Chicago Commons Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petty with rules breaks, and no support for teachers or coverage
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 30, 2017
The children come with man different personalities but you learn to love them. Staff get along well like family but supervisors can be a handful. Support can be more helpful
Pros
off Saturday n Sunday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Community Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2017
I loved this job it was very rewarding, loved working with children at CPS schools in the North Lawndale area. I enjoyed bringing different art projects to the school. On the other end the benefits and compensation was not sufficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place with a lot of activities on a daily basics
CNA Home Health Care (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 21, 2016
very good place for adults to interact and do adults day programs and activities. Helping adult senior with shopping, medication reminders,laundry, shopping, escorting to and from dialysis appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opnion
HOME HEALTHCARE AIDE (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 4, 2016
This was by far my favorite job. The employees are nice and the facility is clean. The residents are well taken care of and the pay is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 3, 2016
Chicago Commons is good employer has great benefits with potential to grow. To move up the ladder and given the chance to attend school and continue to succsseed.
Pros
its a good nurturing enviroment with staff
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaned n sanitized the property
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 28, 2016
cleaned bathrooms, kitchens, lobbies,mopped and swept the floors and made sure the offices and classrooms were cleaned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Home Health Care Worker (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2015
I am grateful to work with Chicago Commons who support the seniors. I have worked with many populations who have Mental illnesses and I find that it overlaps into the Senior population. Working with Seniors has assisted me with deeper compassion and
better understanding of aging process.
Pros
I am supporting the Seniors longivitiy and enhancing their positive lifestyles
Cons
It is a part time job and when I acquire a full time position, I know I will miss my clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning environment
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 3, 2015
I was only an intern, but the experience was well worth the time. I learned the inside of working with the youth at-risk population. This was one of my first jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to serving those most in need throughout the Chicago area.
Youth Services (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 2, 2015
Management is dedicated to making this large organization as efficient as possible. This organization serves individuals throughout the lifespan and has resources for a variety of services.
Pros
Vast resources
Cons
Lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 23, 2015
I enjoyed working for Chicago Commons. The staff I worked with were fantastic! Chicago Commons offers a wonderful benefits package.
Pros
The employees really care about the clients served by the programs
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work place
Health Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2014
very different,each day is different from the others,in other words,some days the clients are up and talking,other days,they just want to stay in the bed.my job is not only to care for them,but to bring joy to their lives.
Pros
clients are nice
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carin
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 22, 2014
I just love working with older people to change a person life is a blessing getting the help they need is very important
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment
HOME HEALTH AIDE` (Former Employee) –  CHGO ILMarch 27, 2014
Goin to work was like being in the comfort of my own home. At the end of the day I always hated leaving the senior alone
Pros
Helping someone
Cons
Leaving them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  4349 W WashingtonFebruary 12, 2014
start work at 8am-4pm, help with transportation time attendance, hanging up clients coats, answering the phone, sending in census to cater service, email documentation to my boss, maintain and up keeping of each individual chart, make sure the place is well organize.
Pros
free lunch, free parking
Cons
No health insurance or union for worker
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with the youth
NRI/CAT Team Leader (Former Employee) –  chicago,ilJanuary 19, 2014
Chicago was a community based job which i would have stayed at and make a career but i moved outside the community as than was unable to work for the company.
Pros
Chicago Commons had a age limit for Cats
Cons
got to plan and create programs to help keep the youth out of trouble
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgable
Family Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 21, 2013
I learned so much with all of the systems in Child Care and Head Start.
Pros
Professional Development
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caothic
HEAD Family Worker/Site Manager (Former Employee) –  chicagoSeptember 6, 2013
follow children interesting. many opportunities personal and professional to grow,

staff enjoy the environment
Pros
good benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 9, 2013
Everything Goes Well As long As Your Patient.. They Don't Always Pay You On Time..
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place for growth in your future career
Administrative Assistant-Intern (Former Employee) –  RIJuly 17, 2013
This job allowed me to get hand on expeience in my future career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Park District Chapter
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 19, 2013
The park district offers many opportunities for young children to learn and grow
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chicago Commons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

Chicago Commons Reviews by Location