Find companies:
Charter Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
531 reviews

Charter Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mauldin, SCAugust 18, 2014
A typical day at work was full of learning experiences. Management was awesome and so were the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monotonous but fun
Retention/Billing Advisor (Current Employee), Vancouver, WAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: overtime, consistent job responsibilities
Cons: same calls over and over...
An average day would be answering billing calls where most customers are behind on their bill so much so that they are interrupted/disconnected. So you review with them about their payment timeline and go over any specific line item questions they have about their bill. There is a fairly loose scripting that needs to be followed and the primary goal – more... is to give the best customer service possible in the least amount of time. Overall good place to work, but not something I would make a permanent career out of unless you plan on moving up in the company. There isn't a lot of vertical advancement available for getting promoted. Overall, the management staff know the calls can be stressful so for the most part they do everything they can to help you get through the day in the most positive way they can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politically charged environment
Consultant (Current Employee), Denver, COAugust 17, 2014
Politically charged unattractive culture that pushes unreasonable deadlines for products. This often means products are delivered with tons of defects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Contractor Technician (Former Employee), San Gabriel Valley Ca.August 14, 2014
Pros: good benefits
I used to work as a contractor but overall it was a great company, they have a very high sense of customer service and their employees needs too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer for the ambitious
Customer Care Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Vancouver, WAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great pay, lots of stimulation, never boring.
Cons: stress
Charter Communications is a great employer, with great pay and benefits, and ample opportunity for advancement. It is a challenging environment with frequent changes, high stress, and requires maintaining a professional, courteous tone, even when speaking with irate customers. The key to this job is to practice good self-care, to avoid burn-out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule and coworkers
Dispatcher / CSSR (Former Employee), Wadesville, INAugust 13, 2014
The company was not stable. There were always cutbacks. The coworkers were great. Local management was always accessible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good benefits.
Senior Broadband System Technician (Former Employee), Childersburg, ALAugust 13, 2014
Pros: company truck and great pay eventually.
Cons: don't make a mistake.
Good job, but skills you learn are not good for any other industry. If you work there, stay with it and it will pay off.

