Check 'n Go Employee Reviews

Found 433 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought was a great opportunity but worst mistake ever
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 9, 2017
Management is horrible and has no idea how to train anyone and micro manages without taking responsibility and just lets people go instantly for no reasoning because there horrible management and training. They throw you in there not telling you about breaks who to call, and I feel corporate needs to know there district manager is the reason why there's still turn over and people leaving because of poor management and training. Good people were let go or left due to her and poor skills as a district manager.
Pros
Only thing hours were good
Cons
Many cons poor management and training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard payday advance company
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Ionia, MIJanuary 8, 2017
Standard payday advance company that uses customer personal checks as leverage for cash advance. A typical day is calling to other stores in your region and checking for multiple accounts for customers. Running background checks on customers. Calling banks to check for funds if customers do not come in to pay their balances. Deals with large amounts of cash and a lot of banking with banks in the area.
Pros
fun work, good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSDecember 28, 2016
I am always looking for advanc
Decent hours and days, builds customer relationships, flexible schedule, clerical experience, manager worked around school and internship schedule, slow at times.

, very high turnover rate, minimum hours per store, dress code, demanding goals, required to do human directional which includes holding a sign on the corner by your store for x amount of minutes, GREED
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predatory Lending Trap
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2016
Horrible experience. Once I was tricked into taking the job from management who misrepresented the job details, they threw me into a store all alone and not properly trained and left me working alone 6 days a week from open to close. Was told I need to "suck it up" when I informed my district supervisor that I needed to go to the emergency room. As soon as I was able to find an out, I escaped their trap.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No work/life balance, unable to use vacation time, predatory sales practices
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great learning work place.
Administrative Assistant/Head Loan Teller (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 9, 2016
a typical day at work at Check N Go was very productive as for making collection calls, bank runs, and daily loan operations.. I learned a lot of great things at check n go as far as loan processing is done. very low supervision as far as management goes. the hardest part about check n go was obtaining normal full time hours. I enjoyed meeting new people and getting my job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not hard work but can be morally difficult for soft-hearted people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IADecember 28, 2016
Typical day includes running to the bank and preparing the store for open, as well as preparing the store for close. Days can be long (it was not uncommon to work from 8AM to close at 6PM multiple days a week). Collections is probably the hardest work that needs to be done while here, for multiple reasons. 1) It's very difficult to get a hold of people who know they owe you money and don't/can't pay it, and 2) sometimes getting the money you are owed (usually directly from the bank before the customer has a chance to withdraw all the money in their account) can make you feel slimy and despicable. Bad experiences are few and far between, but they can stick with you for a long time.
Pros
Most days tend to be pretty quiet, company pays very well for travel
Cons
No scheduled breaks, work can be morally draining
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work...
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Schererville, INOctober 7, 2016
Working here was difficult but not as rewarding as the difficulty mandates. For the amount of hours a manager has to put in, the pay is less than substantial. Couple that with having to track down customers, deal with daily threats and rudeness, and few hours for other employees and it can be a hassle. That being said the management is helpful and want you to succeed. Overall an ok experience.
Pros
Great way to develop yourself
Cons
Quite a few but they are manageable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 23, 2017
Not enough employees per the amount of customers, always felt rushed and customers would get upset due to lack of help and long waits. Expectations were always way to high, goals were never good enough.
Cons
pay rate, benefits, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Check n Go friendly fun work place
Lead Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 21, 2016
Since working with Check N Go, I've learned and experienced from many situations. I've learned how to communicate with co-workers and customers, speak up I would say. The Check N Go employees are more like friends then co-workers they make it a friendly and productive work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payday Loans
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIFebruary 6, 2017
Process payday loans and sold money orders. Open and closed the store everyday. Trained new customer service representatives as they were hired. Did outside marketing from time to time.
Pros
Met new people everyday
Cons
different attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHNovember 13, 2016
Store fronts are small and manageable. Interpersonal skills are a must with good cash handling and customer service skills. Just do your job and don't expect to move up.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Hard to advance, no security in place to protect employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganJanuary 1, 2017
In general not the best place to work. Very high stress with brutal sales goals. Almost no chance for advancement with a high turnover rate at all levels.
Pros
Good hours of operation
Cons
No breaks, difficult to cover for time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Starting Point
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cathedral City, CASeptember 8, 2016
The good:
- A good place to build Customer Service Skills
- Business hours coincide with bank hours, so no late nights, and they are closed for the five major holidays

The bad:
- Locations are run with bare minimum labor coverage, CSR's are often left covering the store by themselves
- Promotions are rare, managers are often outside hires
- "Sales" goals are often unrealistic and "prizes" for meeting goals are typically $5 or $10 gift cards, definitely not worth the effort
- Employee's are often held responsible (fired) for the shortcomings of the company, especially managers

Summary:
Not a place you want to plan on working at for a long time, not a career environment. The company is more concerned with protecting the higher level staff that don't work at store level. Expect to be overworked and underpaid, perform demeaning marketing exercises including shaking a sign for oncoming traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company where one can be self managed.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2017
A place where someone who likes to work on an individual customer service basis, where one can self manager their workload as well as workday. Schedule is easily manageable as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince George, VADecember 1, 2016
Meeting new people from all walks of life assisting them with their short term financial needs. Inputting information in our system, answering calls about our service.
Pros
None
Cons
The company did not survive a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIDecember 15, 2016
People coming and going.People come here for help. Helping the customer . Knowing you are able to help. the person i worked with was great .they thought me alot. great place to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work for.
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIJuly 18, 2016
This job was very demanding of marketing. I had to push out about 500 flyers a week. Meaning I had to close the store drive around to parking lots and stick flyers on peoples cars. If you did not meet your numbers for the month you were at risk for termination. So basically if you don't get new customers in at least 3 a day they think you didn't do your flyers. The management was very hard to work for. By management I mean the District managers. They were always very mean and I would see my store manager crying after a conference call. They basically made you constantly aware that you could be fired.
Cons
Everything about this job is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greedy Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAFebruary 1, 2017
They are out to get you. Ive never seen so many people get played for their own money. But i guess that comes with the job. People payed back 5000 on a 1000 loan.
Pros
hours
Cons
angry people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work for !
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJuly 24, 2016
This company has you working by yourself a lot of the time, they have unrealistic goals , training is not good, pay is low. Upper management is only out for themselves, they don't care about there customer service representatives at all, the turn over of employees is very high .
Pros
none
Cons
not enough time to take breaks, to much they want you to do, not enough hours to pay bills
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
STORE MANAGER & STATE TRAINING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 14, 2017
No dull moment, strong support from senior management, advancement opportunities for most, need to be able to mold to lots of different types of people, not the "lazy mans" job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Check 'n Go. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 434 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9