Check 'n Go Employee Reviews

Found 433 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 23, 2017
Not enough employees per the amount of customers, always felt rushed and customers would get upset due to lack of help and long waits. Expectations were always way to high, goals were never good enough.
Cons
pay rate, benefits, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought was a great opportunity but worst mistake ever
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 9, 2017
Management is horrible and has no idea how to train anyone and micro manages without taking responsibility and just lets people go instantly for no reasoning because there horrible management and training. They throw you in there not telling you about breaks who to call, and I feel corporate needs to know there district manager is the reason why there's still turn over and people leaving because of poor management and training. Good people were let go or left due to her and poor skills as a district manager.
Pros
Only thing hours were good
Cons
Many cons poor management and training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payday Loans
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIFebruary 6, 2017
Process payday loans and sold money orders. Open and closed the store everyday. Trained new customer service representatives as they were hired. Did outside marketing from time to time.
Pros
Met new people everyday
Cons
different attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greedy Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAFebruary 1, 2017
They are out to get you. Ive never seen so many people get played for their own money. But i guess that comes with the job. People payed back 5000 on a 1000 loan.
Pros
hours
Cons
angry people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 29, 2017
Job was simple, long hours on pay days for loans. only difficult part was the constant collection calls, calling banks for funds and the occasional sketchy person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
STORE MANAGER & STATE TRAINING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 14, 2017
No dull moment, strong support from senior management, advancement opportunities for most, need to be able to mold to lots of different types of people, not the "lazy mans" job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 8, 2017
Loved working there and still would be if the District Manger wasn't a trolling control freak. She would make most of the employees feel awful and degrading.
Pros
fun fun fun
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard payday advance company
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Ionia, MIJanuary 8, 2017
Standard payday advance company that uses customer personal checks as leverage for cash advance. A typical day is calling to other stores in your region and checking for multiple accounts for customers. Running background checks on customers. Calling banks to check for funds if customers do not come in to pay their balances. Deals with large amounts of cash and a lot of banking with banks in the area.
Pros
fun work, good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MI 49686January 6, 2017
The Census was a fun at your own pace job. I loved being out and about and meeting new people. I would do this job again any time. Very fun people to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company where one can be self managed.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2017
A place where someone who likes to work on an individual customer service basis, where one can self manager their workload as well as workday. Schedule is easily manageable as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganJanuary 1, 2017
In general not the best place to work. Very high stress with brutal sales goals. Almost no chance for advancement with a high turnover rate at all levels.
Pros
Good hours of operation
Cons
No breaks, difficult to cover for time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSDecember 28, 2016
I am always looking for advanc
Decent hours and days, builds customer relationships, flexible schedule, clerical experience, manager worked around school and internship schedule, slow at times.

, very high turnover rate, minimum hours per store, dress code, demanding goals, required to do human directional which includes holding a sign on the corner by your store for x amount of minutes, GREED
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not hard work but can be morally difficult for soft-hearted people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IADecember 28, 2016
Typical day includes running to the bank and preparing the store for open, as well as preparing the store for close. Days can be long (it was not uncommon to work from 8AM to close at 6PM multiple days a week). Collections is probably the hardest work that needs to be done while here, for multiple reasons. 1) It's very difficult to get a hold of people who know they owe you money and don't/can't pay it, and 2) sometimes getting the money you are owed (usually directly from the bank before the customer has a chance to withdraw all the money in their account) can make you feel slimy and despicable. Bad experiences are few and far between, but they can stick with you for a long time.
Pros
Most days tend to be pretty quiet, company pays very well for travel
Cons
No scheduled breaks, work can be morally draining
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STOP !!! Beware of poor training and pay
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chino, CADecember 23, 2016
Horrible experience for starters manager even complains about how cheap this company could be. I was not giving proper training at the interview they claim to help you be successful and how theirs place for advancement dnt be fooled ! Management can be rude even trainer seems like everyone lies in order to cover their selfs up . I had several bad experiences I'll give you two bad experiences while working their a coworker tried to cover themselves by blaming me for their error the second I had to be RETRAINED ! Because I supposedly wasn't doing things right when I wasn't even given the right information by the manager and I guess the trainer itself since I wasn't even properly trained then they put me into retraining really just beacause you decide to retrain me I have to take the blame to be slow and I was doing things the wrong way! They rush you into learning their products no patience and it's not even worth it ! This is a low paying job you have to do millions of things while underpay. No overtime allow they dnt like it or you substitute it with a longer lunch. Think twice if you decide to take this job theirs a reason why their are always hiring
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 16, 2016
this is a great place to gain billing experience and account management exp. the hours are a bit long tho. so workers easily feels overwhelmed ss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIDecember 15, 2016
People coming and going.People come here for help. Helping the customer . Knowing you are able to help. the person i worked with was great .they thought me alot. great place to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hours are nice
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78230December 11, 2016
Closed sundays and six major holidays, the schedule was appropriate for a single working mother. Closes at 2 on Saturday. If you enjoy working under minimal supervisor, this is a great job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sense of helping customers in financial need
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Hawaiian Gardens, CADecember 8, 2016
Typical work day answering phones, data entry, processing loans, check cashing, western union services, collection and courtesy calls.
Pros
Sundays off
Cons
safety, security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a ok job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 1, 2016
Good job but not enough hours .. Hate driving to different locations..
Its only one person working a day .. Hardest part is doing everything on your own. Management are lazy..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Prince George, VADecember 1, 2016
Meeting new people from all walks of life assisting them with their short term financial needs. Inputting information in our system, answering calls about our service.
Pros
None
Cons
The company did not survive a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Check 'n Go. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 434 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9