Find companies:
CheckSmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

CheckSmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its' a job. Its downhill from there.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 13, 2015
Pros: steady paycheck.
Cons: literally everything else.
This job was terrible. I don't know how they are still operating. Its not about the loans or anything, I have nothing against pay day loans or similar products, its the awful work environment that makes me write this review. The work shifts are never set. Training is minimal but responsibility is heavy and you are financially responsible for mistakes. You can work anytime from 7 to 9 seven days a week, so good luck trying to have a life outside of work. There are no set breaks, so if you are trying to eat and a customer comes in you have to help them. There were times when essential work equipment shut down and we were expected to either fix it or do without it, even if it meant staying hours after your shift. Management is rude and condescending and customers can be crazy, dangerous and scary. All of this happened on a constant basis for the year that I worked for Checksmart and I was paid bread crumbs. However, for the most part my co-workers were great and we made an awesome team because we had to be strong. If you're about to work for them, learn to just deal with mountains of stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/waitress
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), South Bend, INDecember 26, 2014
brought drinks and dinners to table, cleaned dining area, took order in person or over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in a fast paced environment.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Southgate, MIOctober 28, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, good incentives
Cons: no breaks, short handed
A typical day at Checksmart consists of working directly with customers to insist them in their financial needs. Such as cashing checks, paying bills, and payday loans. My customer service skills have greatly been strengthened in the two years I have worked here. I have great coworkers and a great management team. At times the work day can be very stressful and demanding, but being able to help people is a good reward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun place to work ,love my customer's and co worker's
customer service/teller (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHOctober 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits and free lunches
Cons: really bad hours no lunch break
Helping customer's having finance problem's or just needing a little extra help. Cashing check verifiable checks. Calling customer's to remind them loans are do or inviting them back. My manager is always available for assistance. My co workers are fun and dependable. T he hardest part of my job is not being able to help someone in need. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at this place for years, was like family
Loan Specialist/ CRM Department (Current Employee), Dublin, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Typical day at work was warehouse and customer service duties, learned top skills in all areas of the warehouse along with priority based customer service to all maintenance shops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and growing company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Trotwood, OHJuly 24, 2014
Pros: paid lunch
Cons: management does'nt push employees for a challenge
Most of the day I process loans and cash checks. I've learned a lot of pros and cons about customer service from CheckSmart. A wonderful company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service rep (Former Employee), Maple Heights, OHJune 27, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: covering 3rd shift
I spent almost 5 years at this job and upset that i decided to leave. Management was phenomenal. Our entire store worked as one, helping each other in anyway possible to make sure that the job was done on time. I loved being a shift leader. My favorite part of my job was being in charge of the fraudulent activities that were occuring in our store. I busted a ring of fradulent check writers saving the company and untold amount of money. I learned that everyone needs help sometimes. Customers that made thousands of dollars a month needed just as much as help as the ones who only made hundreds. It definetly humbled me. Hardest part of my job was working 3rd shift when our regular 3rd shifter was on vacation and working the 2 days a week he was off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK HERE
Employee (Former Employee), Dublin, OHJune 25, 2014
Cons: poor benefits, no respect, bad business practices
run as fast as you can.

Horrible management from the top down.

One of the worst HR departments I have ever worked with starting with the director.

Even worse business practices and very unethical. This company is everything bad that payday loan businesses represent.

No respect for their employees. They have no idea how to treat an employee to get the best results for both that person and the company.

