Find companies:
Checkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
420 reviews

Checkers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNPRODUCTIVE
Cashier (Former Employee), Newark, NJSeptember 17, 2014
YOU ARE STUCK DEALING WITH RUDE PEOPLE MANAGERS AND DEALING WITH A DIRTY STORE . YOU DONT GET PAID THE WAY YOU ARE SUPPOSE TO AND MOST TIMES YOU DONT GET A BREAK . COWORKERS ARE RUDE AND THE HARDEST PART IS TRYING TO STAY STRONG AND GET THROUGH EACH DAY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Asst. Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no breaks
The hardest thing about working is the small space inside.
You have fun working with your crew.
I love making people smile.
The team here was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a unorganized place ut good people to work with
cashier (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 16, 2014
Cons: there are no breaks due to the fact we were always busy
i would explain my typical day at work as a okay day, the reason for being an okay day is because it seems time move slow. I learned a few things from working at checkers like how to greet other in an appropriate way and also how to be open. Management wasnt always that good, at times there were no supervision and the store often changed managers. My – more... co-work were cool and there were some reasonable people i was working to work with, understandable and fun. The hardest part on the job was the rush and the enjoyable part of the job is working together to make things go fast and easy at the same time, including at night, clean up time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and productive environment.
Grill and Food Preparer (Current Employee), Flint, MISeptember 14, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is putting in the physical work that it takes to get the job accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This particular franchise sucked.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 11, 2014
I love Checkers and what they stand for, but the one I worked at was horrible. Our store manager was horrible. We had to write notes. We were not allowed to call off even if in advance from being sick. We had to go to meetings on early weekend morning no matter if we had things planned for those days. It was not a friendly happy envirmonment. And there – more... are rumors that our store manager was changing our time sheets to under pay us. Oh I never made 30 hrs on a time sheet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pricing and Signs supervisor
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Fort LauderdaleSeptember 8, 2014
Reviewed weekly sales--planned and implemented action. Verified employees were correctly pricing items including markdowns and sale items. Working planogram to ensure sales will be at a peek.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job nice coworkers
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando flAugust 21, 2014
I didn't work there long at all it was okay at first but it was hard for me to keep up with the pace at first then i got the hang of it and didn't like it to well but I always exceed at what I do they loved me there. A day at that job was very different I had many different experiences there it taught me how to deal with angry customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive company
Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: shift managers dont usually get breaks
starts off setting up the store around 7am which opens at 9am prep person comes in around 9 to 10 depending on how many sales we get during that day. Friday, saturday and the first of the month is usually the buisiest, through out the week we get about two customers a hour until noon. Employees come in around 11am. i have to make sure they are properly – more... dressed and ready to work. Around 12noon the day becomes really busy during lunch evrything is at a fast paste we also have to work as team in order to get the food out in a timely mannor,. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping stone job that helps build communication skills, and management skills.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 16, 2014
A typical work day would include preparing the condiments for today, preparing the registers for the day, upselling to boost sales, and displaying customer service at all times. What I've learned is being able to be courteous and patient with customers and learning how to motivate my co- workers to make busy days run smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast food
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sayreville, NJAugust 11, 2014
lack of hours/pay no organization no leadership company allows illegal actions to happen on clock
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for younger generations
Cook various food (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 10, 2014
Pros: money, its a job
Cons: no caring for employess, long work days
bad experience, not people friendly super busy,dont care bout employees,managers are unprofessional
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew Member
Crew Member/ Lead (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCAugust 9, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: lack of pay
Regular Fast food work, but co-workers I worked with made the experience really and enjoyable and the manger I worked with that was promoted was very good at her job. Past General manager was a thief and useless associate to try to blame her mistakes on people. But when the lady was gone the job came very easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the job for you if you don't mind constant business, fast-paced environment.
Cashier/cook (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 5, 2014
You can't be lazy and work here...point, blank, period!!! If you are into staying very busy..this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier (Former Employee), hyattsville mdJuly 31, 2014
checkers was ok I didn't stay long I don't have to much to say about checkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier (Former Employee), Waukegan, ILJuly 30, 2014
Was not satified with work enviroment. looking for full time work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makes food
Crew member (Former Employee), Palm Bay FLJuly 30, 2014
Did not really enjoy the job. It is a really small confined place and it was very hot and had a really bad staff working and managing the place. But I guess the food is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 29, 2014
• Served customers in eating places that specialize in fast service and inexpensive carry-out food.
• Accepted payment from customers, and made change as necessary.
• Cleaned and organized eating, service, and kitchen areas.
• Notified kitchen personnel of shortages or special orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, but there's never a full shift which makes work harder.
Cashier (Current Employee), East Orange, NJJuly 27, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Cons: short staffed
Majority of the crew is trained on more than one station, so we shift to assist to help one another out. I believe I've gained a lot of patience with working with the customers. A lot of the time they are rude, but I still smile and give great service. My managers are helpful, they all help with satisfying customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love it
Cashier (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 23, 2014
i love working at this place because the poeple was nice and got treated fairly and i was never late my work hours was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic and lots of duties to do.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Melbourne, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: co-workers and lunch breaks.
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at work would be prepping food to serve to the customers. I learned that there is a lot of things to know in order to keep a resturaunt operating smoothly. Management was friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job was working drive thru and multitasking and getting food out to the customers promptly. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was the people I worked with. – less

1 2 3 4 5