Find companies:
Chesterfield County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Chesterfield County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at a Elementary School library
Assist students and staff (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAJune 21, 2014
I love coming to work. I walk in the office and my colleagues already greet me with a smile. The students usually come in for early checkout right after I arrive. It gets really busy with checking out books for the kids, checking in books, answering phone calls and emails. The scheduled classes for that day file in for their lessons shortly after that. – more... I help with selecting books, check out books for students and faculty, write reminders for overdue books, handle payments for lost and damaged books. I usually keep busy all day, there is always something to do even if it is just book repair, making copies or straightening shelves. I love interacting with the students. All day we have Kindergarten students all the way to 5 grade students come in. I learned to be patient and listen when one of the students asks me about a book that he or she liked but cannot remember the title. The hardest part is there is not enough time for all there is to do in a library. Because of the budget cuts my position has been cut by 10 hours a week. I do not have time to talk to the students about their favorite story, ordering and cataloging books or helping with a TV or VCR problem. A lot of these jobs fall onto my co-workers already full schedule. The most enjoyable part of this job is when I find a favorite book for a student, or make a recommendation for a book that a student loves to read or simply find a book for a teacher that will help with a lesson in the classroom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a first year teacher when I began and had to learn everything. Very exciting.
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee), Providence Elementary School Chesterfield, Va.June 16, 2014
Pros: everything was brand new and exciting.
Cons: everything was brand new, and i didn't always have someone to ask when i was lost.
I taught K-5 Emotional Disabilities self contained classroom. It was a challenge because I was a brand new teacher, and I was taking classes to become fully certified through the Career Switchers program. I learned how to write IEP's, how to collaborative teach, and many classroom management skills. The hardest part was learning everything while taking – more... graduate classes to get my certification, and my own children were still in elementary school. It was a lot to juggle, but I completed it all. I had many great co-workers who helped me a lot being a brand new teacher. The best part of the job was seeing marked improvement in the behaviors and being able to send some of the children into the general education population. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday work
Custodial Staff (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 4, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short staffed
A typical day at work is regardless what goes on at the site you have to keep going and let nothing wear you down.Some people may not show up and you will have to add on to the work load but its nothing too hard to do though. The supervisors keep you informed of everything you will need to know and the co-workers are friendly and work as a team. The – more... hardest part of the job is the summer time when summer school starts and you have to revolve moving and floor work around everyone there while the best part is knowing that you are keeping a clean enviorment for students to learn in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive work invironment
Custodial Team Leader/Floor Technician (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAMay 28, 2014
Pros: working with co workers
Cons: poor management
This job is fun to work. what I learn working here is my co-workers are great team players during the summer is the hardest part of the job because of the furniture moving and how hot it can get in the building what I enjoy the most is work with my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Volunteer
Winterpock Elementary Student Helper (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAMay 17, 2014
Twice weekly, I am able to volunteer in my third grade teachers classroom. I really enjoy going to help her out because I know that the students are excited when I come, and that the teacher appreciates my help. The best part is when I get to work with the students because when they finally understand a topic that I was able to help them with, nothing – more... beats seeing the smile on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
providing first aid and emergency care for medically fragile children
Special Ed RN (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 24, 2014
I prepare and implement health service plans, emergency seizure plans, emergency allergy plans and asthma plans where needed for severe disabled students. I communicate with the parents and health care providers to promote the well being of the students. It is a wonderful experience to provide nursing care in an educational setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work!
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: the teachers, administrators and students!
Cons: hard to get full-time offers
Let me start out by stating I am just a substitute teacher, not full-time but in the past few years I have been working with Chesterfield County and I can say it has been both a positive and exciting experience for me.

Never before have I witnessed such a committed and dedicated group of individuals who care for their students.