Expensive and poor benefits. No time off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Teller (Current Employee), Mesa, AZJune 22, 2014
Pros: great experince in many fields.
Cons: no breaks.
A typical day at work requires for you to be ready to muilt-task as you clock in. My co-workers are awesome. We have a team where we work together if needed and help each other out as well. At the end of the day we make sure to ask one another how there day went. I've learned how to be a safe manager. How to deal with costumers who aren't pleased with a problem. I also got alot of experince in Check Cashing from this company. The most enjoyable part of this job to my coworkers and the team we have created here. Also knowing that I know my job and I have done a great job with my day. The hardest part of my job is most likely only when having to train new employees, altough at time I enjoy that as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy workink with coworkers and customers
customer service/teller (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHJune 18, 2014
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: really never have time for lunch
the hardest part of the job is trying to get customers taken care of as fast as possible when we are short on people, i would like not to rush them.It is also difficult dealing with so much cash back and for in a rush.I always enjoy seeing or speaking with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover rate for a reason
Store Manager (Former Employee), South Bend, INJune 10, 2014
Pros: easy to get hired in
Cons: no scheduled breaks, insensitive management team
they don't care about their employees , only the bottom line. horrible health insurance, very expensive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh..
Consumer Loan Specialist (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 12, 2014
Cons: bad pay, inconsistent hours, poor management, and poor employee treatment.
Just don't apply. Trust me. You're barely allowed to get your 40 hours a week. The pay is not good. The management is not good either. Many of the products the company offers are not that beneficial to the customers. The company hides a lot of itself in scripts and wording.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work palce
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Mishawaka, INMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: short breaks
Very fun and loving work place. Co-workers are great and it makes my job easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Euclid, OHMarch 25, 2014
The most enjoyable part is working with great coworkers. Nice environment! Managers are always on top of their game. Hardest part is dealing with customers. They can be very difficult but the coworkers are always around to help if needed. I learned so much from people at work each day. Overall, this job helped improve many of my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor work environment
Assistant Manager/CSR (Former Employee), BedfordFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: bad pay, long hours, bad products, no holiday pay, poor management, no training, no breaks at all if busy, staffs are too small to accomodate business, can i only list ten cause i can keep going and going
Extremely poor job. Feels like you are selling your soul to the devil by feeding off the misfortunes of others. No organized managment structure, and a company that does not back there employees no matter what the situation. Very small staffing, which creates an overload of work to the few employees that are there, for very little pay. This company is not here to help people or employees. They are all about screwing and ripping people off. If karma does exist id be very afraid for the people running this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Reynoldsburg, OHNovember 17, 2013
Fast pace, was able to work with a ton of different types of people and was able to meet a lot of different clients. Hours were great, and was still able to have fun with the family at night!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good managing experience
Store Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 30, 2013
Pros: gain good management experience, had full control of store
Cons: always on call, low salary
Conducted store audits to ensure compliance of workers with standard procedures and practices. Managed all functions of store including growth, collections, cash flow, compliance and risk management.
Developed and maintained positive, professional relationships with subordinates, peers, superiors and customers.
Monitored, maintained and reported compliance issues.
Maintained security integrity of store.
Met growth goals through internal and external marketing.
Met collection goals through contact calls.
Oversaw cash flow needs of location.
Assessed risk and made decisions, within established limits, to accept or reject a financial transaction.
Promoted and cross-sold other established products and services as appropriate to customer needs.

Examined, evaluated and processed loan applications, check cashing transactions and all other relevant transactions.
Tested security systems and trained all staff on security procedures. Ensured all security procedures were upheld on a daily basis.Ensured adherence to quality standards and deadlines.
Recruited, interviewed, and hired employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers make all the difference
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Akron, OHOctober 28, 2013
Pros: fast paced, opportunity to earn bonuses for doing your job.
Cons: low compensation, expensive healthcare
Typically you are processing new loans, cashing checks and paying bills. I have learned how to be a better leader. There is a small staff at each location so you really get to know your coworkers well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run FAR AWAY!
CSR (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 13, 2013
Pros: free lunch fridays
Cons: no breaks, no set schedule, no managerial skills, no morals
Company is operated under different names across US. EasyMoney Cash Centers, Checksmart, Buckeye and a few more. There are no set schedules, no lunch breaks, no leaving if so needs to be about 10 mins at the most. All company cares about are fees and how much they can profit from another's misfortune. No room for advancement if managers and assistant managers are already placed. All bigwiz people come directly from ohio so store managers don't even have room for advancement. Managers and staff are well liked if they suck up to DM's and RM's if not they will constantly harass you and overlook any concerns you may have. When you are let go from the company, they send a mass email to all of there operating stores and make jokes about you and humilate your name. Management and Staff are talked to like animals and repeatedly told to keep out of the media and what responses should be made for specific questions concerning the business so they won't be fined or shut down for incorrect responses. Your availability has to be completely open and don't even think about finishing up school. They will not work around your schedule. They approve loans for people who receive welfare as well as those who work for temp agencies and food services which is not allowed. They coach those receiving military benefits into signing a form saying they don't receive benefits so they can loan to them. They don't allow payment plans and corporate talks to customers like meaningless individual's. Pressure you to sell prepaid debit card for incentives which you may or may not receive but only after selling – more... a select minimum. Worthless $10 bonus for each confiscated check that you receive a whole month later. When approval is needed none of the managers can be reach and none of them ever call back leaving a customer to stand and wait over an hour. Store managers leave for hours at a time and show up for shift whenever they feel like it and even go take naps during midday. Do not keep important information like ID copies when cashing checks so when fradulent and stolen checks are noticed, no one knows who the customer really was. Don't have to have an ID period to do business there, just a social and lots of accounts have been messed up by stolen identities without verification. Very dishonest company, lets customers make payment arrangements and still sends customers check to the bank before they can honor the arrangement. There was a time when they did make check and ID copies where a man's identity was stolen and someone cashed a $900 check under his name and social. When the copies of the ID and check were pulled they realized the ID that was used was paper and the crook was about 30 years younger than the man whose identity was stolen. They took the charge off of the victims account and kept quiet without telling him anything about his identity being compromised. THESE PEOPLE NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning
CSR (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 23, 2013
Nice environment my co-workers was really helpful i learned about giving out fin. loans. the hardest would be the ability not to work at a pace its always number of things going on at one time so that would be the con and the pro would be the free lunches, and the nice costomers.