CheckSmart Employee Reviews

Showing all 68 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went well while it lasted
Collector - Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHApril 6, 2017
While working there it was very unorganized, dirty, and life deprived. Management got together just to talk about other employees and make fun of what they wear or how they work
Pros
A job
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to work
Teller (Former Employee) –  Newport, KYFebruary 22, 2017
I always enjoyed coming in and helping people out with their finance issues. Always a fun place and great people. Great hours and pay as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work for!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OHDecember 28, 2016
I was therefor several years. The DM was a pervert and a lot of things got brushed under the rug.very corrupt business with a lack of professionalism !
Pros
Quitting is the ony pro
Cons
Everything about the place is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Rating
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHDecember 16, 2016
The company is very compassionate about their employees, unfortunately there is a huge lack of communication between manager and employees. Policies were not adhered to.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the customers that I work with on a daily basis.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INDecember 14, 2016
Checksmart is a very enjoyable place to work at. I value working on a team; it really brings out the best in myself and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 22, 2016
I been working for companies a long time but never seen such a poor display of management in my career. They are a bunch of air heads walking around the office do not know how half of them got three jobs.
Pros
None
Cons
To short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Human Resource/Banker (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MISeptember 5, 2016
This is a good job to work at overall you just don't get a full time spot in DTW for years at a time. No one retires at this position. There are also no benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn leadership and Teamwork
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mentor, OHSeptember 2, 2016
The hardest part about working at Checksmart is the solitude and repetitive work. Each employee must be responsible enough to open or close the store on their own. We do meet with many new customers and Checksmart does offer a smart tracks program for those wishing to get into management. My most enjoyable about the job is my customers. I get to see so many familier friendly faces and make plenty of new friends.
Pros
HSA account, 401K
Cons
No unnatural hair color, No lunch. Breaks only given when there is time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working in a Mini-Vegas!!
Teller (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 26, 2016
Gold Rush so far has been my up-most favorite job. Daily customers became friends, employees turned into family and the management was more than friendly and understanding. This was a "game-room" business, and it meant you had to be fast, and accurate. I learned to always stay positive through any negative. The hardest part of the job was to stay friendly with un-friendly customers. The best part of the job was loving the job its self. There is almost nothing about this job I did not like. I miss it, and wish it were still open to this day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for checksmart
customer advocacy banker/ financial advisor (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 6, 2016
I hated working there! The company as a whole is just horrible. No chance of advancement, unless your friends or family w/ someone who has been there for years. Hours suck. They will make you work overtime but then take time of your scheduled hours so they never let you hit 40 hours+. The pay doesnt match the work load. A very high stress environment, I had to get on anti-depressants because I was became depressed about going to work and had anxiety. They send tons of emails everyday always making a change to something thats unrealistic. The company has no sense of direction. High employee turn over rate because nobody wants to work there, and the people that actually stick around are there because they dont have to worry about being fired since nobody wants the job anyway. Overall this company should be shut down. They do way too many illegal things, like making up social security #s just so they can cash peoples checks. Worst company ive ever worked for. You will never hear thank you, good job, anything positive, but they will be sure to make you feel less of a person everyday.
Pros
N/A
Cons
NO BREAKS
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive workplace, communicate with co workers
Collector/Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 4, 2016
A typical day at work, clock in start making phone calls while taking in-bound calls in between, learned dialer, FDCPA UDAAP and other necessary regulations to do my job. Co workers were enjoyable to talk to most of the time. Hardest part of job is trying to collect on people that we're in really bad situations The most enjoyable part of the job was having freedom in the workplace.
Pros
15 minute breaks every hour and a half
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You really have to love customer service
CSR/Teller (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 8, 2015
Typical business environment. Office politics always in full swing. Rules change DAILY! When you are in the right 'family' (store) its great! I totally enjoy providing customer service and thats mainly your whole day. Not fond of the constant courtesy calls, debtor calls, reminder calls and 'haven't seen you in a while' calls that we make in between customers.
Cons
no designated breaks or lunches. Scheduling makes you feel as though you never left
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checksmart
CSR/Teller (Current Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHNovember 6, 2015
I work w alot of money, i deal w alot of different customer cashing checks, money orders and i prepare loans. My team is 4 people running a check cashing facilaty
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be flexible
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 14, 2015
Fun job, fun people. Must be able to change daily, rules and regulations change daily.

Massive amount of paperwork, some of it is not relevant any longer.
Pros
Lots of interaction with the public. Sales oriented and revenue driven.
Cons
Compliance regulations make it hard to help certain customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checksmart
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Charter Township of Clinton, MIOctober 10, 2015
Great place to work, great management. Checksmart is steadily expanding and one of the best companies to use for financial services. The customers and co-workers are the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 13, 2015
I was aover all happy with my employment at petsmart never had an issue if I didn't have to leave due to my sisters death I could honestly say I would probably still be tere today
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsiderate, unappreciative, unrealistic.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 13, 2015
This is a payday loan store who thinks it is a bank. They don't understand that there is life outside of work and are unappreciative to those who give 110% every day without so much as a thank you. Their chain of command is unprofessional. If you have an issue with how something is being done, don't expect it to get resolved. I was told by my district manager, next time, you should just take what is given to you when I disagreed with an upper management decision. They placed me under a manager who knew no more than I did about running a store and told me it was a great opportunity to learn from the best. I was teaching her and my previous district manager things about their jobs that they should have already known. They don't know how to invest properly. They would rather buy new computers instead of get better internet (which everything runs off of), and waste money on direct mail campaigns than getting out in the community and interacting in marketing events. They continue to bite off more than they can chew without investing in their employees. That's why their employees have no drive to excel and typically stay no more than 2 years and are looking for a better opportunity. The management training is a joke and opportunity for advancement in your home state is next to non-existent as managers never quit simply because of the salary compensation. Prepare to be unmotivated and stressed beyond reason. I stayed as long as I did because I loved my customers.
Pros
Great job security as long as you don't steal, you won't get fired.
Cons
Management is detached from the trials of working in a store, non-supportive. No drive, turnover rate is through the roof, training structure is all over the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Content
Customer Service Representative. (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 13, 2015
This company was unorganized in the beginning. Employees did not get paid for an entire month and still had to come to work. However, the management team did their best to resolve the issue. The staff was great to work around and the culture is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could have been a little better
Customer Service Rep/Teller (Current Employee) –  Canton, MIJuly 12, 2015
The long hours and micro-management could have been better. I liked my team while I was working there but they refused to pay for the work that they expected the crew to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes busy, some time slow.
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 11, 2015
i learned that racism, is alive and well. i don't think employees should be responsible, for all shortages, with other employees working open area , checksmart does not match your pay according to job experience, my race/disability.was considered,not my job experience, which made me the lowest paid employee,
Pros
close to home
Cons
employees not bonded
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CheckSmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.7