Beware, they will fire you for miniscule things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Customer Service/Sales Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Town N Country MOAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free cable and internet and prizes hbo sho max
Cons: back to back calls when outages
Customer Service expertise used to handle outages tech support while maintain a positive attitude and report with customers. Great incentive package free cable and internet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Direct Sales Representative (Current Employee), Richland Hills, TXAugust 13, 2014
great company, hate they shut down; great pay and benefits. I enjoyed sharing my expertise with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter Communications is a place to work
Onsite Test Coordinator (Former Employee), St.LouisAugust 8, 2014
Charter Excellent team culture & happening place @ Work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Broadband Sales Representative (Former Employee), Simpsonville, SCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: hours
This was a great place to work overall. There are plenty opportunity for advancement. Management is great. The pay is decent. Benefits package is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Tier 1 Video Help Desk Tech (Current Employee), Billings, MTAugust 6, 2014
Good benifits. But dealing with people on the phone everyday is hard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORK FOR COMCAST DIRECT OR DISH UNLESS YOU LIKE BEING TREATED LIKE A DOG EVERYDAY
line technician 3 (Former Employee), TennesseeAugust 6, 2014
Pros: free cable, though its not worth what you have to endure to receive this perk
Cons: i would have to write a book about the cons
I think they treat dogs better actually I worked for charter for over 9 years I needed the job and then i saw a way out and left this armpit of a company HR IS THE WORST and don't get hurt on the job because they will fire you when you come back seen it happen over and over. They will make up any excuse for an injured worker who is released to come – more... back to work and then after a week or two they fire them. also if you give a two week notice they will fire you before the notice just to make you look bad, customer service is a joke. And management will look for any reason to write up the employee for something that was ok yesterday but not today. They also pick and choose what safety code to enforce If your working on a trouble call and there is a thunderstorm going on who in there right mind would climb the pole "which is required part of a trouble call" while its lightning, the company says not to, but the next day if your trouble call is inspected for quality assurance and they see that you didn't put on a new tag at the pole you fail the job regardless of what the circumstances were. Despite how hard you work or how the customers are happy with the job you completed its never good enough for management .Unless you have a cushy office job STAY FAR AWAY FROM ONE OF THE WORST RATED CABLE COMPANIES THERE ON THE TOP 10 LIST OF WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WORST PLACES TO WORK IN AMERICA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The latitude to make decisions without approval.
Dispatcher 1 (Former Employee), Slidell, LAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: close to home even with the odd hours & weekends.
Cons: crime in the area drove me away to protect my family.
Watched computer systems over a three state area trying to determine if there where outages, where they were originating from & dispatching technicians to the correct location.
I learned there is a big difference between various levels of technicians & how to manage those technicians within given areas to keep costs down by managing drive time hours – more... & fuel.
Some people were there for a pay check only & didn't really care about the customer. I could not comprehend that thinking. Without the customer we would not exist.
The hardest part was prioritizing the problems based on the available manpower.
Being recognized by my peers & management as a top Dispatcher. Teaching other dispatchers how to problem solve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spoke to customers wanting to cancel service
Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Walker MIAugust 3, 2014
Pros: incentives, pay
Cons: comapny metrics always changing
Take incoming calls from customers in regards to billing issues, repair problems, account changes process credits upsell the best part of Charter was the incentives the vendors (HBO, Showtime Starz) would visit the call center with merchandise, trips etc. Enjoyed resolving customer issues also enjoyed working with different types of people. The hardsest – more... part of the job was when the customer refused a resolution and would disconnect the call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about anybody as long as they get sales...
CSSCR ( Customer Service Sales Center Rep.) (Current Employee), Athens, ALJuly 31, 2014
Pros: pay is ok and you get benefits along with full time hrs...
Cons: everything else...
This company has shown its true colors to me sense the economy in my area has gone down and not many people are ordering new cable services. They are your best friend to your face and holding a knife waiting to stab you in the back the moment you turn around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The decent pay does not make the job worth it!
Broadband Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Call Center Vancouver, WAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: *you can watch tv or play a game of pool on your lunch
Cons: *management *impossible metrics *hard to work with for appointments *mandatory overtime all the time
I worked for the company for many years! For the first 4 years I was there, they paid great hourly with decent commissions! You used to have your own desk, that you could decorate how you liked.. it made it an easier day! Going in to year 5, they took assigned desks away and treated every like a heard of cows.. you are moved around every day. The management – more... is horrible. You are not treated like a valuable part of the company.. more like a number, someone who is there to get CHARTER as much money as possible. Every 6 months is a shift bid... so whether you want to or not, you have no choice but to get a new schedule... which makes home life REALLY hard... especially if you have children. There are so much inner politics, its disgusting. The customers are rude, spoiled people.
The metrics (the numbers you have to meet as an associate) are ridiculous... most the time impossible to meet. I am sure the people that came up with those numbers never even worked that job before. They are more concerned with getting the customer off the phone, and onto the next one, rather than taking your time, and truly figuring out the customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A frustrating environment
Driver/Installation Technician (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 28, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunch and working without much supervision
Cons: supervisors and managers dont offer much help to make you an excellent tech
A typical day at work started off easy then after the second training it took a loop. The management and supervisor team was not much help as I asked day in and out for extra field help. Without the extra field help it became extremely difficult to provide quality work for the customers.

However I did learn how to disconnect and downgrade cable, along – more... with a little installation. My co workers were amazing and helpful unlike some of the supervisor and manager staff. The hardest part of my job was not being able to provide great customer service and quality work due to a lack of training and extra help. The most enjoyable part of the job was driving and not having someone always watching over you as well having lunch with co workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Workplace Environment
Broadband Senior Sales Rep (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: micro management, inflexible rigid business plan.
The management has a turn and burn philosophy when it comes to hiring... they are NEVER held accountable for their failures (which are numerous) instead of changing out managers that cant handle the business needs they blame the reps and just continuously rotate in new employees. I worked there for 6 years and during that time I saw hundreds of people – more... come and go.. it got to a point where it wasn't even worth it to get to know new people because odds were they would be gone in a month or two... that being said the employees that work there are genuinely good people and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the unreasonable customers who want the world and being pushed from behind by management to provide the customers with the least value possible so essentially you get the worst from both sides. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone I know or care about and would go so far to say that this is possible one of the worst companies in America to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too difficult to compete against own company
Business Account Executive (Former Employee), Coldwater, MIJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free charter services
Cons: unrealistics demands for over-saturated territory
I was hired to sell internet, phone and video options to small-medium businesses, but the territory given was small, over-saturated and very little demand left. I was given unrealistic sales quotas that could never be met and the closest I came was 50% and they never paid me for it because they let me go at the end of that month. I was told it would – more... take up to three years to develop a good referral partner program and was expected that 20-30% of my sales generated from those partners; however, I was given 11 months to compete against our call center, 24/7 advertising on TV and other representatives in the area and not allowed to advertise. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Charter Communications

Charter Communications navigates the waters of US cable services. The cable system operator has about 5 million mostly-residential – Read more

Charter Communications Photos