Find companies:
Chicago Housing Authority
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Chicago Housing Authority Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Senior Accountant-Section (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 9, 2014
Co-Workers work very hard to service the residential and landlord clients. The clients appreciate your efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding experience
Resident Services / Social Work/ Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: working on various projects in and out of the office
Cons: n/a
1. typical day was reserved atmosphere
2. learned office professionalism and work etiquette
3. co-workers were engaging and helpful and professional
4. the hardest part of the job was that it ended
5. most enjoyable was learning professionalism and etiquette and networking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse environment. Good position for pensioners
System Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: stable job
Cons: no raise in three years
Great team, caring managers, many holidays. The hours required to stay in the office is a bit longer than other places I've been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment
Business Operations Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2014
Mission-driven organization out to transform public housing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good work place.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good place to work.
Cons: nice breaks with benefits.
Greeted residents and guest daily, controlled entry and exit.
Report to office of building of any problems, report, and log infor.
Assisted with walk down and parking escorts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Landlord in Chicago
Asst. Director, Housing Choice Voucher Program (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 5, 2014
Pros: great mission and vision
CHA is the largest owner of rental housing in the city of Chicago, providing homes to more than 50,000 families and individuals, while supporting healthy communities in neighborhoods all across the city. CHA has almost 9,400 apartments in buildings designated for seniors and more than 11,500 units of family housing. It also oversees the administration – more... of 36,900 Housing Choice Vouchers that allow low-income families to rent in the private market. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at and very good people that are always willing to help
Student Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 27, 2014
Pros: great work life balance, can be rigid structure at times, can get mundane or boring
Cons: not much room for advancement
The environment is very relaxed, but also very serious. Everybody knows when it is appropriate to talk and when it is not.

A typical day is just coming in and looking over the documents and identifying what is missing or what needs to be updated. Co-workers might come to ask for assistance with a special project and I would help with that. The management – more... is also very helpful and my supervisor is always there for me when I need her.

The hardest part of the job is just learning all of the terms and what the documents. mean. It is also very detail orientated. For example, I could be uploading a document and at the end find that the online statement is not balanced. A small error in uploading and typing in information could result in the numbers being off/not accurate.

On the other hand, the most enjoyably part of the job was just the people, the environment, and the work life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Compny that helps...
Interim Analyst / Second Assisted to Director (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 22, 2014
Public housing for the proof and seniors
As they also have retirement home as well...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment
Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 11, 2014
Opportunity to help people with limited incomes. Also able to work with government officials as the local, state, and federal levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots to learn
Maintenance Volunteer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 4, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: tough areas
tough but good learning. The kind of place you can put on your resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Mail Distribution Service Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 16, 2013
Good and excellent work environment....Mailroom clerk? data entry responsibilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the help we provided the kids.
Youth Development Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2013
It was a very good program that was desperately needed, but the program was funded through grants and that was too much work for management so they let the funding expire. the kids loved the program also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chicago Housing Authority
Sr. Project Manager / ADA Project Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 2, 2013
Chicago Housing Authority

Managed all CHA ADA projects; Senior Apartments, Family Developments, Scattered Sites developments and Non-dwelling units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for quite diversities.
Maintenance Class A (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisAugust 29, 2013
Pros: great management
A typical day at work is a full day of work orders for residential clients from water leaks to furnace problems. I learn to be a team player and leader, besides other necessary maintenance and preventive maintenances. Management is respectful, of the employees, all co-workers carry themselves professionally. The hardest part of the job but not impossible – more... are the on call week, because I am on call for emergency maintenance for the residents after work for all hours after evening, late night and early morning for a week once a month. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting the work done for the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company picnic, raffles, and parties
Legal clerk, Office support, office equipments (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 26, 2013
Pros: tickets to movies, bounes, are sometimes nice.
Cons: not meny
Most days are usually ok.
You can learn new systems on the job training.
Management is not to bad, as long as you do your job.
Co-workers are ok. You have friends that are closer then others.
To me, a job is only as hard as a person make it to be.
Helping people solve their problems, and seeing a smile on their faces is very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience
Development Clerk II (Former Employee), Chicago, IlAugust 19, 2013
Interviewing and leasing to new residents and lease renewals.
How to lease, do recertification, counsel tenants.
co-workers were like family and we all worked well together.
The hardest part of the job was having to evict or not provide housing for residents in need.
The most enjoyable part of the job was, being able to help provide housing and other – more... services to new and old residents – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an average corporate environment, every day you experience something new!
Asset Manager-Interim, Asset Management Department (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2013
Pros: pension, assistance with education benefits, & health, vision, and dental benefits
Cons: hold on raises, slim opportunities for career advancement(s)
The Chicago Housing Authority is not your average corporate America job. Every day you learn something new and you utilize all of your educational and on-the-job skill sets to enhance your life as an employee and the lives of our residents. The people that work for the CHA have a passion and have embraced the mission for betterment of the lives of the – more... residents in which they/we serve. Everyday, we try and make a difference one life at time! The part of the job that is most challenging is dealing with the style and change of middle & upper management in the culture, environment, and direction of the organization. If you have never worked for a government agency in the Chicagoland area before and are not familiar with the brand of politics, it is very difficult to navigate through the different channels for career advancement which directly effects your daily job performance. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility, the exposure to new challenges daily, and the ability to service and see the rewards for the low or very low-income challenged population that requires our assistance, knowledge, and ability to serve them for survival. Making their communities safer by enriching the lives of the residents we service through programs, and rehabbed housing. It has made their lives much more enjoyable-just like living in communities with market rate real estate opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly evolving, fast paced work environment
Contract Administrator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 4, 2013
Pros: excellent co-workers, the feeling of helping other, the accomplishment of knowing you have put a family in their new homes.
Cons: almost impossible to climb the ladder-no room for growth.
The environment in which i work is a rapidly changing one. It is often very diffult for those whom are slower to keep up. I am a fast efficiently fast paced worker. I value the fact that my job allows for new knowledge and room for growth as far as the job knowledge is concerned. We have a really heavy case load depending on the season. Normally during – more... the summer the moves rapidly increase, which in turn makes me work harder. One of my favorite quotes is "Success only comes before work in the dictionary." I live by that quote. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of paperwork
Clerical Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 29, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: lack of co-worker support
Schedule appointments
Review client files for updates
Micro managed some times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Union Carpenter (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: great pay!
Cons: the locations
I really enjoyed working for Chicago Housing and for my Supervisor Marvin. I was part of a Task force that performed a variety of Constuction tasks, such as Doors, Drywall, Metal Studs, Floor Tile, Cabinets and Countertops. A very Good Group of guys to work with.

1 2 3