Find companies:
Chicago Park District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

Chicago Park District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A exciting fun filled day with children and basketballs!
Recreational Leader (Current Employee), ChicagoDecember 5, 2014
On a typical day when the children come in from school and first do their homework. Afterwards we might go in the gym to play a game, (ex...LO games, Basketball, Floor Hockey, Football), or go into our games room where we have stationary basketball games, a WII gaming system, and other games like ping pong. My co-workers are amazing. We work as one – more... big family at my location. The most enjoyable part of my day is going in the gym and interacting in the different games with the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of summer fun
Youth Worker (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2014
it was very engaging an fun. working with the youth is very fulfilling. my co workers made work fun. the hardest part was working in heat. the most enjoyable was everyday i went there, managment was great for the most part. i learned the influence i have on the youth is amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chicago Park District
Park Security Guard (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2014
Pros: career advancements
Cons: none given.
The CParkD has many job and career opportunities for its leisure and recreational culture.
See attached resume.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Activity Instructor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2014
a typical day at work is fun.i learned how to run a basketball game the right way.the hardest part of the job was getting everything put together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreational Leader
Recreational Leader (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 4, 2014
Worked with kids from the age of 13 to 17. Assist in activities for the kids, Organize leadership in helping the kids with learning new games and actives. Worked one on one with Human Resources on a day to day to let them know the progress the kids were having for the day. Worked with the training program to develop new programs for the kids. Also went – more... on all field trips to help with supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Recreational leader, early childhood development (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 29, 2014
working with children, doing excerise, playing activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Organization to Work For!
Wilderness Camp Counselor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: fulfilling
Cons: long hours
I absolutely loved working for the Park District. It was the best job I've ever had, and I definitely plan on being back!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place with Kids
Sports 37 (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2014
Pros: free luches
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work would be me doing my everyday routine, gathering the children..proceede to teach them a new game everyday..Through this job ive learned you have to really have patients and always a positive attitude at all times.I never got in a conflict with none of my co-workers they really enjoyed working with me as much as i enjoyed working – more... with them..we was a united team.Although the hardest part was trying to maintain three year olds because they are so little they sometimes was hard to control because they was so use to just running and playing all day.One of the most parts i enjoyed the most was seeing the kids actually have fun with the games that i thought..How they reacted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fun, professional workplace
Activities Instructor Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2014
Working for this company for the past ten years, I have been trained in many areas to enhance and broaden my work skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Recreational Leader (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 9, 2014
I loved the company it was very fast paced and resourceful. I learned alot from the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Volunteer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 30, 2014
As a teenager, I voulunteered at a local park distract for about 3-4 summers. When I turned of age, I applied to be a Summer Rec Leader. I had recommendation letters from other rec leaders among other things. With all of those qualifications, I still didn't get the job. Yet they hire people who have no skills and let children run wild all day while – more... they socialize with other workers! They do not care about their workers, will cut hours in a heartbeat with no explanation. Just a terrible company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at the workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: fun in the sun
Cons: meetings
Directing children to where they should be. Making sure staff is working in a timely manner.
I learned management and supervisorial skills.
Management was professional.
I got along with all the co-workers as did they with me. We had fun at work while at the same time getting our jobs done effectively without complaint.
The hardest thing I had to encounter – more... was letting go of a worker. It had to be done though.
I enjoyed being able to put a smile on a child's face when I presented them with a trophy for winning a game. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and Straight Forward
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2014
Great place to work, great management and people.

Co-Workers very friendly and focused
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
RECREATIONAL ADMIN.(INTERN) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 16, 2014
Served the Chicago Park District, the oldest and largest financial park district in the United States with over 552 parks, 33 beaches, nine museums and two world-class conservatories, relative to day camps offered throughout various locations.
• Regularly contacted several park district offices to gather information regarding day camp programs, participants, – more... successes and availabilities.
• Recognized for exceptional analytical, time management and prioritizational skills in analyzing and verifying accuracy of information.
• Depended upon for attention to detail and timeliness in completing projects including recording all information into main database; maintaining database including updates as needed to ensure most up-to-date and accurate information.
• Point of contact for vendors requesting to participate within events; provided guidelines to be followed, forms to be completed, pricing information and required obligations to be met.
• Communicated directly with participants and potential guests answering questions, explaining programs and gathering any additional information required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and feel good about it
Seasonal Junior Laborer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: fun, great people
A typical day as Seasonal Junior Laborer was waking up early, getting to your park location, loading up your truck, and heading out to work. Once out, you go to your assigned parks pick up trash, cut grass, and make the park look presentable. During my time there I learned how to use a weed eater, lawn mower, and leaf blower. Management always took – more... the time to show me and my co-workers how to use each item, and where very patient with us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
I been volunteering (Former Employee), 1845 W Rice StSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: everything was good
Cons: waking up in the morning
Well a typical day at work. I usually volunteered their. We just get the kids together and play some games in the gym, sometimes sing to them, and teach the kids to play sports. I also use to set up for events, trophy ceremonies, and kids fest. Management was good. They love me their. Was getting up in the morning lol. But the most enjoyable moment – more... i get is when the kids call me big brother. and they come to me for everything. It's just a really good feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with a gym ,spray pool and weight room.
Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 4, 2014
A typical day at work consist of me cleaning and monitoring kids as they played at the spray pool that was located at our park facility.
I learned about different chemicals and cleaning agents that can be use to disinfect an sanitize a specific area of a home or public place.
I learned customer service skills and how to give feedback and interact with – more... parents and children.

My manger was Tebrena Howard at Austin TownHall park.
My coworkers were fair some were more motivated them others but overall they were ok.

The job was not hard in my personal opinion.
The most enjoyable part was being able to work outside and meeting people from different places. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice summer job
Seasonal Attendant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, pay
Cons: short breaks, no holiday compensation
Dealt with the public on a daily basis. Would work here again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Jackson Park Recreation Leader Apprenticeship (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 2, 2014
It was very fun and interesting. I was always moving and had to stay on my toes when it came to coming up with new ideas for the children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with kids and other activates
Volunteer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2014
A typical day is having fun as you clean or have to work with kids.

1 2 3 4 5

About Chicago Park District

The Chicago Park District owns and operates more than 8,100 acres of parkland that includes 580 parks, 26 miles of lakefront, – Read more

Chicago Park District Photos