Cherokee Nation Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They incorporate varities of culture while on the job.
Dental Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKAugust 17, 2017
When You work for the Nation, they become like a family to you.. They Incorporate their heritage into a daily workforce which implement our culture to maintain its attributes while we are able to financial support our families' at the same time..
Pros
We get a set lunch Everyday!!
Cons
I really can't think of any..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Linux Architect (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 3, 2017
Good Company, Good People.

I really don't want to write a Detailed Review, so this is just filler.


What is this, an Essay? Are you trying to annoy people?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and good for just a summer Job
Summer Job (Former Employee) –  Sallisaw, OKJune 22, 2017
When I had a question I could always call my superviser and she would answer or call back if she was busy. She would answer my question if she knew the answer. If she didn't know the answer she would find the answer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgeable team members
LPN (Former Employee) –  Nowata, OKJune 15, 2017
excellent communication among staff nurses, general friendly working environment with various employee areas doing maximum for excellent and quality patient care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GaDuGi
Tag agent 3 (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKMay 18, 2017
Excellent place to work great people great atmosphere and great customers. Excellent benefits bonuses were exceptional all around for the people and the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for Federal Agency
Helpdesk Computer Technician (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, COMay 16, 2017
Contractor for Federal Agency.

No room for advancement, 40 hr work week, no overtime Great benefits, Never really meet with the company rep. Sorry they lost the contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, unnecessary drama
Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKMay 1, 2017
Stressful and unnecessary drama created by all of upper management and most coworkers. Unprofessional attitudes, low pay for positions with ridiculous educational/experience requirements.
Pros
Job
Cons
Unprofessional employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Diagnostic Medical Sonographer (Current Employee) –  OKApril 20, 2017
Most people cannot say that they like their manager, however I love mine! The director of Radiology is great, she works with you, she listens to your concerns, she comes to you about a complaint and talks with you about it and gets your side of the story.
Benefits are fantastic!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult and stressful employment
Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKApril 19, 2017
repetitive paperwork, unnecessary training dates, does not maintain scheduled work hours on non work days, supervisors are unfair and hard to work with, supervisors are not positive or pleasant to speak to or take problems too.
Pros
great benefits and good pay
Cons
communication, nepotism, unprofessional behavior by upper management and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a brief time, then it's BAD!
Hardware Technician (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKApril 16, 2017
Overall, good place to get experience. Longevity gets challenged. Politics leak into the everyday job, which is not good. If you are good at what you do, they will take advantage of you.

Management treated like saints while the "real" workers get treated badly. If you think politics won't affect you in any position here, you might think twice before accepting a job here.
Pros
Benefiits, 401
Cons
Favoritism, Bully management, too political
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKMarch 24, 2017
Having worked in several departments during my 12 years at Cherokee Nation, my experiences at each department were positive. I was provided with yearly trainings through the Human Services Department. Every effort is made at Cherokee Nation to promote the abilities and education of the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Center Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKFebruary 17, 2017
Has great benefits a lot of favoritism goes on and the lazy people get patted on the back for sitting on their butts and they get the raises while the hard worker gets screwed
Pros
great benefits
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKJanuary 19, 2017
I really enjoyed my job with Cherokee Nation - great place to work & great benefits. The only reason I left was to care for my elderly mother.
Pros
Beneifts our tribe
Cons
Some people take advantage of the system
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impersonal management
Staff Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VAJuly 29, 2016
Working fro a contracting company you feel very out of the loop. It was very hard to pick up the phone and get any answers. Your contracting company does not really know anything about the site you are working at.
Pros
compensation
Cons
not feeling like a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is close to home
Project manager (Former Employee) –  Wharton, NJJune 28, 2016
Manage over 7 projects daily.
My co-workers are great
The hardest part of my job is working on a project without proper drawings and scope
Pros
Commute
Cons
Working for the governmant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome to work for. I just started this company.
UH-60 Airframe/Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAJune 27, 2016
Love government contractor. have 10 years experiences with military contractor. Being to Afghanistan and iraq.Awesome to work for. I just started this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do all kinds of work
Day Worker (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKJune 26, 2016
the thing about being a day worker is that you really never know what you will be doing the next day when you show up. I have done everything from being inside janitor to outdoor landscaping to arts and crafts at the heritage center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Work Experience Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Stilwell, OKMay 6, 2016
answer phones
using computer
copy
fax
setting up people for jobs and work keys
love this place
hardest thing is learning how to deal with customers on the phone.
time management is something i learned here and neatness
Pros
answer phones, using computers
Cons
waking up early
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cherokee Nation
Director, Communication/Government Relations (Former Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKApril 14, 2016
Probably one of the best large employers in all of Indian country. They offer a competitive growth opportunity for young professionals who wish to build a career working for the Cherokee Nation.
Pros
Outstanding benefits
Cons
Internal tribal politics can sometimes make work life a challenge. Especially if you not Cherokee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Buyer III (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 8, 2016
great place to work and great atmosphere in a busy setting in a great city to live.
i would recommend this company to anyone looking for a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cherokee Nation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8