Check 'n Go Employee Reviews

Found 405 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCSeptember 22, 2016
A typical day included ;customer service,bank deposits, and accounting.Manage staff to provide customer service .I enjoyed customers ,bank accounting,other associates.
Pros
Benefits, Customers
Cons
Bad Checks from customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Redding, CASeptember 21, 2016
Company goes above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. Co-workers were great and we ended up being best friends still 15 years later. FUN, FUN, FUN environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unconscious
Key Holder - Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 8, 2016
A long and boring day was a typical day at work. I can not really say much because what I learned was not really new to me. The co-workers didn't understand me. Not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Starting Point
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cathedral City, CASeptember 8, 2016
The good:
- A good place to build Customer Service Skills
- Business hours coincide with bank hours, so no late nights, and they are closed for the five major holidays

The bad:
- Locations are run with bare minimum labor coverage, CSR's are often left covering the store by themselves
- Promotions are rare, managers are often outside hires
- "Sales" goals are often unrealistic and "prizes" for meeting goals are typically $5 or $10 gift cards, definitely not worth the effort
- Employee's are often held responsible (fired) for the shortcomings of the company, especially managers

Summary:
Not a place you want to plan on working at for a long time, not a career environment. The company is more concerned with protecting the higher level staff that don't work at store level. Expect to be overworked and underpaid, perform demeaning marketing exercises including shaking a sign for oncoming traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed helping the customers
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INAugust 7, 2016
not enough hours available unless willing to travel 2-3 hours of driving time.the customers were a pleasure to assist also enjoyed the process of payday loans.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Task
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 6, 2016
⦁ Answer inquiries by clarifying desired information,researching, locating, and providing information.
⦁ Perform daily collections on NSF and delinquent customers
⦁ Major money handling and balance allocation
⦁ Typing skills
⦁ Loan underwriting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 29, 2016
Long and fast pace
Learned state laws
Love working with my manager and co- workers
Getting every complete on time
Helping out people in need
Pros
Company discounts
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Roseville, MIJuly 28, 2016
It was an experience within this company at the various locations that they have throughout all the Detroit metropolitan area
Pros
work
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for !
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJuly 24, 2016
This company has you working by yourself a lot of the time, they have unrealistic goals , training is not good, pay is low. Upper management is only out for themselves, they don't care about there customer service representatives at all, the turn over of employees is very high .
Pros
none
Cons
not enough time to take breaks, to much they want you to do, not enough hours to pay bills
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Waste Your Time
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaJuly 23, 2016
You are expected to meet unrealistic new customer goals, but you cannot control if a person is approved or denied for a loan. Co-workers and upper management were terrible. They pick favorites and if you were not part of the "cool club", life was extremely hard for you and your store. The pay is decent, but not enough for all you are expected to get done. You are held responsible for customers that do not pay, when half of these customers should have never been approved in the first place. You are told to ACH customer checking accounts for the past due amount, unless they have opted out of the ACH option. Some customers get REALLY upset when you ACH their accounts because their money is taken as soon as it hits their accounts. You will be in the store alone more that 80% of the time, which is not safe when you are handling cash. You are expected to run a successful store, complete all required paperwork, help customers, answer the phones on the 1st or 2nd ring, perform loans, make 3 rounds of collection calls, make courtesy calls, and go out daily to market the business. Upper management is an absolute joke. In case of an emergency, it is almost impossible to find someone to cover your store and the district manager would tell you it is your responsibility to find someone, DURING AN EMERGENCY! The only PRO is that you will get to meet various people and build relationships with your regular customers. No matter how hard you work to make your store successful, you will not get the recognition you deserve unless you are one of the chosen few. If you are someone who goes to work  more... to focus on doing a great job and does not like to gossip and chit-chat all day with other store managers, then you will not fit into the chosen group. You will have to deal with your district manager talking down to you on the conference calls and constantly being sarcastic when you are asking legitimate questions. You are not paid overtime due to being salaried, but you are expected to work up to 6 days a week if you do not have a csr. If you get sick and have to miss time, you are treated terribly.  less
Pros
Getting to know your regular customers.
Cons
Working alone 80%, Unprofessional upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about Check 'n Go?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable experience.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLJuly 22, 2016
