Chegg Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy work
Unloader/Loader (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYFebruary 1, 2017
They are a good job to have.. the work is very easy not always constant but it's a good job.. productive at times and they have good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home on your computer
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Denton, TXJanuary 22, 2017
The tutoring has been rather interesting for me as a tutor. When you start off it is rather cutthroat trying to land clients. However, after you get a few clients you will more than likely get repeat clientele. I've been working with one particular student for a little over a year now and helping her learn in the majority of her classes.

This has required me to learn things that may not necessarily have been in my current college experience and to expand my net of knowledge beyond my degree. Overall, it has been useful, though at times a bit stressful.

I usually work 5-7 hours a week (which is not enough) with a moderate to high stress level. I have not had much interaction with the management, but I do always get paid on time.
Pros
Paid on time
Cons
Stress and clients who require tutoring in subjects you don't tutor
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Regional Director, Enrollment Services (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2017
Great company with great benefits, but since it's a public company everything is about the shareholders (as expected). Loved my time here and wish I could've worked here forever
Pros
Salary, Benefits, Autonomy
Cons
Lots of cooks in kitchen on leadership team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
convenient
Tutor (Current Employee) –  onlineJanuary 11, 2017
It is a waiting job. As a tutor, you need to wait for a student to demand you tutoring service, unfortunately, students are not demanding of tutors in specific areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work from home when you want
Tutor (Current Employee) –  homeDecember 3, 2016
It's easy going, you choose when to take tutoring opportunities and only log on when you want to. There are no hour requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dry work
Reciever (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYSeptember 15, 2016
Your typical warehouse job, very bland work. They do feed you, but some times they expect more work than is physically possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and fun job experience.
Online Tutor (Current Employee) –  OnlineAugust 15, 2016
I learned more about how to work with and teach people who may be having difficulties with certain subject matter. This job has really helped me to hone my problem solving and interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can work any time and well developed system
Tutor for undergraduate/high school classes (Current Employee) –  OnlineJune 6, 2016
The system requires students to post a question on the board, and the first tutor to respond earns the chance to answer his question.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady schedule and full time. Diverse group as well.
Student Advocate/ Clerical (Former Employee) –  Grants Pass, ORMay 26, 2016
There was four application processes as a temporary position which was interesting. Working in telecommunications for the first time was an eye opening experience. I was able to get promoted to chat and do instant messaging full time with a small pay increase. An early set schedule as well which was beneficial financially.
Pros
Set schedule, steady raises.
Cons
Temporary position and looking at a computer screen for 8 hours straight.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Senior Software Engineer, Tools (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAMay 19, 2016
Great Culture
Good Work life balance
Supporting Managers
Free Food
Average Technical work, depend upon the team
Overall it's good company to work For.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its decent
Stager/Picker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 5, 2016
Didnt really care for the environment. First day was ok, but after a while of silence and no one talking, it became really bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chegg
Associate (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 28, 2016
- Typical work day: load/unload deliveries, sort, pick/pack
- Management/Co-workers: enjoyable place to work with fun environment, management was always there to help employees
- Hardest part of the job: Getting into a routine, but once routine was figured out, everything was good.
- Most enjoyable part of the job: Working in a fun environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Warehouse Team Lead (Former Employee) –  KYOctober 19, 2015
I was a team leader here a chegg, very good place to work. Only thing bad was when schools wasn't in session the work would slow down extremely a lot. After all it were a good place to work peaceful and quiet.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walk up to 10 miles a shift restock books and pull orders
picker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2015
walk up to 10 miles a shift restock books and pull orders work long hours walking for the 10-12 hour shift was no order no management
Pros
got a chech
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience
shipper (Former Employee) –  Shepardsville KYAugust 26, 2015
The job was not hard, but more boring. I was not mentally challenged. I did not have a bad experience, but knowing that it was only a temporary position I felt a lack of motivation. I would have also preferred a cooler climate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone was friendly, my supervisor was one of the best. he really took time to explain everything and was always there to help or just to talk to.
picker/ stock (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, Ky.August 6, 2015
CHEGG is a nice place to work, friendly, but hardly anyone gets hired permanently. They said it was because it is seasonal and they only needed a few full time people because during off season, there are only the leaders and two or three supervisors. they didn't get 40 hrs. a week then, not enough work.
Pros
i found it to be an easy job, not hard to do, just a lot of fast walking.
Cons
it is only seasonal, not full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse job
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYFebruary 18, 2015
receiving books and inspecting them
learned how to use different machines
hardest part: standing on your feet for long shifts
enjoyable: payrate
Pros
break times, payrate
Cons
how long the shifts were, standing on your feet for that long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Placem Fun to work, Flexible
Backend Engineer (Senior Java Contractor) (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 18, 2014
Great place to work, enjoyed, balanced and flexible, enjoyed working here
Pros
Great Placem Fun to work, Flexible
Cons
Great Placem Fun to work, Flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Associate / Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Shepherdsville, KYOctober 3, 2014
Great place to work. Fun friendly work environment the biggest problem is you come in as a temp and you may or may not get hired after you work 1,000 hours in a calendar year.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place,
Logistics (Current Employee) –  shepardsvilleJanuary 16, 2014
GREAT PAY!! Very busy and can be a very fast paste environment. typical day of work for me was to pick books, stage them, then ship them back. Employee's are great with making team members well rounded by training them in every aspect of the warehouse.
Cons
short breaks, quick to fire.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chegg. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5