Find companies:
Charter Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
600 reviews

Charter Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with some dangerous situations. Example: Being shot at while trying to fix a outage.
Broadband Technician & Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), McMinnville, TNNovember 18, 2014
Pros: trouble shooting working outside
Cons: dangerous situations
A typical day at work consist of repairing cable when outages occur & making sure customers are provided with the best service Charter can provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro managed
Video Repair Representative (Former Employee), worcester, maNovember 17, 2014
to much stress and not enough reason to go through it and stay...a typical day at charter was answering phone calls and being a verbal punching bag to the customers on the other end...charter wanted to have there cake and eat it to and they are not in the environment to do so
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great people to work with.
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times
Cons: sometimes we had short lunch breaks.
A typical day at work was going in at 8am checking all emails and replying. Making sure all supplies are put on correct trucks and sent off in a timely manner. I learned that if I put my best foot forward everything can be taken care of the way it is supposed to be to meet deadlines. The management was very understanding and gave a great helping hand. – more... The hardest part of the job was having 30 trucks in one day and making sure all supplies were sent off on correct trucks but I made sure it was done correctly. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I did everything correctly and the clients were very nice and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter Communications
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicopee, MANovember 17, 2014
Pros: being able to be face to face with so many customers.
Cons: it was a temporary position.
Working for this company as a temporary associate was a great experience. It put me face to face with tons of customers in a fast pace environment and I enjoyed it dearly even when the customers weren't so pleasant. I fell in love with this environment, it was filled with positive coworkers and management exactly what I look for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
DSR (Current Employee), CaƱon City, CONovember 12, 2014
Pros: paid gas, hotel stays, and good working enviorment
Cons: travel about an hour a way
The work enviorment was great just the traveling and time from family was a concern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Georgia , McdonoughNovember 11, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: free tv phone and internet
A typical work day at Charter, would be keying daily drop payments. Enter acking with the customers taking there payments going over there billing upgrading there services or entering in new service.

The hardest part of my job is when there was no communication rather be with a technician going out to thier home and not fixing the issue.

Most enjoyable – more... part is when they leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and safe enviroment
Telecom Tech (Current Employee), Davison,MINovember 10, 2014
Charter is a really good place to work for. They take care of their employees very well and always make sure we have all the safety, tools and any other equipment needed. A typical day at work consists of logging in and seeing where your first job is and than completing each job through out the day. Every job is different so your not doing the same – more... thing over and over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and downs. Most advancement is within first 5 years.
Technician (Current Employee), WisconsinNovember 8, 2014
Pros: not stuck in a cubicle. can be physically demanding.
Cons: inclement weather, very little room for true advancement, mostly lateral moves
Get jobs on PDA, drive to work area. Repeat. Direct supervisors are great, co-workers helpful. Hardest part is dealing with the inclement weather and 24/7 work/oncall schedule. Best part is working outside and interacting with different people on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter Communications Review
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Simpsonville, SCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: catered lunch/dinner, free trips, gift cards, healthcare benefits
I worked second shift from 3:30 p.m. to 12:00 a.m.
I would set a desk and take incoming sales calls from new customers looking for cable, internet, and telephone. I would build rapport by asking open ended questions on what my customers would be looking for. The management there was awesome they always did what they could to further advance your communication – more... skills on the phone with customers. The co-workers were mediocre. Sometimes you would be seated next to someone who really enjoys the job while other times the person seated next to you hated it. Hardest part of the job was nothing really. The daily goals were very reachable. The most enjoyable part was the trips they gave away to the top sellers as well as vendor (HBO, Showtime, Etc) would come in and tell us if you sell this much in this amount of time we will give you gift cards that would sometimes go up to 1000 dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Internet Representative (Former Employee), Louisville KYNovember 5, 2014
Pros: alone
Cons: alone
This job was boring. i was in an office alone everyday, all day. There wasnt an opportunity to change or move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Excitement
Warehouse Technician (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCNovember 4, 2014
A typical day at work is long and more there is no excitement management doesn't interact with you unless it is necessary. All of my co workers are looking for other work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Technology Lead (Current Employee), Denver,CoOctober 31, 2014
Awesome place to work and awesome people to interact and work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent supervisors, unrealistic expectations
Broadband Technician (Former Employee), Yakima, WAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free tv/internet/phone
Cons: unrealistic expectations. no end to the work day
This job was great... at first. Although my supervisor was completely incompetent, my co-workers were awesome. We would routinely work together at the end of the day so that we all might go home at a decent hour. You never knew what time you would get done, so don't expect much of a personal life after hours.

Then they started implementing metrics – more... that would affect your annual raises, which wasn't that big of a deal if you did your job. However, one metric that was used (and subsequently, the reason i was terminated) is to have another tech follow behind your work and "grade" your work. You would fail if you missed one or two little things, most of them not affecting the customer's services at all.

Don't go into this job thinking that you will be able to flourish on good customer service and common sense approaches to problems. They will not let you get away with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with some great people
seinor system tech (Former Employee), Davison, MIOctober 30, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: saftey issues
was a good place to work years ago but saftey is an issue as you are called out at night to do repairs on the plant and in some areas there are heavy woods and your out there bye yourself on extention ladders working alone in the dark guess if ya fall you will be found eventually.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Technical Support Rep/WIP dept (Former Employee), Hickory, NCOctober 27, 2014
Management was good
not much in advancement
worked with you on your schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Simpsonville, SCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: sales competitiveness
great company
tipical work day
great selling opportunitys
meet new people
speak with people across the u.s
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Direct Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Madison, WIOctober 23, 2014
Great place to work. Lots of perks and benefits. Great health insurance benefits and 401k. Depending on your position you may have a company phone and paid for gas while traveling on the job. There is potential to make countless amounts of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well structured
Senior Field Auditor (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 23, 2014
management cares, fair benefit package. compensation could be a little more fairer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job...for the right person
Broadband technician 3 (Former Employee), Albertville, ALOctober 22, 2014
worked for 4 years, slight raise each year (3 %), benefits are awesome (company vehicle, free cable, internet,phone) Some management is awesome, some are idiots. Coworkers can help you out in a bind. Stupidity is rampant from higher ups. Performance metrics are used to rate you for raises. No commission on in-house upgrades anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charter
Broadband Technician II (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 22, 2014
I did not like Charter Communications. They don't take care of their employees.

1 2 3 4 5

About Charter Communications

Charter Communications navigates the waters of US cable services. The cable system operator has about 5 million mostly-residential – Read more

Charter Communications Photos