Find companies:
Chesterfield County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Chesterfield County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very inspiring
Custodian (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJanuary 10, 2014
A day of working with others to ensure that we cleaned the school to the best of our ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teaching
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VaJanuary 3, 2014
Currently, I have been substitute teaching in Chesterfield County Public Schools for 2 years in middle and high school. Some of the responsibilities include: managing classroom and providing instructions according to plans as prepared by the classroom teacher, providing a classroom environment which promotes active learning, assisting the teacher with – more... all aspects of the daily routine, including distributing and collecting supplies, keeping attendance records, lunchroom duty, working with exceptional education students to help reinforce learning objectives, adhering to all Chesterfield County Board of Education policies and procedures while using appropriate judgment to act in the best interest of student learning at all times, and perform other duties as assigned by the appropriate administrator. The most enjoyable part of the day is building a rapport with the students and helping them enjoy learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful school system
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VASeptember 30, 2013
Enjoyable experience! Able to pick and choose which schools and when you want to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Data entry (Current Employee), Chesterfield VAAugust 7, 2013
Working for the county for the last ten years has been very enjoyable. It has allowed me to be a big part of my sons toddler years and would recommend it for anyone who feels it is imporatnt to be activiley involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced diverse atmosphere
Math Teacher (Current Employee), Falling Creek Middle SchoolAugust 7, 2013
A typical day involves planning differentiated instruction for students with varied needs. Collaborating meetings with teammates and building leaders to discuss data collected and implement remediation plans. The best part of the job is that every day is different and brings new opportunities for growth and achievement. The challenging part is that – more... there are a lot of needs to meet but with my excellent management skills it is all very productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers, not good atmosphere.
HVAC Technician (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 26, 2013
Pros: very liberal with time off
Cons: no ot
It not what you know its who you know! Its the good ol' boy network, work hard never get recognized. And the pay sucks! Benefits are not that good either
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment with a desire to help the under-serve communities
Tutor-Monitor/Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 25, 2013
Pros: quite time, reflecting time and a place to zero in on the ones who want to change
Cons: time spent on the ones who could care less & when is enough times enough?
The population of children who made a poor choice in not following the school rules, guidelines and teachers' classroom rules .
This is the age of discovery for the young people , this is where they are learning who they are as young people? The peer pressure is strong?
I have any where from 1-15 children in a structured and strict study and working – more... environment. No team building assignments only 1 on 1 learning assignments to keep the students on task(:

I serve 3 different populations of students 6th grade ,7th grade and 8th grade at the same time. My Co-workers are great!

The challenge is getting the work from the students' teachers in a timely manner and explaining to that student instructions on an assignment if they have missed several days? Getting students to accept that they are doing themselves a disservice if they aren't putting in the effort to change the wrong behavior!

The students when they realize all along that I was not the villain! Only a Helper to guide them in the right direction! Seeing there eyes light-up because they rec'd a great grade or really understand how school is an working environment to learn and not get caught-up in the misbehaviors of their youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best school systems in the state.
Assistant Principal (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAMay 27, 2013
Initiatives have the best interests of the students in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with students
Regional Supervisor (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAApril 4, 2013
I loved the kids that I transported to & from school
I liked the flexibility of the position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees worked hard to have a great School System.
Biology and Earth Science Teacher (Former Employee), Midlothian, VAOctober 28, 2012
Pros: students sharing and showing how much they enjoy and love their school.
Cons: never went home empty handed, always had papers to grade.
The day begins by reviewing each class objectives and lesson plans and making adjustments if needed. Instruct students on specific subject matters, receive feedback from students using the inquiry method to check for understanding, give assignments, grade assignments for student and class evaluations. Especially enjoyed working with students as they – more... displayed their eagerness to learn resulting in low number of failures and having higher scores than the district and state averages on mandatory state test. With the budget cut backs, the classes became increasingly larger which made it harder to give attention to the low motivated students to keep them on task and from becoming disrupted in class. Always, looked forward to collaborating with co-workers offering support and receiving support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informing and New work enviroment
Substitue (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAOctober 20, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
-Librarian support: Collected and organized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and other materials in specific field, such as rare books genealogy , or music,
-Worked closely with students and colleagues of varying ages, helping hone my audience specific communication techniques
-Secretary support: Prepared general correspondences, memorandums, reports, – more... schedules and other materials from rough draft, copy marginal notes or verbal instructions
-Maintained appointment calendar, schedule appointments, conferences, and meetings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make my own schedule
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), VASeptember 19, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, working with students
Cons: no benefits
I was hired as a permanent substitute teacher by Chesterfield County. I filled in at any of the county's 60+ schools, in whichever subject had a vacancy. I enjoyed communicating with the students on a mentor-student relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work.
Secretary (Current Employee), CCPSJuly 23, 2012
Pros: vacation....benifits.....
Cons: not very family friendly. looks down on single parents.
Ok place to work. Pay is low and politics within gets old espicially when your just a secretary. Vacation hours and benifits are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
speech therapist, dealt with parents and staff
Speech and Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJuly 5, 2012
Pros: lunch, enjoyed staff and students
Cons: no cons for this job
Enjoyed working with the special education staff I worked with and the supervisors that gave me help when I needed. it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher - Part Time (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 18, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no benefits
Responsible for managing K-12 classes (20 Students) at a time while initiating the permanent teachers’ daily lesson plans. Responsible for taking role for tardy and absent students daily and initiating disciplinary actions for students that are not maintaining a control environment for learning. Responsible for handling other duties throughout the day – more... that may involve but not limited to taking students to their bus assigned buses, cafeteria duties, and filling in for other teachers out for the day. – less

Edna – July 23, 2012

My first and foremost qualifications is the be a positive role model for the students. I have experienced classroom training by being a instructional assistant and substitute teacher in Hopewell and Petersburg, VA Public School Systyem. I will use all my Educational and Skills training to help enhance students knowledge as provided by the Classroom Teacher. I know I will be a great excess within the Chesterfield schbools because I am loyal, team player and creative with proforming my duties.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you have children
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 5, 2012
Pros: off when kids are
Cons: pay
driving student is rewarding in itself. hours are good. staff is good to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Values and People
Clinic Assistant (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAApril 22, 2012
Pros: benefits. comp days
Cons: pay is kind of low
Chesterfield County Public Schools is a great employer with great values and people. You are constantly being trained to be able to perform your job better.