CheckSmart Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 58 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for checksmart
customer advocacy banker/ financial advisor (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 6, 2016
I hated working there! The company as a whole is just horrible. No chance of advancement, unless your friends or family w/ someone who has been there for years. Hours suck. They will make you work overtime but then take time of your scheduled hours so they never let you hit 40 hours+. The pay doesnt match the work load. A very high stress environment, I had to get on anti-depressants because I was became depressed about going to work and had anxiety. They send tons of emails everyday always making a change to something thats unrealistic. The company has no sense of direction. High employee turn over rate because nobody wants to work there, and the people that actually stick around are there because they dont have to worry about being fired since nobody wants the job anyway. Overall this company should be shut down. They do way too many illegal things, like making up social security #s just so they can cash peoples checks. Worst company ive ever worked for. You will never hear thank you, good job, anything positive, but they will be sure to make you feel less of a person everyday.
Pros
N/A
Cons
NO BREAKS
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Loan Specialist / Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMay 26, 2015
a Family and friend environment, will work with you for scheduling. Always find time to show appreciation for employees and rewards
Pros
good spirit place, always reward employees
Cons
not much of pay raises or advancement for other positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsiderate, unappreciative, unrealistic.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 13, 2015
This is a payday loan store who thinks it is a bank. They don't understand that there is life outside of work and are unappreciative to those who give 110% every day without so much as a thank you. Their chain of command is unprofessional. If you have an issue with how something is being done, don't expect it to get resolved. I was told by my district manager, next time, you should just take what is given to you when I disagreed with an upper management decision. They placed me under a manager who knew no more than I did about running a store and told me it was a great opportunity to learn from the best. I was teaching her and my previous district manager things about their jobs that they should have already known. They don't know how to invest properly. They would rather buy new computers instead of get better internet (which everything runs off of), and waste money on direct mail campaigns than getting out in the community and interacting in marketing events. They continue to bite off more than they can chew without investing in their employees. That's why their employees have no drive to excel and typically stay no more than 2 years and are looking for a better opportunity. The management training is a joke and opportunity for advancement in your home state is next to non-existent as managers never quit simply because of the salary compensation. Prepare to be unmotivated and stressed beyond reason. I stayed as long as I did because I loved my customers.
Pros
Great job security as long as you don't steal, you won't get fired.
Cons
Management is detached from the trials of working in a store, non-supportive. No drive, turnover rate is through the roof, training structure is all over the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You really have to love customer service
CSR/Teller (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 8, 2015
Typical business environment. Office politics always in full swing. Rules change DAILY! When you are in the right 'family' (store) its great! I totally enjoy providing customer service and thats mainly your whole day. Not fond of the constant courtesy calls, debtor calls, reminder calls and 'haven't seen you in a while' calls that we make in between customers.
Cons
no designated breaks or lunches. Scheduling makes you feel as though you never left
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checksmart
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Charter Township of Clinton, MIOctober 10, 2015
Great place to work, great management. Checksmart is steadily expanding and one of the best companies to use for financial services. The customers and co-workers are the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun place to work ,love my customer's and co worker's
customer service/teller (Current Employee) –  North Olmsted, OHOctober 5, 2014
Helping customer's having finance problem's or just needing a little extra help. Cashing check verifiable checks. Calling customer's to remind them loans are do or inviting them back. My manager is always available for assistance. My co workers are fun and dependable. T he hardest part of my job is not being able to help someone in need. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my customers.
Pros
good benefits and free lunches
Cons
really bad hours no lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could have been a little better
Customer Service Rep/Teller (Current Employee) –  Canton, MIJuly 12, 2015
The long hours and micro-management could have been better. I liked my team while I was working there but they refused to pay for the work that they expected the crew to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are expensive with poor coverage. Pay increases are low and are only received once annually. Management is condescending and inconsistent.
Teller (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 21, 2013
Each level of management disagrees with the other and their particular course of action changes regularly. The work for this company is stressful and they do not provide scheduled breaks or lunches which you may or may not ever actually receive. Company actions are not aligned with that which is provided in the handbook at the time of hiring. Management talks down to employees on a regular basis and no compensation is worth dehumanization...
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Employee (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHJune 25, 2014
run as fast as you can.

Horrible management from the top down.

One of the worst HR departments I have ever worked with starting with the director.

Even worse business practices and very unethical. This company is everything bad that payday loan businesses represent.

No respect for their employees. They have no idea how to treat an employee to get the best results for both that person and the company.