Unfortunately although I had met a couple of decent managers, this branch in this part is not governed very well. it is also short staffed and they definitely show favoritism. The pay is not worth the stress or side tasks like holding a sign on the street. Hours were good though, if you do not mind never getting a break.
Cons
Poor management, large workload
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be happier making less elsewhere
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 22, 2016
I was always working alone. Makes it very challenging in getting daily tasks completed on top of servicing customers who come in or call. District Managers were not approachable. You can call and ask them a question/guidance but were always quick to brush you off and direct you to another store instead. Doing this over and over will eventually hurt the relationship between the district manager and its employees (you). Im unsure they realize this? The turnover rate is the highest ive ever seen in my 10+ years in working. this obviously says something about the company. some new training people will even quite during training. its not for everyone. its only for a very selected few. very stressful job. would rather much get paid less and be happier working elsewhere. I did learn a lot of skills. mainly how to multitask. sundays off were nice, some of the customers were a pleasure to work with, some of the associates were great too. if your not used to stress from previous jobs or in general, this might not be for you. if you know how to handle stress, you may be okay. benefits/insurance offerings weren't that great either. 401 k is not matched. im still thankful for working here since I got what I needed out of the job to move elsewhere and am making more money for a fraction of the stuff I dealt with. I give anyone major props for being with the company long term. if your 3 or 4 months in the job and feel its not a fit, start looking elsewhere. do not wait!
Pros
sundays off, learn great skills, get off early on saturday, some of the people were a joy to work with, if full time you will get a few mondays off with pay due to holidays.
Cons
management not supportive or approachable, a lot of favoritism, if you have a soul you may feel bad for seeing these people pay so much in interest, benefits are the worse ive ever had, you will work alone with the expectation of completing almost everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work for.
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJuly 18, 2016
This job was very demanding of marketing. I had to push out about 500 flyers a week. Meaning I had to close the store drive around to parking lots and stick flyers on peoples cars. If you did not meet your numbers for the month you were at risk for termination. So basically if you don't get new customers in at least 3 a day they think you didn't do your flyers. The management was very hard to work for. By management I mean the District managers. They were always very mean and I would see my store manager crying after a conference call. They basically made you constantly aware that you could be fired.
Cons
Everything about this job is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Check n Go is a fun but stressful place to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJuly 14, 2016
My manager and coworkers were great to work with, but the top of the company does not understand what happens in the stores and branches and they tend to make changes to policies that in end hurt the business. They then expect the employees to maintain growth when the policies are enforced, and the customers and employees just do not like how things are run.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work place to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 13, 2016
Worst employer I have ever had, the managment has to much favoritism. The company just cares about making sales and nothing more.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
pay is not good for the work that is being done
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 11, 2016
This company was awesome to work for. All the people who reported to me were a great pleasure to work with. I would reccomend this company to anyone.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
worked every holiday and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Workplace, Good Employees
Part Time Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Banos, CAJuly 9, 2016
The management was amazing and I had a fun time interacting with my fellow employees and promoting the company was something I took pride in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
check n go
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 8, 2016
Company should care more about their workers, employees are made to work in horrible work conditions and are expected to suffer
Pros
pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheboygan, WIJuly 8, 2016
I love my job here at Check N Go, I've been here for almost 10 years and see myself here for many years to come. It's a great company to work for, I started as a part time CSR and advanced to manager, company takes good care of their employees.
Pros
Bonuses, heath care benefits, interaction with customers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced job
Assist Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  El cajon, San Diego, CAJune 23, 2016
Amazing management, good relations with customers, learned to handle big amounts of money in cash. The most enjoyable aspect is getting to understand how loans work, the process of payments, and the benefits.
Pros
understanding managers
Cons
high pressure from costumers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Check 'n Go. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 406 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9