Find companies:
Chartis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

Chartis Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Vice President-Head of Operations (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2012
good learning experience..........................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management.
Underwriting Technician - Construction (Current Employee), Berkeley Heights, NJOctober 15, 2012
A tyical day at work requires a lot of multi-tasking. I learned about the underwriting side of the business. The majority of my co-workers are a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shoddy management, no career advancement
claim examiner (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2012
Cons: short breaks
they hire through personal connection than job performance; almost entirely female office full of bickering, resentmen and unusual enmity when a younger one comes in, and way too much of gossip. incompetent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Senior Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: good company
Cons: production base less of quality
-Busy, multi-tasking was applied
-State / Industry Standard
-Goal Oriented
-Get along good
-Month end
-Learning a lot of new avenues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to Home but My Manager & Supervisor Stunk
Business Analyst & Deployment Coordinator (Former Employee), Berkeley Heights, NJSeptember 5, 2012
As I expected, the environment was fast-paced, but I found the expectations to be unrealistic. My trainer was excellent, but the manager & supervisor were both cut-throats & jerks. Real back-stabbers. The work was new & difficult for me, but I gave it my best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Underwriter (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 4, 2012
Work was busy at times. Line of communication was not always clear from management down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging development experiences
Application software manager (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJSeptember 4, 2012
1) Managing assignments for SAP MDM
2) Automating systems that only provide manual interfaces improves performance, functionality and error reduction
3) Explanation of tasks to subordinates to improve effiency
4) I want to work with smart people who add and question ideas instead of just following orders
5) Continuing to grow
6) Successful completion – more... of an assignment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic environment full of clicks and rumors, totally unprofessional.
First Notice of Loss Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 27, 2012
Pros: free parking, cheap beverages.
Cons: lazy people get important positions, which means the most important and vital positions have someone either with an attitude, or a phone they won't answer.
Working for this company is for one who believes in looking out for themselves, and staying to themselves. Getting close to people only gets you turned on. Everyone's business gets thrown around, and it's run by a micromanagement team of "yes men", and rules are created by those who obviously have never done the job. People are underpaid coming in the – more... door, and your success is not based on your ability and work ethic. It's based on who you befriend, and even then once you get the position, it's only if they see in you that they can use you as a personal spawn to accomplish their dirty work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall great place to work
Sr. Loss Sensitive Analyst - Commercial Insurance (Current Employee), Berkeley Heights, NJAugust 18, 2012
Chartis is a great place to work. It supports a good work/life balance. The compan is also involved in many, many charitable activities that the employees get to participate in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Issues
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Berkeley Heights, NJAugust 10, 2012
Pros: pay and ot was available
Cons: sense of urgency was very much over done.
When working there i was surprised at the lack of moral or ethical behavior among the upper-management. the pressure of the work, which is simple and redundant, was very unnecessary, but i have built long and lasting relationships.

November 12, 2012

Extraordinary politically correct environment. Many layers of management, internal clients and communications challenges. If you're not of the 'cube farm' predisposition stay away from the Berkeley Heights operation. And with a new rating system for employees that pits disparate job types against each other for high ratings which equal bonus amounts, there's a growing degree of discontent.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work Environment
Underwriter Assistant (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJAugust 7, 2012
Pros: lax office environment
Cons: overwhelming expectations at times, lack of training
One of the better work environments in terms of people to work with. Unfortunately due to the economic climate, the changes made were very harsh to the staff, from health care changes to staff layoffs.
The people are incredible and really can perform under intense pressure. The knowledge attained from the day to day operations is top notch. However, – more... most times it seems as though the staff does not get the credit or reap any rewards for their hard work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartis is a great company to work for
Supervisor (Current Employee), Berkeley HeightsAugust 2, 2012
I feel Chartis overall is a great company to work for. The leadership, compensation, benefits, and guidance allows individuals to keep motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with the sales and marketing of company products.
Business Development Executive (Former Employee), San Juan, PRAugust 1, 2012
Pros: gained experience from the corporate world.
Cons: not a challenging job.
Direct contacts with Producers.
Worked together with the Profit Centers to achieve their assigned budgets.
Prepared proposals, brochures, flyers, and presentations for clients and producers.
Liaison between the clients/producers and the Profit Centers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment, very exciting and great exposure. There was never a dull moment.
SENIOR UNDERWRITER (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: company is innovative in its approach to accepting risk.
Cons: the company is seen by competitors as being too innovative in the industry.
There was never a typical day and I guess that was what you could say was the norm. The company is known for being an innovator in the market place so we were pivoting on a daily basis to server our customer. I learned that I never want to work for someone who lacks ambition and is waiting to retire and I also learned that with the right focus and continuous – more... communication you can evolve out of any crisis (AIG financial crisis). Company is management seems top heavy, too many EVPs, VPs and SVPs. The challenging part of the job was trying to sell a product which just suffered major brand damage. Most enjoyable part of the job was the exposure to various companies and markets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Good Work Environment
Underwriting Technician (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2012
This company talks about teamwork but doesn't facilitate that philosphy in its individual units. Many unhappy and dissatisfied employees. Employee counterparts are unprofessional, rude and unwilling to assist. Management is more like the good old boys club. Management turns a blind eye when people who are good at their jobs but not with other people. – more... They put people in charge who don't want to be and those people who are suppose to train don't want to share information. Most of the employees have a bad opinion of the company and express bias. They don't appreciate employees and more interested in profits than making happy employees. A happy employee creates a profitable environment for everyone concerned. Management isn't respectful to subordinates and are lazy and look to blame assistants for their mistakes, so document, document and document. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work enviorment
Process Technican (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 4, 2012
Pros: rworking from home
Cons: lunch
Prioritizing and managing my inventory of audits to complete/finalize 10 audits or more per day. I have learned how to work independtly as this is a remote access job. My management and co-workers are extremely professional, helpful and resourceful. System issues are challenging due to updates and server locking. I enjoy learning something new everyday,problem – more... solving and researching. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not as good as it was
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee), Maitland, FLJune 27, 2012
Pros: good place to learn the various fields of insurance
Cons: currently downsizing
Chartis was a good place to work when it was AIG. After it's financial collapse, government bail out, and name change to Chartis, it hasn't been the same company you can rely on to retire with after years of service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Project Lead (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJJune 13, 2012
Pros: laid back culture
Cons: job growth difficult
Overall it is a good place to work.
Though the procedures and change management is archaic.

Good job gurantee and relaxed atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A talented, educated and versatile professional applying my experiences in multiple environments while allowing for professional growth.
Business Analyst (Former Employee), New YOrk, NYJune 5, 2012
Pros: christmas free lunch, dress down on last friday of each month in summer
Cons: no flex time
I began my career with Chartis in 1992 as an Underwriter Assistant in the field Energy group, which handled underwriting of policies for gas, chemical, petrochemical and oil companies. Shortly after, I was promoted to an Associate Business Analyst. After additional promotions, I became a Business Analyst within the corporate Operations Group. Due to – more... company downsizing, I was recently laid off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch P&C Company
VP, Financial Planning & Analysis (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 24, 2012
Chartis offered a great environment, entrepreneurial and challenging. Many opportunities for learning, career advancement. Excellent colleagues and a positive workplace

About Chartis

Even to this day American International Group (AIG) is one of the world's largest insurance firms. While it held the spotlight – Read more