Expensive and poor benefits. No time off.
Cons
poor benefits, no respect, bad business practices
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash advance company with fun coworkers
CSR/Teller (Former Employee) –  Xenia, OHDecember 19, 2012
Cash advance company that also cashed all types of checks, bill payments, and moneygrams. Most enjoyable part of the job were the coworkers and the regular customers. The hardest part of the job was having to confiscate a check from a delinquent cash advance customer. If that customer comes in to cash a check, we would have to call and verify atleast 3 times that amount would clear, have the customer sign the back of the check and return it to you, then tell them that you have to confiscate the check to pay off the debt they have with the company when they failed to pay their advance. It was especially hard around Christmas.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
benefits, pay, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be flexible
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 14, 2015
Fun job, fun people. Must be able to change daily, rules and regulations change daily.

Massive amount of paperwork, some of it is not relevant any longer.
Pros
Lots of interaction with the public. Sales oriented and revenue driven.
Cons
Compliance regulations make it hard to help certain customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Content
Customer Service Representative. (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 13, 2015
This company was unorganized in the beginning. Employees did not get paid for an entire month and still had to come to work. However, the management team did their best to resolve the issue. The staff was great to work around and the culture is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Checksmart
CSR/Teller (Current Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHNovember 6, 2015
I work w alot of money, i deal w alot of different customer cashing checks, money orders and i prepare loans. My team is 4 people running a check cashing facilaty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good managing experience
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 30, 2013
Conducted store audits to ensure compliance of workers with standard procedures and practices. Managed all functions of store including growth, collections, cash flow, compliance and risk management.
Developed and maintained positive, professional relationships with subordinates, peers, superiors and customers.
Monitored, maintained and reported compliance issues.
Maintained security integrity of store.
Met growth goals through internal and external marketing.
Met collection goals through contact calls.
Oversaw cash flow needs of location.
Assessed risk and made decisions, within established limits, to accept or reject a financial transaction.
Promoted and cross-sold other established products and services as appropriate to customer needs.

Examined, evaluated and processed loan applications, check cashing transactions and all other relevant transactions.
Tested security systems and trained all staff on security procedures. Ensured all security procedures were upheld on a daily basis.Ensured adherence to quality standards and deadlines.
Recruited, interviewed, and hired employees.
Pros
gain good management experience, had full control of store
Cons
always on call, low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Customer Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 12, 2015
It';s a serious job but it's also fun. A lot of diverse customers and friendly co-workers. Management stays on top of things and are more than qualified to train employees. The hardest part of the job is things are always changing. The most enjoyable part is the customers.
Pros
Good work experience
Cons
Need a more steady work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes busy, some time slow.
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 11, 2015
i learned that racism, is alive and well. i don't think employees should be responsible, for all shortages, with other employees working open area , checksmart does not match your pay according to job experience, my race/disability.was considered,not my job experience, which made me the lowest paid employee,
Pros
close to home
Cons
employees not bonded
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers make all the difference
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 28, 2013
Typically you are processing new loans, cashing checks and paying bills. I have learned how to be a better leader. There is a small staff at each location so you really get to know your coworkers well.
Pros
fast paced, opportunity to earn bonuses for doing your job.
Cons
low compensation, expensive healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor work environment
Assistant Manager/CSR (Former Employee) –  BedfordFebruary 27, 2014
Extremely poor job. Feels like you are selling your soul to the devil by feeding off the misfortunes of others. No organized managment structure, and a company that does not back there employees no matter what the situation. Very small staffing, which creates an overload of work to the few employees that are there, for very little pay. This company is not here to help people or employees. They are all about screwing and ripping people off. If karma does exist id be very afraid for the people running this company
Pros
co-workers
Cons
bad pay, long hours, bad products, no holiday pay, poor management, no training, no breaks at all if busy, staffs are too small to accomodate business, can i only list ten cause i can keep going and going
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 13, 2015
I was aover all happy with my employment at petsmart never had an issue if I didn't have to leave due to my sisters death I could honestly say I would probably still be tere today
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its' a job. Its downhill from there.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 13, 2015
This job was terrible. I don't know how they are still operating. Its not about the loans or anything, I have nothing against pay day loans or similar products, its the awful work environment that makes me write this review. The work shifts are never set. Training is minimal but responsibility is heavy and you are financially responsible for mistakes. You can work anytime from 7 to 9 seven days a week, so good luck trying to have a life outside of work. There are no set breaks, so if you are trying to eat and a customer comes in you have to help them. There were times when essential work equipment shut down and we were expected to either fix it or do without it, even if it meant staying hours after your shift. Management is rude and condescending and customers can be crazy, dangerous and scary. All of this happened on a constant basis for the year that I worked for Checksmart and I was paid bread crumbs. However, for the most part my co-workers were great and we made an awesome team because we had to be strong. If you're about to work for them, learn to just deal with mountains of stress.
Pros
steady paycheck.
Cons
literally everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 58 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture