Find companies:
Check 'n Go
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Check 'n Go Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 23, 2014
Pros: start job
Cons: type of industry
This job was a great starter job. Helped me gain customer service experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Store Manager
Former Store Manager (Former Employee), VirginiaAugust 1, 2014
Pros: none they are the worse
Cons: none they are the worse
I have never worked for such a cold hearted unprofessional place of business in my life. Allied (check n go) will promise you the moon and the stars and you will not see any of it. The district manager is a lying, master manipulator, and just cold hearted. They have you working in offices alone from open to close sometimes six days a week. They exspect – more... you to do fifteen different things by yourself. You get no lunch break. They force you to cover other stores because they are short staff. They only pay Csr's 9.00 at part time hours but end up working them full time hours with out the pay or benifits. The district director barks orders that she herself can not perform. You can't call in if your sick or have a emergency even with your sick time because the district manager will manipulate you, use things you say about your personal life against you. The turn over rate is crazy because of the way they treat you. They butter it up really good in the interview and then it turns out nothing like they stated. I would not recommend this company to anyone not for employment or business. They care soly on their self and their money not about you as a person, employee or customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work, learn how to work with a lot of different situation.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 23, 2014
A typical day at work started with my making collection calls to customer banks. Putting up signage and getting the store ready for my customer coming into the store. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping customer getting their loan process and complete so they can receive the loan they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
District Manager (Former Employee), Los AngelesJuly 1, 2014
Pros: busy stores
Cons: customer service suffered due to understaffing
Very productive days and challenging days. There was not one day I never felt I was not challenged and I liked that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not a good company
CSR (Former Employee), Santa Maria, CAMay 31, 2014
Pros: pick when you want to go to lunch, marketing gets you out of the store.
Cons: way too many turnovers, poor upper management, never hiring people, expect way too much, always pointing out the negative than the positive
Typical day at check n go was repetitive, same thing different day. I did learn new job skills and did help my resume build. Management is overall the worst. Except my store manager was the shining star within the whole district. The fellow co workers are all nice i got along with everybody easy going you can say. hardest part of the job is the collection – more... calls. The most enjoyable part of the job i would say is working with the great co workers because it makes the day go by faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Compensated
Store Manager (Former Employee), Reno, NVMay 27, 2014
This company offers a great benefits package. I really enjoyed my coworkers, and a great deal of support from my DDO. I learned to manage people in an effective manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical bad company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXApril 12, 2014
Pros: lunch hour if you're lucky
Cons: everything else
Poor pay , poor management , company experts a lot out of you for very little pay .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced financial company with new and improved marketing.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Vernal, UtahApril 7, 2014
Check n` Go is a great company to work for, I learned and achieved a lot of different skills that I will utilize with other companies. Good management, as well as corporate advisory. The hardest part of the job itself was the process of Loan Applications. The most enjoyable part of the job was the clients and daily contact with each client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't apply here!
csr (Former Employee), southern CaliforniaMarch 20, 2014
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: unsafe, demeaning, poor compensation
I only worked at this place for 3 weeks before a girl at another store in my district got shot and killed! The worst part is that our district manager didn't feel the need tp mention it to anyone instead we had customers call us and let us know. The district manager didn't say anything to us about it for 3 whole days! These people don't care for your – more... safety and make your life seem worthless by offering you minimum wage. I worked there for 3 months and my district got robbed on 4 separate occasions. Everyone quit at my store and by my second month working for the company I ran an entire store by myself with absolutely no training offered at all. I only wanted to be a part time employee but because there was nobody tp cover the store I became full time. They never offered me a pay raise and wouldn't give me one when I asked to make more than $9.00 they wouldn't even make me full time so that I could at least earn sick pay and vacation time, my district manager said that was because I wanted to be part time! I have made a $19,000 deposit one time and had to do it by myself I could have been robbed or killed at any time and these people just don't care all they want is a profit. They won't give you Locked doors with buzzers or bulletproof glass, hell in my store anyone who wanted to could just walk in my back room there wasn't even a door and that's where they keep all the customers banking info and socials. Basically don't work here! Run for your life! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
past employee (Former Employee), La crosse, WIMarch 10, 2014
Cons: no benefits not great pay and lack of security
I worked there for 5 months the store got robbed twice. If you are not a manager you don't get. Vacation sick pay or benefits. I left cause I didn't feel safe working by myself with all that money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
csr (Former Employee), Central IowaMarch 7, 2014
Pros: not physically hard job unless cant be on feet most of day
Cons: hostile work enviroment, unsafe work conditions
I at first really enjoyed my job with this company then I realized it was a go no where unless you were very cushy with boss. He permitted illegal behavior & I was retaliated against & threatened for reporting my superior for said infractions. Like other people posted you are expected to drop your personal life to drive anywhere they want you to at – more... moments notice & you don't even get a thank you from big boss. (you might get one from store employee who you are covering for- cause she/he is probably working store solo & needs a day off from exhaustion.) While I worked at my location I had to go in 2 days with 102 degree fever with severe bronchitis cause I had no one else to help out. I also got reprimanded for store alarm went off once at 1 in a.m we had recent problems with our local police force so I took my spouse to store with me, cause manager wouldn't answer her phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Temecula CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: good heathl insurance to all employees. both, part time and full time.
Cons: none.
Greeting customers, spending time with each customer to help them make a good choice for their financial needs. We cashed all type of checks. We performed Western Union Services. Sending money to other countries, states, cities. We process bill payments for customers. As a store manager i had to market for the company to grow the business of my store. – more... I had to double check the paperwork that came through the store to make sure my co workers were processing loans correctly and up to state requirements. My co workers were friendly team players. We always came together to make sure things were always completed before we went home at the end of our shift. The hardest part of my job was leaving. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with a bunch of different people that were in different type of issues, It was something different everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of coworkers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCJanuary 8, 2014
I learned to process applications and checks for customers that were approved for loans, collect checks, make collection calls.
I enjoyed working with coworkers and management
I truly enjoyed helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVOID LIKE THE PLAQUE
Store Manager (Former Employee), Los AngelesDecember 11, 2013
Pros: you get networking and management experience
Cons: workload/social life wont' be easy to balance
I gave 6 years of my life to this organization. I learned to how to interact with many people on a one-on-one basis. My management skills improved. I was able to out perform other stores on key performance indicators (buy back percentage, debt, and growth), however Check N Go is greedy! you will have to give 100,000,000. percent in every category to – more... be successful.

