Check 'n Go Employee Reviews

Found 415 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a ok job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 1, 2016
Good job but not enough hours .. Hate driving to different locations..
Its only one person working a day .. Hardest part is doing everything on your own. Management are lazy..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince George, VADecember 1, 2016
Meeting new people from all walks of life assisting them with their short term financial needs. Inputting information in our system, answering calls about our service.
Pros
None
Cons
The company did not survive a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job dynamics
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILNovember 28, 2016
Overall, work and life balance did not work. High turnover, hours were not great. Late nights and then back in early in the morning.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
Not enough employees and crabby customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 13, 2016
Store fronts are small and manageable. Interpersonal skills are a must with good cash handling and customer service skills. Just do your job and don't expect to move up.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Hard to advance, no security in place to protect employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great learning work place.
Administrative Assistant/Head Loan Teller (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 9, 2016
a typical day at work at Check N Go was very productive as for making collection calls, bank runs, and daily loan operations.. I learned a lot of great things at check n go as far as loan processing is done. very low supervision as far as management goes. the hardest part about check n go was obtaining normal full time hours. I enjoyed meeting new people and getting my job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predatory Lending Trap
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2016
Horrible experience. Once I was tricked into taking the job from management who misrepresented the job details, they threw me into a store all alone and not properly trained and left me working alone 6 days a week from open to close. Was told I need to "suck it up" when I informed my district supervisor that I needed to go to the emergency room. As soon as I was able to find an out, I escaped their trap.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No work/life balance, unable to use vacation time, predatory sales practices
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not reccomend
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Deming, NMOctober 26, 2016
This job is not easy and it's rewards are few. The management and other employee(s) actively looked for a way to fire me because I don't speak Spanish.
Pros
receipt reimbursement for travel expenses
Cons
racism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Check n Go friendly fun work place
Lead Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 21, 2016
Since working with Check N Go, I've learned and experienced from many situations. I've learned how to communicate with co-workers and customers, speak up I would say. The Check N Go employees are more like friends then co-workers they make it a friendly and productive work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work...
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Schererville, INOctober 7, 2016
Working here was difficult but not as rewarding as the difficulty mandates. For the amount of hours a manager has to put in, the pay is less than substantial. Couple that with having to track down customers, deal with daily threats and rudeness, and few hours for other employees and it can be a hassle. That being said the management is helpful and want you to succeed. Overall an ok experience.
Pros
Great way to develop yourself
Cons
Quite a few but they are manageable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOSeptember 24, 2016
I loved this job until the owner shutdown all his brick and mortar stores. He left his employees hanging to make a dollar.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCSeptember 22, 2016
A typical day included ;customer service,bank deposits, and accounting.Manage staff to provide customer service .I enjoyed customers ,bank accounting,other associates.
Pros
Benefits, Customers
Cons
Bad Checks from customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Redding, CASeptember 21, 2016
Company goes above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. Co-workers were great and we ended up being best friends still 15 years later. FUN, FUN, FUN environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unconscious
Key Holder - Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 8, 2016
A long and boring day was a typical day at work. I can not really say much because what I learned was not really new to me. The co-workers didn't understand me. Not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Starting Point
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cathedral City, CASeptember 8, 2016
The good:
- A good place to build Customer Service Skills
- Business hours coincide with bank hours, so no late nights, and they are closed for the five major holidays

The bad:
- Locations are run with bare minimum labor coverage, CSR's are often left covering the store by themselves
- Promotions are rare, managers are often outside hires
- "Sales" goals are often unrealistic and "prizes" for meeting goals are typically $5 or $10 gift cards, definitely not worth the effort
- Employee's are often held responsible (fired) for the shortcomings of the company, especially managers

Summary:
Not a place you want to plan on working at for a long time, not a career environment. The company is more concerned with protecting the higher level staff that don't work at store level. Expect to be overworked and underpaid, perform demeaning marketing exercises including shaking a sign for oncoming traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed helping the customers
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INAugust 7, 2016
not enough hours available unless willing to travel 2-3 hours of driving time.the customers were a pleasure to assist also enjoyed the process of payday loans.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Task
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 6, 2016
⦁ Answer inquiries by clarifying desired information,researching, locating, and providing information.
⦁ Perform daily collections on NSF and delinquent customers
⦁ Major money handling and balance allocation
⦁ Typing skills
⦁ Loan underwriting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 29, 2016
Long and fast pace
Learned state laws
Love working with my manager and co- workers
Getting every complete on time
Helping out people in need
Pros
Company discounts
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Roseville, MIJuly 28, 2016
It was an experience within this company at the various locations that they have throughout all the Detroit metropolitan area
Pros
work
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for !
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJuly 24, 2016
This company has you working by yourself a lot of the time, they have unrealistic goals , training is not good, pay is low. Upper management is only out for themselves, they don't care about there customer service representatives at all, the turn over of employees is very high .
Pros
none
Cons
not enough time to take breaks, to much they want you to do, not enough hours to pay bills
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Waste Your Time
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaJuly 23, 2016
You are expected to meet unrealistic new customer goals, but you cannot control if a person is approved or denied for a loan. Co-workers and upper management were terrible. They pick favorites and if you were not part of the "cool club", life was extremely hard for you and your store. The pay is decent, but not enough for all you are expected to get done. You are held responsible for customers that do not pay, when half of these customers should have never been approved in the first place. You are told to ACH customer checking accounts for the past due amount, unless they have opted out of the ACH option. Some customers get REALLY upset when you ACH their accounts because their money is taken as soon as it hits their accounts. You will be in the store alone more that 80% of the time, which is not safe when you are handling cash. You are expected to run a successful store, complete all required paperwork, help customers, answer the phones on the 1st or 2nd ring, perform loans, make 3 rounds of collection calls, make courtesy calls, and go out daily to market the business. Upper management is an absolute joke. In case of an emergency, it is almost impossible to find someone to cover your store and the district manager would tell you it is your responsibility to find someone, DURING AN EMERGENCY! The only PRO is that you will get to meet various people and build relationships with your regular customers. No matter how hard you work to make your store successful, you will not get the recognition you deserve unless you are one of the chosen few. If you are someone who goes to work  more... to focus on doing a great job and does not like to gossip and chit-chat all day with other store managers, then you will not fit into the chosen group. You will have to deal with your district manager talking down to you on the conference calls and constantly being sarcastic when you are asking legitimate questions. You are not paid overtime due to being salaried, but you are expected to work up to 6 days a week if you do not have a csr. If you get sick and have to miss time, you are treated terribly.  less
Pros
Getting to know your regular customers.
Cons
Working alone 80%, Unprofessional upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Check 'n Go. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 416 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9