Find companies:
Charter Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
610 reviews

Charter Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 11, 2014
Good place to work. Decent compensation. Going through lots of change
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pas company to work for.
CSSR (Former Employee), Faribault, MNDecember 10, 2014
Very busy office setting with not a lot of room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Direct Sales Representative (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALDecember 9, 2014
work schedule usually consisted of 10-7 door to door sales if you did not meet your sales goals during the week you were required to work weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
System Technician (Former Employee), North Richland Hills, TXDecember 7, 2014
long hours, potential for lots of OT, frequent on call rotation,system needs major upgrades and has not been well maintained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work place.
Phone/Internet troubleshooting, data entry (Current Employee), Bridgeton, MODecember 7, 2014
Pros: benefits and insurance, vacation, flex work shifts
Cons: being on the phone all day, long drive to get there
Pretty much your day consist of sitting at a desk taking calls and troubleshooting internet and phone issues over the phone for 8 hours. I have learned many things in regard to how internet and phone works. I the hardest part of my job is trying to satisfy an irate customer that is cussing and screaming at you. The most enjoyable part of my job is resolving – more... an issue a customer is having with their equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning environment and good co-workers
Contractor (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MODecember 4, 2014
Typical day at work would be making inbound and outbound calls regarding security related issues. At Charter I learned a lot about the networking side of IT and the threats that pertain to it.

Management was easy to communicate with and was always around if we needed anything or had questions.

Co-workers were all good people and many that I am still – more... friends with today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is Great, Schedules are not
Sales Support Associate (Current Employee), Mauldin, SCNovember 28, 2014
I love this job, as far as schedule goes it's really not for me. The pay keeps me stable in life, the only problems are schedule and management. If the management would work better with you, or overall had a great work ethic and provide better or maybe even flexible schedules this would be the ideal job for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Chesterfield MoNovember 25, 2014
Pros: free cable services
Cons: sales pressure
Always new prizes to be won for outstanding performance. Lots of free stuff from cable programs and shows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive place to work Filled with great co-workers and great Compensation
DIRECT SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), WisconsinNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great compensation, great benefits and a company to believe in because of comp.
Cons: no transparency, changes happening too often and i am losing my sense of security
Typical work day is filled with customer follow up and door knocking.

I have learned that a In-House position selling services door to door is the best decision that can be made for a outside sales profession.

Management could use a lot of work and support. Transparency with pay should be a priority and when commission is not paid where does the money – more... for the lack of hitting quota go.

Co-workers are great.

Hardest part of the job is trusting that things are not going to change. I was told and guaranteed things that ultimately were not true. my complaint of this i feel can be nodded off because the compensation is still lucrative.

