CheckSmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay was very fair, good management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Middletown, OHDecember 23, 2017
pay is very fair first starting out , good benefitts. paid vaca, sick pay and health. raises every 6 monthsl. hours are easy and the work is non stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CSR/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Cuyahoga Falls, OHDecember 17, 2017
my experience with checksmart was a good place to work to prepare me for my venture in my career, I was able to learn how to cash all types of checks, verify them in many ways, do loans short term, signature, & title. i enjoy working there but i am looking for a better experience for my future.
Pros
expereince with procedures of banking csr
Cons
flexibility and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and steady company
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Current Employee) –  Harper Woods, MIDecember 13, 2017
Checksmart is a great company to develop great customer service skills. However there's no growth here at this company. The hours are flexible but you feel overwork and underpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Opinion ?
Ft Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 10, 2017
I rather not give a opinion . i gave my life to check smart only to be thrown away . the customers are beautiful people . the company is not worth much
Pros
great money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Marion, OHDecember 4, 2017
I am the store manager so my typical work day is scheduling, P & L reports,efts and collections. Workplace is the best that I have ever worked before.
Pros
Making schedules
Cons
Managers are salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviroment
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZNovember 13, 2017
I enjoyed working at Checksmart because it was a nice office with friendly environment and friendly co-workers. Had complete health benefits. Was able to make my own schedule.
Pros
make own schedule
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better management
CustomerService Representative (Current Employee) –  Clinton Township, MINovember 9, 2017
Needs better management! its hard to move up in the company because the employees are treated so poorly by their management so most definitely need better management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly laid back place to work, with some benefits.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 9, 2017
There wasn't a lot of room for advancement, but it was a decent place to work. There wasn`t a lot of stress, and there was a lot of downtime. A lot of paperwork, filing, and phone calls, but it was easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 8, 2017
Worked under a few managers. They each a some good skills to learn from. Although advancement was small it was still open to all. Reviews and raises made the pay really nice. Even atfer finding a new job I stayed on part-time for the extra money.
Pros
Small work enviroment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bedford Heights, OHNovember 4, 2017
Overall fine but you have to know there policies an the customera is the reason why I didn't mind going to work it was great to help people with their financial needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Checker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Westerville, OHSeptember 16, 2017
The job I had at this locations was terrible. They never offered flexibility. I always was stuck opening the store and the other employees who worked with me came in to their shift when they felt like it.
Pros
close to my home
Cons
management sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend working there to long
CSR (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 23, 2017
Some people get moved up to quickly and others who have been their a long time get snubbed. To many changes in the past 9 months. The customers and employees were frustrated.
Pros
management bonuses (if you get them)
Cons
to many changes to job with no incentive bumps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service with customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 21, 2017
Balanced and operated cash vault. Insured tellers were performing their daily duties. Helped new and customers with services that need to be rendered.
Pros
Greeting customers
Cons
Not being able to solve customers needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checksmart
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 18, 2017
- Great place to work with people
- helping people with their needs
- coworkers made it great place to work with
- management made everyone feel important
Pros
great place to work with people
Cons
unsable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 24, 2017
The company doesn't have good placement, changing all the time, the job turn over rate is very high, and the pay is not what you would expect with a company that large
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJune 26, 2017
Everyone is friendly and helpful. I started off at one store and lived it personally but then I was transferred over because my aunt (who worked at a different store) had gotten sick from cancer and was unable to work full time, they worked around her schedule and also made sure to cover that store and keep me as a full time employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to get experience but they expect too much and pay too little.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIJune 13, 2017
No paid lunches or breaks.
Expect a lot of work for little pay.
Company is always changing goals but never let stores know focus.
Coworkers are nice and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn skills
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Reynoldsburg, OHMay 16, 2017
Advancement for those who work hard. Hours arent the greatest, but I loved the people I worked with. Was able to move up within the company fairly quickly and was provided with excellent training
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Constantly changing policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 8, 2017
Very unprofessional company to work for. Management is terrible and very unprofessional. The management picks their favorites and if you aren't on that list it makes it hard to go to work. The employees get away with things they shouldn't be able to get away with. There are tons of conflicts of interest that is over looked. You think when you are get hired that you are going to making good money when you are lucky to even get $0.25 as a yearly raise. Lots of favoritism. Horrible company to their employees over all definitely the definition of a corporate company that doesn't care about their employees or even what in their own best interest by the people they allow to work there.
Pros
Free lunches every once in awhile
Cons
No scheduled breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hours are the least of your concern...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OHMay 6, 2017
The job was ok if you don't mind relearning how to do it every day. Things change on a daily basis, lately it's stuff like making you keep track on paper of things that a computer could do for you (so completely pointless waste of time). If you aren't the district managers favorite, don't even think about advancing as a manager. They've told people they need to "prove themselves" as a manager before they can get paid like a manager. Way to get cheap labor out of stupid people. They constantly threaten to fire people over stupid things, yet encourage us to break the law by setting people up for products they don't want. The manager was good, he was on our side, but the district manager is the most unprofessional person I've ever worked for. She actually changed my review to make it so I didn't get my yearly 25 cent raise. Corporate also sets ridiculous sales goals that could not be met by the volume of people we had coming in. Good riddance to this place, the pay was not worth the stress!!
Pros
Free lunches, coworkers are usually cool
Cons
Poor management, unprofessional, treated like children, stressful, feel bad charging that much to people who have no money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CheckSmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 89 reviews
516
418
325
216
114

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture