Find companies:
Chicago Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
321 reviews

Chicago Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Outgoing Team Player
Sub School Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago ILDecember 19, 2014
Pros: working with some amazing people
Cons: healthcare
Managing a school's office was challenging and fun. I can be creative and team oriented with the staff. My leadership abilities and delegate responsibility is what makes the office run. A typical day would be fast-paced. Working with parents,staff, teachers and students is very rewarding to me. I like being in control of myself and any situation that – more... was placed into my hands. To be able to problem solve, trouble shoot and multitask, all at the same time proves my ability to be sharp, driven and organized within the school. I am the "face" of the school. I represent the school's office and I have to do so with poise, personality and professionalism. Treating everyone with dignity, respect, and honor with the right attitude with love in your heart and the right motives with the right work ethic, people walk in to the office and it doesn't go unnoticed. I enjoy most about my 20 years working with CPS is the lasting friendships and relationships that I have with the teachers, staff and students and I have made a difference over the years and I carry that with me and it speaks volumes. There is nothing hard about your job if you do it to the best of your ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, but was temporary.
Health Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 19, 2014
I had no issues with this job at all. Work was fun, hours were great, and pay was the highest I've ever had. The only problem was that it was a temporary job based on funding from the government. The funding lasted long enough for me to have this job for about a year and 3 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Engineering (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 17, 2014
Pros: good benefits
CPS brings a challenge every day, it is a great experience. It brings a great to way to grow with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Political
Facility Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 9, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: constant change in management - politics
As FM, the days vary. Winter is busiest time of the year.

Upper management is always changing. New managers bring their ideas and people to implement. That's fine except the life span of the position is around two years.

I take pride in my role of impacting students' success (unbeknown to them).

The flexible schedule allows me to care for my aging – more... mom and teenage daughter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Area Facility Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 8, 2014
Review and modify facility duties. Review energy plans and evaluate engineers. Managed vendor relations for Chicago Public Schools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politically Driven and mis managed
Math Teacher (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2014
Teachers are over worked and held responsible for things that parents should be responsible for. Maintainance is understaffed, so buildings are not clean. Security is understaffed, students are in the halls roaming at all times.

Leadership is attempting to hold teachers accountable for hallway management.

Unfortunately, with privatization and politics, – more... the condition of neighborhood schools is declining. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Kids is FUN!
Provisional Teacher (Full-time) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2014
Pros: coached football
I worked as a full time provisional teach for the Chicago Public Schools. It was one of the best experience I ever had. You truly enjoy the knowledge that children absorbed, when their minds are open to education. It is always a joy to see your students when they have graduated and come back to tell you, the type of influence you had on their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same day twice
Cisco Networking Academy Instructor (Current Employee), Chicago South NetworkDecember 1, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: salary
Tough place to work but very rewarding.
Good benefits
170 work days each year
Lovely Summer, Winter and Spring breaks.
Lots of student initiatives
Clean buildings
Lots of student resources
Great students
Resident Requirement
Strong Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviornment, professional and opportunity to learn
Board of Education, Attendance Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2014
A typical day would be putting a smile on a students face when they appear to be having a rough day. I learned that you have to treat the students with compassion, kindness and always willing to listen to their concerns. Management of school system is improving. My co-workers were easy to get a long with and respectful. The hardest part of a typical – more... day would be not reaching a student in some kind of way. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is to be out in public and a former student comes up and speaks and gives me a hug and thanks me for working at their school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment. Assisting children with learning disabilities.
Special Education Classroom Assistant (SECA) (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2014
Aid teacher in guided lessons plans. Assist during lunch and recess. Learned how to adapt lessons to a variety of learning situations. Enjoyed seeing progress made in students daily lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The CTE Curriculum and Instruction team is amazing.
Manager of CTE Curriculum and Instruction (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 11, 2014
Pros: amazing teammates, great synergy
CPS offers individuals a chance to make a difference in the lives of hundreds of thousands of students. The CTE Curriculum and Instruction team is a cohesive unit, focused on outcomes. During my time as the manager of the team we were able to impact all CTE programs by aligning all programs to national industry standards and the Common Core State Standards – more... in ELA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Demanding
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2014
Pros: helping students become better people and more intelligent individuals.
Cons: grading!
My time at the Chicago Public Schools has been an invaluable experience. When I began my career, I worked as a Special Education Assistant, primarily in a one-on-one setting with students with varying disabilities. I found the work extremely rewarding, and became determined to attain the role of a Regular Teacher. After graduating with a degree in Elementary – more... Education, I achieved my objective in the 2013-2014 school year. The classes of students I worked with last year will forever be engraved in my memory. Teaching can be demanding and exhausting, but the moments of revelation and discover from the students you've dedicated your time to, make all the work worthwhile. Last year's budget cuts forced many newly hired teachers into reduced roles, and I am currently working as a Substitute Teacher. Teaching is amazing, yet not having a group of students to commit myself to, is by far the most difficult thing I have thus encountered in the profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved helping the students
School Social Worker (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisNovember 4, 2014
Pros: students and families
Cons: politics
Students and families were very appreciative and I loved helping the students and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ping pong table was available after work hours.
assisitant office clerk (Former Employee), JOHN D. SHOOP SCHOOLNovember 4, 2014
Pros: no weekend work
Cons: no lunch break you have to eat as you go.
I had a great experience working for the Chicago public schools; everyday was challenging but you prepare for it; you learn to get along with others who don't always agree with you to make the best work environment you can; working with management in this case my principal was a very rewarding experience; it's all about respect for authority; my co-workers – more... and I had a very warm and friendly relationship; sometimes working long hours was a challenge; however you just have to rise to the occasion when called upon; I enjoyed having weekends off; that made my job enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Teacher Assistant/Special Needs (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2014
Pros: reserve of all major holidays
It was a pleasure being able to work with children with special needs. Just being in a position to help them develop in their most challenging areas of learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Special Education Classroom Assistant (Current Employee), CHICAGOOctober 27, 2014
I am currently employed with Chicago Public Schools and I love working for them. Looking to advance my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chicago Public Schools
Executive Assistant/School Clerk (Former Employee), ChicagoOctober 27, 2014
It's was rewarding to work with students, parents and administration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work flow
Supervisor Security, Security Aide (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2014
metal detectors easy to operate and the staff at all locations were great to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready to work and give my all. Day-in and day-out.
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee), Chicago,ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: co-workers, managers, and company.
Cons: part-time, and bi-weekly pay
Help students with different projects, assignments, and test. Take them to lunch and recess. Make sure they understand what they are learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a teacher to work
Math Teacher (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 21, 2014
Very wonderful teaching opportunity. Learned that teaching is sometimes just a season in your life. Teaching is one of the hardest working professions out there.

1 2 3 4 5

About Chicago Public Schools

The Chicago Public Schools is the nation's third-largest school district and the second-largest employer in Illinois, with more – Read more

Chicago Public Schools Photos