Hardest Part:
You'll never please upper management. You'll deal with favoritism, sexual harassment , (The District Managers often sleep around with the CSRS) and there are always safety concerns.

Stores always robbed, employees tied up, employees have been killed, but the company will not install bullet proof glass for protection.

Unrealistic goals & lousy bonuses:
When I first arrived, the metrics to bonus were realistic,achievable and worthwhile. Today. Its hard to motivate a CSR when the company doesn't compensate the customer service representative's hard work. By the way, the bonuses were $500 and up every month. I received $500 just to work for the company. Its hard to stay motivated when the company SHOWS you they don't care.

Enjoyable Part:
You will be become a financial bartender: You will get to know people, and they will you everything. Network, Network Network. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my employment but they didn't deliver on everything promised
Store Manager (Former Employee), Plymouth, INDecember 7, 2013
Pros: enjoyed working with the public
Cons: company not doing what policy states
Manager: Manage busy office with staff & customers
 Had outstanding numbers in the state
 Trained new managers for Indiana Check ‘N Go’s
 Our store was named store of the year 5 of the 6 years I managed it
 Kept store up to date & fully stocked
 Kept up to date customer confidential files, made collection calls as needed, bank run, daily deposits – more... & other duties – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fast paced and always friendly faces with all customers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Farmersville, CANovember 29, 2013
Pros: learned new skills everyday and always kept me on my feet.
Cons: i always worked by myself even on super busy days.
I loved the company because of the people i got to meet and the friendly customers i dealt with. Rarely had a gloomy or grouchy customer who I had to handle. The hardest part of my job was the SWATS (check and files audits) we had to do weekly. I couldn't seem to get that routine down. The best part of the job was the customers and employees i got to – more... work with. Mostly the weekends I had off to spend with my family. What I learned from working there was always keep a positive attitude and always work fast. Sell Sell Sell and up sell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
customer service representative (Former Employee), michiganNovember 21, 2013
Pros: hour lunch...if you're lucky.
Cons: poor management and just about everything else
I was a customer service rep for close to two years there and it was awful. The turnover rate is insane. People are constantly quitting or being fired. They don't pay near enough for all you are expected to do. Including dropping everything for work at any time and driving long distances to cover other stores. When my manager got let go I was bumped – more... up to full time and got a TEMPORARY $1 raise. Since there was only my manager and myself I ended up doing csr and manager duties without being given extra time or much help. The management is awful and full of favortism. I loved the job itself but the district management and other store managers make it a really awful place to work. The stress and drama that comes with the job is not worth anything they offer you for pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever to work
Csr (Current Employee), birmingham alabamaOctober 14, 2013
Pros: lite saturday work
Cons: company cares about how much money they are making
Don't work here! I was a csr and I did all of the managers work she fixed the schedule to fit her need I brought in most of the business and she got paid for it. Managers got paid for gas but they never went to the bank or marketing. Just not a good career move save yourself the trouble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
CSR (Former Employee), Modesto, CAOctober 9, 2013
Cons: no security for employees, terrible pay, always having people quit.
This is the worst place to work. They have you work by yourself and around lots of cash. They have been robbed several times. They don't provide any security such as a glass barrier. They are more worried about the customers than employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work at!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New YorkSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: hour break
Cons: everything else.
I am a former customer service representative of Check N Go. That company will over work you and under pay you. I was never given a set schedule and they expected me to drive extremely long distances to help out at other stores. Whenever I did have a schedule set it, I never got off on time. My District Director was upset that I had worked over the – more... hours they wanted me to have and he threatened to write up the managers. The District Director was very rude and also the store managers had very bad attitudes. – less

About Check 'n Go

About Check 'n Go For more than 15 years, Check 'n Go has been a leading provider of convenient consumer financial products. Headquartered – Read more