Chicago Bridge & Iron Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Welder's assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 3, 2018
I worked here over the summer, because of this job I was a able to pay for four semesters at a community college and graduate the pay was good but the work was hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bleh
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Bleh it was okay. Got laid off twice in less than 2 months. Never was told i was getting laid off after the hurricane. Went back to work in october to be laid off in november.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No clear direction
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, CODecember 20, 2017
There was no clear direction down through management which greatly limited professional development and employee buy-in. Organizational goals kept changing with nothing being achieved until a decision was made not to have stated goals which only released any type of management accountability.
Pros
There were a lot of good people within the company
Cons
Horrible development and retention of individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, just never know when your getting layed off
IT Support (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LADecember 14, 2017
Great Place to work, just never know when your getting layed off. Enjoyed working with the people. Pay is great and safety is always good. I would go back.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Unsecure job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 29, 2017
It’s all about who you know not what you’re qualified for. To many chiefs not enough workers. You could fire almost 50% and work production would be the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Management Change
Data Integrity Manager (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXNovember 15, 2017
Company have more than 130 years of culture and existence, but have totally change during the recently years, making it more employee turnovers, making it an unstable place to work.
Pros
More than 130 Years of existence
Cons
Quick Management change, and employee turnover in recent years
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing times
Financial (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXNovember 13, 2017
There are too many changes occurring right now. The company is financially struggling and is people are t being laid off they are quitting. Once they bounce back I foresee things getting better. It’s going to be a struggle for a while.
Pros
Fair compensation
Cons
Financial struggles, changing management, unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CB&I needs to clean house at the project manager level
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, ILNovember 12, 2017
CB&I needs to clean house at the project manager level. There are some really good engineers and staff level supervisors but colossally bad project and higher level managers. Proof of these is found in the execution of the no infamous V.C. Summer, Plant Vogtle and several LNG projects that are world famous cluster FUBARs. Project mangers were quick to throw staff under the bus to save their own hides I know because I felt the wheels of the bus go over my hide, not fun.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Off
Structural Welder Electrical Department (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 7, 2017
I never intended to leave my job but got laid off. I’m a very hard worker never never missed a day of work never was late and never earlier out for any reason. I loved my job but work ethics mean nothing any more. It’s a shame I think it’s really about who you know. I worked night shift for almost 16 months.
Pros
Good Feild Personal
Cons
Health Insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Nuclear field Engineer/ Planner (Former Employee) –  LouisianaNovember 3, 2017
team work
input by other planners
project management good to work with
construction management good leadership
scheduling reasonable
materials available
temporary power materials available
tools available
Pros
good place to work very professional
Cons
need improvement with owner comunnications
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Start
Project Scientist (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 2, 2017
Excellent place for a new engineer or environmental scientist to learn the ropes and learn how to do big projects, work with regulators and get some big client notches on the belt.
Pros
Excellent Training, Good Experience, Resume Builder
Cons
Slow to Promote, Cheap with Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Change of Management and Culture
Data Integrity Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXOctober 28, 2017
CB&I is a 130 year old well established organization. Due to change in management and structure, there is major changes in the organizational culture.
Pros
Well established and worldwide organization
Cons
Quick changes in Management and culture negatively impact the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company as a career, but not enough emphasis on the employee.
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, GA 30830October 25, 2017
CB&I is a great choice for a career but like all companies has its down sides. Offers great job security but very stressful environment. Very safety oriented.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place.
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 24, 2017
Not a good place to work. i would not recommend anyone to work for there shop. i have heard that the company is pretty good to work for but if you plan on working at there shop off of north fairbanks i would not recommend it. You are treated like a slave and they dont really give you any vaction time and if they do they will tell you when you can use it. They have to many safety people that dont really care about your safety just making themselfs look good.
Pros
lots of diffrent kind of work
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Graduate Engineer (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXOctober 23, 2017
Good company to work for. The people are great and willing to help you achieve career goals. Hard work is recognized and reflected well in quarterly reviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life
Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAOctober 16, 2017
U tend to learn new things every day of Life I think.but I gain as much new wisdom on my present and next trade if u know what I mean.to me the hardest part of my day is getting off right when I just started a new project.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Safety rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job until hurricane
Mechanic / Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXOctober 9, 2017
Would have been here until I retired but Beaumont plant is shutting down. Have been offered to transfer to another location but the distance may not be worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but safe place to work
Rigging Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Covert, MIOctober 7, 2017
Work during an outage is fast paced but the coworkers are very helpful and professional. they have an excellent Nuclear Safety Culture and are genuinely interested in keeping their employees safe.
Pros
Fair wages and Per Diem good professional people to work with.
Cons
Long hours during an outage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company will not exist in one year
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 3, 2017
Bad executives through mid-level management. Poor acquisitions, worse engineering, and abysmal project management have driven this company into the ground.
Pros
Good wages, benefits
Cons
Non-existant morale, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but poor management at CB&I island park.
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 5, 2017
When new management came into the facility they started to clean house letting go of people who have 10+ years in the company. I myself had high hopes of being electrical foreman with my 5+ years of experience but i was no longer able to do my job correctly due to management cutting corners to cut cost and so forth. They hired workers with zero experience and no licenses for cheap work. Barely any time off and if you took off they threatened to terminate you.
Pros
health care benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chicago Bridge & Iron Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1