This school system – more... inspires me and makes me proud to work along such giving teachers and administrators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very inspiring
Custodian (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJanuary 10, 2014
A day of working with others to ensure that we cleaned the school to the best of our ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teaching
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VaJanuary 3, 2014
Currently, I have been substitute teaching in Chesterfield County Public Schools for 2 years in middle and high school. Some of the responsibilities include: managing classroom and providing instructions according to plans as prepared by the classroom teacher, providing a classroom environment which promotes active learning, assisting the teacher with – more... all aspects of the daily routine, including distributing and collecting supplies, keeping attendance records, lunchroom duty, working with exceptional education students to help reinforce learning objectives, adhering to all Chesterfield County Board of Education policies and procedures while using appropriate judgment to act in the best interest of student learning at all times, and perform other duties as assigned by the appropriate administrator. The most enjoyable part of the day is building a rapport with the students and helping them enjoy learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful school system
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VASeptember 30, 2013
Enjoyable experience! Able to pick and choose which schools and when you want to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Data entry (Current Employee), Chesterfield VAAugust 7, 2013
Working for the county for the last ten years has been very enjoyable. It has allowed me to be a big part of my sons toddler years and would recommend it for anyone who feels it is imporatnt to be activiley involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced diverse atmosphere
Math Teacher (Current Employee), Falling Creek Middle SchoolAugust 7, 2013
A typical day involves planning differentiated instruction for students with varied needs. Collaborating meetings with teammates and building leaders to discuss data collected and implement remediation plans. The best part of the job is that every day is different and brings new opportunities for growth and achievement. The challenging part is that – more... there are a lot of needs to meet but with my excellent management skills it is all very productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers, not good atmosphere.
HVAC Technician (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 26, 2013
Pros: very liberal with time off
Cons: no ot
It not what you know its who you know! Its the good ol' boy network, work hard never get recognized. And the pay sucks! Benefits are not that good either
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment with a desire to help the under-serve communities
Tutor-Monitor/Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAJune 25, 2013
Pros: quite time, reflecting time and a place to zero in on the ones who want to change
Cons: time spent on the ones who could care less & when is enough times enough?
The population of children who made a poor choice in not following the school rules, guidelines and teachers' classroom rules .
This is the age of discovery for the young people , this is where they are learning who they are as young people? The peer pressure is strong?
I have any where from 1-15 children in a structured and strict study and working – more... environment. No team building assignments only 1 on 1 learning assignments to keep the students on task(:

I serve 3 different populations of students 6th grade ,7th grade and 8th grade at the same time. My Co-workers are great!

The challenge is getting the work from the students' teachers in a timely manner and explaining to that student instructions on an assignment if they have missed several days? Getting students to accept that they are doing themselves a disservice if they aren't putting in the effort to change the wrong behavior!

The students when they realize all along that I was not the villain! Only a Helper to guide them in the right direction! Seeing there eyes light-up because they rec'd a great grade or really understand how school is an working environment to learn and not get caught-up in the misbehaviors of their youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best school systems in the state.
Assistant Principal (Current Employee), Chesterfield, VAMay 27, 2013
Initiatives have the best interests of the students in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with students
Regional Supervisor (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAApril 4, 2013
I loved the kids that I transported to & from school
I liked the flexibility of the position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees worked hard to have a great School System.
Biology and Earth Science Teacher (Former Employee), Midlothian, VAOctober 28, 2012
Pros: students sharing and showing how much they enjoy and love their school.
Cons: never went home empty handed, always had papers to grade.
The day begins by reviewing each class objectives and lesson plans and making adjustments if needed. Instruct students on specific subject matters, receive feedback from students using the inquiry method to check for understanding, give assignments, grade assignments for student and class evaluations. Especially enjoyed working with students as they – more... displayed their eagerness to learn resulting in low number of failures and having higher scores than the district and state averages on mandatory state test. With the budget cut backs, the classes became increasingly larger which made it harder to give attention to the low motivated students to keep them on task and from becoming disrupted in class. Always, looked forward to collaborating with co-workers offering support and receiving support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informing and New work enviroment
Substitue (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VAOctober 20, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
-Librarian support: Collected and organized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and other materials in specific field, such as rare books genealogy , or music,
-Worked closely with students and colleagues of varying ages, helping hone my audience specific communication techniques
-Secretary support: Prepared general correspondences, memorandums, reports, – more... schedules and other materials from rough draft, copy marginal notes or verbal instructions
-Maintained appointment calendar, schedule appointments, conferences, and meetings – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make my own schedule
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), VASeptember 19, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, working with students
Cons: no benefits
I was hired as a permanent substitute teacher by Chesterfield County. I filled in at any of the county's 60+ schools, in whichever subject had a vacancy. I enjoyed communicating with the students on a mentor-student relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work.
Secretary (Current Employee), CCPSJuly 23, 2012
Pros: vacation....benifits.....
Cons: not very family friendly. looks down on single parents.
Ok place to work. Pay is low and politics within gets old espicially when your just a secretary. Vacation hours and benifits are good.