Chevron Phillips Chemical Company

Chevron Phillips Chemical Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term contract postion from engineering office to field construction and startup
Review of contractor (Former Employee) –  Old Ocean, TXNovember 29, 2017
There are a lot good people that are working for ChevronPhillips and they are team players. I would recommend the company highly for employment opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Sweeny, TXNovember 16, 2017
As an operator, you are assigned an area to watch over. You make hourly rounds to make sure your equipment is doing good. You make adjustments to process as necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Customer Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXNovember 15, 2017
Typical day at work is challenging but rewarding.
Have to be skilled at multitasking.
My current supervisor is great to work with, pushes you to learn more, to advance and supports you.
Pros
9/80 & Telecommute Days
Cons
More advancement for Engineering Degree Holders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworker, good pay
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXNovember 6, 2017
Chevron Phillips really is a good place to work. However, it is a little hard to relocate the past 1-2 years. Management has been changed and there are up and down sides of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Analyst (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXOctober 27, 2017
Enjoyed my time at CPChem and had the opportunity, while very young in my career, to be involved in some great projects and learned a lot! Enjoyed the team I worked with as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job Opourtunity
Demolition Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXOctober 24, 2017
Hired in 2011 as a Polyproplylene Supervisor. Within that same year the company decided to shutdown the Polypropylene business and Demo the units. I was kept on to oversee the Demo project. In the past 6-years I was asked to stay and oversee several other Demo projects within the Chevron Complex. In May of 2017, there was no more Demo projects and was layed off.
Pros
excellent benefits, many safety performance benefits.
Cons
Managing certain businesses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many roles to fill
Sr. Maintenance & Turnaround Planner / Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXOctober 12, 2017
As people leave through various means their roles are handed to other employees instead of hiring new employees. It makes it difficult to do your job well when you are filling the role of four people. Being yanked in many directions is not going to allow a person to focus well
Cons
Too many roles to fill for one person
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salary position
SIS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sweeny, TXOctober 12, 2017
Salary position requires extended work hours. The work load varies in difficulty but is not excessive or out of the ordinary. Great place to work when the hours are not excessive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best job I've ever had!
Accounts Receivable Processor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2017
Doing a job that I enjoy and love to do, plus I'm good at it. I enjoyed going to work on a daily basis knowing that I get a another chance to utilizing my skills while learning new skills along the way. I am a Accounts Payables Specialist with ten plus years of experience, ready to get back into it.
Pros
Very good environment to work in!
Cons
My manager at the time I worked there had his favorites!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many Chiefs and not enough Indians
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Borger, TXSeptember 9, 2017
If you don't like drama this is not the place you want to be...
Put Engineers over Lab when they should put a Chemist
over the Lab. Vise Versa.........
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Drama, Drama, Drama...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Opportunity
Process Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Borger, TXAugust 31, 2017
This was a great experience to intern with CPChem. I learned a lot of useful information and worked on some useful projects. The plant culture felt like family.
Pros
Free Lunch, Work Life Balance, Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Process Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Borger, TXAugust 18, 2017
Family atmosphere, great pay. The company has a great safety program to make sure that every one always goes home from work. The company has multiple locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CPChem
PROCESS TECHNICIAN (OPERATOR) (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 14, 2017
It was wonderful to work for such good managers. I didn't stay there simply because there was no room for advancement in the safety field. I did not want to wait for 20 years to be promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great chemical plant
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 10, 2017
The culture when I first started was one of comradery. Now it's more about micromanaging without leading and censoring without keeping an open mind.
Be expected to work turnarounds and have a freeze on vacations.
Pros
Wonderful people to work with in the plant
Cons
Poor leadership, management and supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chevron phillips was an awesome place to work.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXAugust 10, 2017
I enjoyed working for chevron Phillips. The culture was safety first over productivity. Unfortunately, the company had to lay off several hundred employees.
Pros
great place to work and great pay
Cons
being laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXAugust 8, 2017
Good company, good pay, good people.

Culture and work life balance depend on manager and department. Good opportunities to move up. Overall a pretty decent place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trabajo en colectivo con buen desempeño
Insulation Installer (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 21, 2017
Es un trabajo que requiere una alta responsabilidad y perfección además del conocimiento de la profesión
Pros
Seguros médico
Cons
Poco tiempo familiar
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for. Benefits are awesome
Inventory Accountant (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJuly 13, 2017
A great company to work for. Benefits are awesome and the work life balance Is truly respected as much as possible. 9/80 schedule is a great perk and employee feedback is considered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Brand new plant
Process Technician "Operator" at Polyethylene (Current Employee) –  Sweeny, TXJuly 12, 2017
Very busy with procedures oxygen freeing pressure checking very good benefits trying to progress to startup the plant working on a brand new project has been very fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best of place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Orange, TXJuly 7, 2017
Daily work at Chevron /Philips was stressful. Work life balance was not even a topic until a new plant manager came in. Management was not very good when it came to people skills. Work place culture was build around fear for your job and don't make any waves ,or better put be opinionated. Hardest part of the job was dealing with management. Best part was the people co-workers.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Stress, Work life balance, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chevron Phillips Chemical Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8