Checkmate Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place revolving around title loans
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 4, 2017
Check mate is a good start out company to work for anyone wanting to get into the financial industry they also cash checks and process western union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first management opportunity
Customer Service Trainer/Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WAApril 4, 2017
Checkmate was were I learned to take on tasks that nobody else enjoyed to make myself stand out. It resulted in quick upward movement into management at a young age. I acquired the people skills that I have today, because of the training I received here.
Pros
Great pay, fun work environment, amazing benefits, consistent work schedules
Cons
Immature staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dipping toes in the water
Assistant Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lacey, WA 98503February 8, 2017
Working for this company had its ups and downs, but the hire up management tried their best to make everyday exciting. Unfortunately there was not room to grow after reaching assistant manager, but lots of real life education was given to me threw the few years I was there. Downside of working in payday loan was the negative attitudes and the druggies that would harass the other customers and or cause a uncomfortable/ unsafe environment while trying to obtain a loan or other money associated transaction. ( gift cards, wire transfers, check cashing, or buying/selling gold).
Pros
monthly bonuses, great management, training new employees
Cons
dealing with local addicts and making the calls to law enforcement to ensure saftey to other clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate work with low pay
Loan Teller (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJanuary 30, 2017
Customer relations, Washington state loans, money wire transfers, verification of customer's approval status through Accurint software, check cashing, tax advance procedures, quarterly reports, and accounting responsibilities i.e. balance of safe store. How to approve loans through accurint and process wire transfers. Management was kind and professional. The hardest part was denying an non qualified applicant. The most enjoyable part was balancing the safe and till.
Pros
Gained knowledge
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Gadsden, ALSeptember 11, 2016
I would come into work start printing my solicitation, welcome, and past due letters. I would also call past due customers to find a solution to get them to pay us.
Pros
working with the public
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much down time. But nice work environment
CSR/Teller (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 10, 2015
Great work environment and customers have all been nice. Just that there can be like 3 to 4 hours of down time. I have also learned how to do Western Unions and the policies.
Pros
customers
Cons
down time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checkmate sucks
Teller (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 16, 2015
The pay is ridiculous for what you do and the whole company don't care about you. been there for a while the manager picks favorites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer service Rep (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZNovember 18, 2014
Working for Checkmate for long time turn into a whole new family, you get to know your employees and your customers on a daily bases, not just seeing or talking to them at work but seeing them outside of work, getting a nice warm welcome its always nice to know you have good customer with your customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAJune 25, 2014
Great working environment, being able to provide customer a short term solution to their financial hardship. Great group of employees to work with along with supportive upper management staff.
Pros
Being able to provide service to customers
Cons
Not being able to provide serivce to the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Teller (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 14, 2014
Typical day at Checkmate would be sitting around and talking with co-workers while being on cell phones, not really busy to stay on task .
Pros
sometimes free lunch by company
Cons
no breaks alone really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Checkmate?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workplace but very unprofessional corporate management that treats everyone like a number.
Mngr (Former Employee) –  UnknownApril 8, 2014
Bad corporate management! Expected to increase sales every month yet corporate cant even provide you with required working supplies/computers. Corporate employee's very unprofessional and bad work ethics. Company takes advantage of their employee's. Pay is very low compared to other competitors. High employee turn over rate.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Bad Management, unorganized company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educating work environment
Solar Panel Installer/ Weatherization (Former Employee) –  Asbury Park, NJSeptember 9, 2013
Installed Solar panels, and installed hvac systems with group that i worked with. There are people assigned to groups and each group is given a list of houses to work on for that day each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WAJuly 9, 2013
A typical day at work would be, being able to help each customer with the best customer services make sure that the customer leave with a smile on their face. I have learned from my job is that customer always come first no matter what, and we have to treat each customer with respect. My manager is a great person, she is always willing to make each one of her employees feel great and feel comfortable and show respect for each one. I get along with each my co-worker she is a great person and always helpful. The hardest part of the job would be when there is a customer that comes in upset already for whatever the reason might be and they will take it out on you. The most enjoyable part of the job would be having a customer that is always satisfy with the way he has gotten treated and always seeing the smile on there faces.
Pros
free lunches when we make certain goals
Cons
No raises, no vacation time, no sick time, medical is very expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checkmate
Legal Department (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 8, 2013
Management is good.
Days are relaxed.
Co-workers are easy to get along with.
Overall good environment and a pleasure to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence in customer service required
DISTRICT MANAGER / AUDITOR (Former Employee) –  Aurora CoJanuary 2, 2013
Strong Customer Service Skills Required -- Ablility to advance if you are willing to work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Asbury Park, NJJuly 7, 2012
Was a good workplace
But poor management learned how to save energy and work in small areas such as crawlspaces
Pros
helping out the community saving energy
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Income Home Energy Assistance
Supervisor-Auditor/Inspections (Former Employee) –  Asbury Park, NJApril 2, 2012
Government funded home energy assistance program. Offered weatherization and help with paying utility bills.
Pros
helping people
Cons
not getting paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Checkmate reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Checkmate. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2