Chicago Board Options Exchange Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proficient Floor Trader / Telephone sales
Floor Trader / Market Maker / Exchange Seat owner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 1, 2015
Very accurate with math. Proficient telephone sales, friendly in dealing with the public in open fast paced work environment.
Pros
Could make alot of money
Cons
Could lose alot of money
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much micro-managing
Senior Examiner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IllinoisOctober 6, 2015
Not exactly world-class, not a lot of fun.
Certain political situations creating red tape.
Did not approve of all co-workers,
travel out of town was difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment where accountability is the motto
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 11, 2015
As an intern at the Chicago Board Options Exchange I attended classes on the stock market with other interns and worked in groups with them to put on presentations about what we'd learned from those classes. I also sat in on several board meetings with my supervisor who took me under his wing and taught me the basics of the financial industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, challenging and well compensated environment
Director of Systems - Storage and Plainning (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IllOctober 2, 2014
There was no typical day at CBOE.

Each day brought new issues to be solved and challenges to be met.

Management is very demanding and 100% uptime must be achieved or many levels of executives get involved.

Some of the brightest and most talented people working and creating a unique structure that has to handle BILLIONS of transactions every day.

The satisfaction comes from taking a problem or issue from discovery to resolution and knowing you made a difference.
Pros
good insurance and other benefits
Cons
high pressure and rapid pace of change adds complexity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Regulatory Policy and Procedures (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2014
Great management and overall good place to work - great people and wonderful team effort
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work!!
Phone Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 1, 2013
The Options Exchange is a great place to work if you like fast pace,and exciting atmosphere! Most people are trading with their own money so it is amazing to watch what happens when people are under extreme pressure!
Pros
i learned alot about how people act under pressure!!
Cons
i learned alot how people act under pressure!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Senior Business Analyst (Consulting) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2013
Great company, nice people to work with every day. The company is able to be very profitable in a changing environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back company who is the leader in their industry
Client Services Liaison/Regulatory Compliance (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2013
A nice place to work. Work life balance is great!!! Top company in the options industry. Exposure to many leaders in the financial industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
MarketData Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2013
Working at CBOE can be flexible and that is liked by many. I have learned lots about the financial industry working here.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
at home access
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid well and fun environment.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 21, 2012
It's a little frustrating when you're treated as everyone's errand boy. But the money definitely makes it worth it. Also, I know have a pretty solid understanding of the global trade market which can prve to be valuable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the floor trading
market maker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 7, 2012
A great experience that provided me an opportunity to improve my discipline skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't get a great feel for the company
Intern for Regulatory Division (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 6, 2012
As an intern I basically had to do a lot of work making copies. I didn't get a good feel for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.8
Culture
3.8

Chicago Board Options Exchange Reviews by Job Title

Chicago Board Options Exchange Reviews by Location