Chesterfield County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 92 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work enviroment
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAAugust 9, 2017
Responding to maintenance issues by two way radio, work order system, emails and in person. I learned how to prioritize emergencies first and other calls by need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 20, 2017
They are a great school system. I loved working with the faculty and staff. I gave me the opportunity to grow as an individual. I only wish that I could have made full time. It was a difficult school to get employed in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving a school bus is rewarding and difficult at times
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJuly 16, 2017
Driving a school bus is rewarding and difficult at times. The reward is seeing all ages of children every day getting them to and from safely..It also has its challenges every day also from others driving around you that do not follow driving laws to picking your battles with the children who can not follow rules or parents who do not remember how they rode to school before.
Pros
Great for moms needing to add to monthly budgets
Cons
Can not support self on this salary alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CCPS has changed
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJuly 16, 2017
Depending on the school, you either have Administrative support making your experience fruitful, or not causing it unsafe and unfruitful for students.
Pros
Structured curreculum
Cons
Eyes wide shut, favoritism, finance vs safety, different rules at different schools
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the students
Theatre Teacher - Matoaca High School (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJuly 12, 2017
Administration and co-worker engagement/morale was less than stellar. Students were hard workers, excellent problem solvers and performed to high expectations. Administration failed to adequately value performing arts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school social worker
School Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJuly 7, 2017
Working for Chesterfield County Schools helped me to achieve the goals I wanted to accomplish for my master degree. I learned a great deal concerning the importance of proper education for children in schools. The most enjoyable part of the jobb was working with the families and the students.
Pros
work hours
Cons
short lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not too bad
School Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJune 26, 2017
get up
start the bus
perform pretrip
pick up students from home or daycare
deliver students to school
perform post trip
repeat 2 times
3 hour break
go back to bus
start the bus
pick up students from school
drop students off at home or daycare
perform posttrip
repeat 2 times
drive home or to your car
secure bus
repeat everyday
Pros
good benfits off when school is out
Cons
does not pay enough no opportunities for advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Teachers
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJune 3, 2017
Chesterfield County Public Schools is filled with dedicated teachers who work tirelessly to educate all students in Chesterfield County. I have learned many things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
21 Century Program Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 31, 2017
Typical day is great fun with my students teaching them Language Arts skills and cultural enrichment.
My Manager is awesome
This program allows for creativity and energy.
We look out for one another. Teamwork and individual work is required.
The most enjoyable part is teaching my students new information and seeing them grow/improve academically.
Pros
Good hours, fun and mostly relaxed
Cons
Part-time work hours and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VAMay 31, 2017
I was a substitute teacher and area middle and high schools teaching grade levels 6-12. I taught most every subject with the exception of math, and I worked most every day of the week.
Pros
Working with the students
Cons
Having to adjust to new classes almost daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is a calling
FIREFIGHTING INSTRUCTOR/TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VAMay 22, 2017
I enjoyed my short tenure as a Firefighting Teacher for Chesterfield County Public Schools. I would have stayed if salary was commensurate with modern living.
Pros
Excellent Staff
Cons
Poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace environment with friendly, hardworking staff
Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 20, 2017
I have worked for Chesterfield County Public Schools since the Fall of 2008. In the course of those 9 years I have worked as a Substitute Teacher, a Bus Aide, an Art Teacher and a Bus Attendant. I thoroughly enjoy working with student population in each environment as well as collaborating with other working professionals that include teachers, administrators, office staff, instructional assistants, and bus drivers. In general, most of the people I have worked alongside have been knowledgable, hard-working and a pleasure to interact with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned.
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 16, 2017
Listen, Learn and Teach. I like communicating knowledge of a particular job and finding ways to work smarter and not harder. I have enjoyed working with the people at CCPS. I made a lot of friends here.
Pros
Driving a company vehicle
Cons
No free lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School System
Substitute Teacher (art) (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 12, 2017
I was very impressed with how the schools were managed, very efficient. Great place to be a substitute teacher. Kids are generally wonderful and most of the schools are great. A few are in rougher sections of town.
Pros
Near Richmond
Cons
Competitive, difficult to find full time teaching position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good flexibility
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 11, 2017
The pay is not great, but the flexibility is amazing working as a substitute. Work environments vary a lot school to school or class to class; however, you ultimately can choose where you work. And certain teachers will begin to request you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding working with the students.
Technology Resource Assistant (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, VAApril 28, 2017
Very rewarding working with students. I am the Technology Resource Assistant so I am able to keep up with new software programs. Technology changes quite often.
Pros
work hours and work months
Cons
can not run errands at lunch time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best school districts in Virginia
English Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAApril 25, 2017
I've worked for Chesterfield County Public Schools for nearly 20 years. I would not want to work for any other district in the region. The district wants what is best for its students and community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and low stress environment
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAApril 24, 2017
At the school I subbed at, there was great management. If a problem ever arose, there was a procedure to find a solution. The staff was always on hand to aid with anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAApril 18, 2017
Great experience working here as a first time teacher. Great workplace culture and management is wonderful and very supportive. I have learned many things that will help me advance in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not improving with time
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAApril 7, 2017
Chesterfield County Public Schools used to be regarded as top notch. Budget woes, lack of engagement, absence of employee support, and mismanagement of various departments has marred the reputation of the system. There is no room for growth nor is there job security.
Employee Benefits used to be a top reason people sought employment. But budget cuts and elimination of some benefits has deterred applicants.
Pros
Employee Wellness Program
Cons
Mismanagement of funds in various departments; sub par benefit packages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chesterfield County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 92 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Chesterfield County Public Schools Reviews by Location