need an official charter to make your way to the fast track. Through an accelerated semester schedule, – Read more