The most enjoyable part of this job is ultimately being able to help customers with there needs and saving them money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hamster Wheel
Customer Service (Current Employee), United StatesNovember 19, 2014
Pros: co workers, 1 hr lunch, health benefits
Cons: pay, no room for advancement, managers, money hungry
I have worked at my current position long enough to know that this company only cares about numbers. This is a sales driven company. All they care about is money. They are losing loyal customers left and right who are tired of paying top dollar for sub par service. They are willing to let a new customer in and give them great rates but a lose a loyal – more... customer with no incentives. Then the seemingly great promotions only last for 12 months. The managers put pressure on you to gain revenue by upselling existing customers or new customers. Their excuse is that they have goals too, but it only makes the situation worse. The problem is you don't see that many customers daily. Most are returning their equipment or don't want to be bothered adding on services. Therefore, if you do not meet your "goals" for the month you are placed at the bottom of the barrel and in lieu of losing your job. On top of that, the culture is not good. They tell you they have an 'open door policy' but as soon as you open our mouth about something you wish to improve, they have a problem.
The company is very shady because they are supposedly merging with Comcast in the near future but employees know nothing. We don't know what will become of that merge. I feel like I am on a hamster wheel. They reward you very seldom for your hard work and then tell you to get back on the wheel. I don't feel like I'm learning anything. My brain is turning to mush trying to process all the B.S. that they require. You are working too hard and not seeing any results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with some dangerous situations. Example: Being shot at while trying to fix a outage.
Broadband Technician & Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), McMinnville, TNNovember 18, 2014
Pros: trouble shooting working outside
Cons: dangerous situations
A typical day at work consist of repairing cable when outages occur & making sure customers are provided with the best service Charter can provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro managed
Video Repair Representative (Former Employee), worcester, maNovember 17, 2014
to much stress and not enough reason to go through it and stay...a typical day at charter was answering phone calls and being a verbal punching bag to the customers on the other end...charter wanted to have there cake and eat it to and they are not in the environment to do so
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great people to work with.
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times
Cons: sometimes we had short lunch breaks.
A typical day at work was going in at 8am checking all emails and replying. Making sure all supplies are put on correct trucks and sent off in a timely manner. I learned that if I put my best foot forward everything can be taken care of the way it is supposed to be to meet deadlines. The management was very understanding and gave a great helping hand. – more... The hardest part of the job was having 30 trucks in one day and making sure all supplies were sent off on correct trucks but I made sure it was done correctly. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I did everything correctly and the clients were very nice and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter Communications
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicopee, MANovember 17, 2014
Pros: being able to be face to face with so many customers.
Cons: it was a temporary position.
Working for this company as a temporary associate was a great experience. It put me face to face with tons of customers in a fast pace environment and I enjoyed it dearly even when the customers weren't so pleasant. I fell in love with this environment, it was filled with positive coworkers and management exactly what I look for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
DSR (Current Employee), CaƱon City, CONovember 12, 2014
Pros: paid gas, hotel stays, and good working enviorment
Cons: travel about an hour a way
The work enviorment was great just the traveling and time from family was a concern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Georgia , McdonoughNovember 11, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: free tv phone and internet
A typical work day at Charter, would be keying daily drop payments. Enter acking with the customers taking there payments going over there billing upgrading there services or entering in new service.

The hardest part of my job is when there was no communication rather be with a technician going out to thier home and not fixing the issue.

Most enjoyable – more... part is when they leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and safe enviroment
Telecom Tech (Current Employee), Davison,MINovember 10, 2014
Charter is a really good place to work for. They take care of their employees very well and always make sure we have all the safety, tools and any other equipment needed. A typical day at work consists of logging in and seeing where your first job is and than completing each job through out the day. Every job is different so your not doing the same – more... thing over and over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and downs. Most advancement is within first 5 years.
Technician (Current Employee), WisconsinNovember 8, 2014
Pros: not stuck in a cubicle. can be physically demanding.
Cons: inclement weather, very little room for true advancement, mostly lateral moves
Get jobs on PDA, drive to work area. Repeat. Direct supervisors are great, co-workers helpful. Hardest part is dealing with the inclement weather and 24/7 work/oncall schedule. Best part is working outside and interacting with different people on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter Communications Review
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Simpsonville, SCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: catered lunch/dinner, free trips, gift cards, healthcare benefits
I worked second shift from 3:30 p.m. to 12:00 a.m.
I would set a desk and take incoming sales calls from new customers looking for cable, internet, and telephone. I would build rapport by asking open ended questions on what my customers would be looking for. The management there was awesome they always did what they could to further advance your communication – more... skills on the phone with customers. The co-workers were mediocre. Sometimes you would be seated next to someone who really enjoys the job while other times the person seated next to you hated it. Hardest part of the job was nothing really. The daily goals were very reachable. The most enjoyable part was the trips they gave away to the top sellers as well as vendor (HBO, Showtime, Etc) would come in and tell us if you sell this much in this amount of time we will give you gift cards that would sometimes go up to 1000 dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Internet Representative (Former Employee), Louisville KYNovember 5, 2014
Pros: alone
Cons: alone
This job was boring. i was in an office alone everyday, all day. There wasnt an opportunity to change or move up.

1 2 3 4 5

About Charter Communications

Charter Communications navigates the waters of US cable services. The cable system operator has about 5 million mostly-residential – Read more

Charter Communications Photos